We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service and Very Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #3 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
375 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great Service and Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

First time I have stayed here. From the moment I walked into the hotel, everyone made me feel welcomed. The rooms are very comfortable in cream colors. My room had a Bose with CD's and I put one on a took a long bath listening to music. Great bath tub. Very nice bathrooms and nice soaps and creams. Windows open for fresh air which is important to me. Room service very good and on time. Beds very nice and perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    148
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
311
379
53
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful October weekend at the Hay Adams. The location of the hotel is ideal for walking almost everywhere, and the staff went above and beyond at every turn. They knew our names, arranged a wonderful tour of the monuments, recommended great restaurants, and even sent us a bottle of champagne because I happened to mention that we were celebrating a special wedding anniversary. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at the Hay-Adams Christmas night. I had requested a room with a fireplace. After the Christmas rush and planning to attend a funeral the next day, we were in need of cozy quiet. I did not realize that "ornamental fireplace" translates to non-working fireplace. This was my mistake. To me, a non-working fireplace is just a hole in the wall. If a fireplace is important to you, I was told that only room 812 has a working fireplace. On the other hand, everyone was friendly and efficient. The color scheme is soothing and the flowers perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeOut2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed in the Hay Adams in 2012, and had to say that the place was frankly miserable. It's an okay hotel. Amazing service, but pathetic rooms, uncomfortable beds, and a snobby concierge who treated me and my wife like we were pests. The room service was tasteless and over-expensive. The hotel restaurant was also utterly terrible - the gnocci was stale and disgusting. No idea who the legions of people are who love this place - we're not them, I suppose. The Hotel Palomar makes this place look like a Super 8.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EdZ60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear EdZ60763,

Thank you very much for your constructive criticism. Frankly, I am a little surprised and dismayed at your delayed response. Based on our distinguished reputation, legions of supportive guests, and as a proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World, it is always our first and foremost desire to rectify any shortfalls in our services and product. I now know that we sincerely tried very hard to meet your specific needs while you were still registered. Obviously, we failed, despite all team members being keenly aware of your sensitivity. I assure you that your concerns expressed have prompted further discussions in our desire to further strengthen our time-honored and well-established status.

As a further token of my concern and a desire to restore you and your wife’s confidence in our service and facility, I would like to offer you a complimentary stay on a return visit. However, if you prefer, as an alternative, I would be happy to assist you with accommodations more suitable to your and your wife’s taste and preferences, as expressed in your response, for one night (on a mutually agreeable date) with our compliments within the year. Please contact my office directly.


Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Hay Adams for the 3rd time in mid December 2012 for a business event. Amazing location...right next to the White House. Great restaurant, rooms and service. Beautifully decorated lobby and common areas, and the basement bar is historic and memorable.

My only complaint is the creaky floors and neighborhood noise in the rooms. Tough to address in a historic building, and definitely NOT a reason to avoid, but worth noting.

Don't miss the 9th floor view of the White House!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRSabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Colin S,

Thank you for your words of praise, and for your feedback on the floors. We will certainly take your remarks into consideration when looking into future property improvements. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We just came back from a four day stay at The Hay-Adams and enjoyed every moment of our time there. Service, service and more service is their motto. From the moment of check-in we felt both welcomed and part of the family. Greeting us by name throughout our visit made us feel like this was our luxury home away from home. And what can I say about Leah, the morning host at the Lafayette restaurant in the hotel - each morning she greeted us with a hug - do you see the family theme here? She is a delight and made every day special. The room was well appointed and after a day of sight seeing the most comfortable bed welcomed us into a wonderful slumber. Most of our activities were in the White House so the location could not be better. On one evening my partner's knee was acting up and he needed it iced - in a matter of minutes the housekeeper brought us a bag of ice and checked in to see how he was doing - I mean REALLY! Another evening we were headed to Georgetown and rather than wait for the taxi the doorman brought the hotel limo to drive us there. We cannot wait to come back next spring.
Salim and Monty

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank salimalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Salim & Monty,

What a glowing review - our team was simply overjoyed to have received this praise, especially Leah and the housekeeper who assisted you. Our staff go out of their way to provide the absolute best in guest service and hospitality. We are truly delighted that your stay with us was a memorable one. We will be thrilled to welcome you back in the new year!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

With a view on the White House it is simply magical, especially in the evening. The service is top-notch, the rooms luxurious, bedding sublime...everything exactly as it should be. The Black Angus burger is to die for, even at its seemingly high price. The gnocchi is also delicious. Indulge yourself and you will be back again and again. Thank you Hay Adams and The Lafayette!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing