We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We choose to stay at the Hay-Adams because of the great trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We had a lovely quiet room with a small sitting area overlooking the courtyard. The room was beautifully appointed and very clean. The location made it very easy to walk to some of DCs attractions and the Metro is on the next corner. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Hay-Adams and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiShiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
There are newer reviews for The Hay-Adams
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

959 - 965 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

JustinBradley celebrated our 10th anniversary with a memorable lunch party at the Top of the Hay! Our offices are located close by so it was an easy stroll and what a perfect Washington, DC experience to enjoy - an unbeatable view of the White House from the glass enclosed room and terrace. Working with the catering team to plan the event was easy - Haydee, the catering manager offerred excellent recommendations. From the reception to the food service - it was gracious and attentive. Having been at the Top of the Hay for larger events, I knew the food was exceptional and it didn't disappoint. Thank you to the Hay Adams for making our day so special.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Our stay at the Hay-Adams was worth every penny. We brought our two children, aged 4 and 9 and the staff couldn't have been nicer, especially in the restaurant. Very friendly and accomodating. We found the room clean and quiet. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dctill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Great location. Incredible service. Unbeatable views! The Hay Adams has it all. We stayed here over the Fourth of July and paid for the package that includes dinner and fireworks from the Top of the Hay. It was pricy, but worth it since – being from AZ - I doubt I’ll ever spend a Fourth in DC again.

We stayed in a White House view room…great views across Lafayette Park to the WH…slightly obscured by trees even from the 7th floor. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are fine, but the level of service is what puts it over the top.

If I were to stay here again, I would not opt for the WH view room…the novelty was really cool, but it wore off after a day or two. I’m glad we did it, but would save the dough and pick another room with more space next time.

Room Tip: The White House view room is nice, but novelty wears off after a day or two. I'm glad we did it...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank BurgerManAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Delighted to hear of your experience and pleased that the value of the package met your expectations. I will share your comments about the exceptional service with the entire team, whom I am certain will be encouraged by your kind words. Again, we are pleased and do hope that on a future occasion we can be of service again, whether in a room with a view, or a room not facing the White House.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

ive stayed at the hay adams twice and its now become 'my hotel' when im in d.c. i am already looking forward to another stay in a couple of weeks. the first time i visited was last year, and i had a view of st. johns church. the last time was during the state of the union address in january and the staff upgraded me to a view of the white house. what a special time to be able to see the white house!

the rooms are elegant old-school. i really like their relaxed feel and yet upscale touches. the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are great. the room sizes are perfect. i really dont like gigantic hotel rooms nor teen tiny. there's enough space for me to work and yet unwind, too.

perhaps the best part of the hotel is the bar in the basement, 'off the record'. this is a great place and on par with the best places anywhere in the world for an evening drink.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UStoEurope111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

What a wonderful review! Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at The Hay-Adams. We are honored to hear that after only two stays with us, you name us ‘your hotel’. It was great to have you as our guests and we hope you will continue to feel at home whenever your visit us.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We just spent one glorious overnight at Hay-Adams Hotel in Washinton, D.C. with a spectacular room facing the White House (+ balcony). The Hotel gave us a surprise upgrade because I mentioned that my husband was not well. Service is superb. A special place. Quiet, understated, elegant - you pay for it, but it is a real treat. Dining room is also elegant with deluxe service.

Room Tip: Spring for a room facing the White House (w/ balcony) - unbelievable!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you very much for your kind remarks regarding your stay at The Hay-Adams. I am pleased to hear that we took good care of your husband when he was not feeling too well. Please visit us again soon in the future!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just returned from a dinner event I held in honor of my best friends 60th birthday. I will never forget this experience for the rest of my life. When we entered the hotel, we were greeted by staff and personally escorted to the "Top of the Hay". This banquet and party area cannot possibly be replicated anywhere. The rooftop is enclosed yet is entirely surrounded by floor to ceiling windows that allowed us to see every important sight in Washington, D.C. It was truly amazing to be sitting and having dinner while looking at the White House, Monument, Executive Office Building, the Mall, the Jefferson Memorial and Reagan Airport. What is even more amazing is that we started dinner at 6:30 pm and were able to see the city in daytime yet then get the experience of watching the sun go down and see the city at night in lights. The staff at the Hay Adams are truly professional. Our Maitre D John Graham was the most amazing individual. He knows the sights, he understands food concepts and created a euphoria as he described each dish to us watching our mouths salivate as the dishes were presented. What is even more amazing is the "family concept of service" that exists at the Hay Adams. The director of operations, Colette Marquez, assisted with the planning of our dinner and kept checking on us to make sure that everything was perfect. She creates high standards in the hotel and it is obvious she has gained everyones respect. Chef Nicholas Legret prepared artistic dishes for us that not only were museum quality pieces of art but were exquisite in taste. We had a trio of cold soups including a delicious corn soup, gazpacho and cauliflower soup. The breads were freshly prepared including raisin bread and delicious garlic crackers. We enjoyed a tuna in a captivating asian sauce. The desserts were unbelievable. They were masterfully prepared and we even had chocolates served over a bed of rose petals. The chefs came out at the end of the meal and made sure we were pleased with their preparations. When reading the other reviews, I cannot help but agree with a recent review that called this hotel the very best of the best. I cannot wait to have another special occasion to have an event at the top of the hay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tarbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
444 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £271 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing