We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Elegant, historical and scenic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Elegant, historical and scenic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is a piece of Washigton DC history from the moment you walk in the door. High quality attentive staff make it memorable. The highlight is a visit to the "Top of the Hay" the 9th floor meeting rooms with a walk out that provides the best view of the White House in the world from above the tree tops of Lafayette Park. Rooms are elegantly appointed, bathrooms sparkling clean, and phenomenally comfortable beds/linens/pillows.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mez1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    145
    47
    16
    13
See reviews for
301
372
51
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I visited a number of cities during the month of August and stayed at the wonderful Hay Adams Hotel in Washington DC for a period of 6 days. The location was ideal for us as it is located across the park from the White House and for us, easy walking distance to all of the Smithsonian Museums and galleries. The Hotel is best described as old world but beautifully appointed, immaculately clean and well kept. The staff are incredibly attentive, helpful, courteous and friendly ....you have no doubt that you are important to them, particularly in the Lafayette Restaurant either for breakfast or dinner. Whilst it was difficult to single out any one person, Leah the Maître De was exceptional. The rooms were very comfortable and well laid out with good lighting our only reservation was that the bathroom was a little too small. However this was overshadowed by everything else. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was a very lovely historical hotel steps to the White House and Lafayette Park, which i enjoyed very much, we chose this hotel because it was one of the closet to all the sites and we were celebtating our 45th wedding anniversary, stayed 3 nights, and the staff is very attentive in every way, had sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberrys waiting in our room when wre arrived. the hotel is very quiet and the rooms are beautiful look just like the photos on internet. we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: must have a room with a view out standing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 554cupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I are from the UK, and whilst on a 2 week family break to Washington DC this August, we spent 2 days at The Hay-Adams to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary (7th -9th August). We were not disappointed. We received professional yet intimate service every step of the way from all staff, pertaining to booking the accommodation, greeting received at the entrance, the swift check-in process, efficient room service, enjoyable breakfast at the Lafayette restaurant, and the flawless checking out process. We have stayed at good quality hotels both in the UK and abroad and we can safely say that this hotel is "creme de la creme!" We have never experienced such luxury or outstanding customer service before. We were given a deluxe room, tastefully decorated, on the 8th floor with a clear view of the White House and Washington Monument. On the day of our anniversary we returned to our room after our evening celebratory meal and was greeted by a tray of goodies namely a bottle of champagne, strawberries dipped in chocolate served on a plate with the inscribed message "Happy 20th Anniversary." We could hear classical music playing softly in the background, which was very relaxing, not forgetting to mention that our bedding had been turned down, slippers placed on either side of our bed, which added finesse to what turned out to be an eventful occasion. The toiletries in the bathroom were indeed luxurious, and the bedding was sumptuous ensuring we had a good nights sleep. The Hotel is situated opposite the White House which you can reach by walking through the beautiful Lafayette park. Getting about is easy, as the metro is within close proximity to visit places of interest or indeed go shopping (ie Pentagon City). All in all we thank everyone - being careful not to call names because you were all so professional, yet personal in your delivery of service to us - we will never forget our experience with you at The Hay and will certainly stay with you again.

Room Tip: -Rooms on the 8th floor -White House view - very breathtaking - Inform the hotel of any special occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geraldine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My new husband and i were just married at the Top of the Hay last weekend - and we couldn't have had a more wondrous experience! We stayed the weekend in the hotel as well - Bridal Suite - and friends stayed in rooms on other floors. First, the hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous. Very intimate - not all that large which was just perfect for what we had in mind for a warm, loving, family & family friend oriented wedding. If you like to surround yourself with comfortable luxury, the Hay-Adams is for you! Of course, location is absolutely perfect; there is simply NONE better in Washington, DC if you want to be in the heart of town, literally right across the street from the White House. Since our wedding was a late afternoon / evening sit down dinner wedding, it was almost like being a guest at the White House itself, seeing the lights turn on as the sun went down - fabulous! The Top of the Hay itself is hands down THE best place to have a wedding - or any important event - in Washington, DC. It's made to look like being in a garden house... all huge windows and mirrors... trellises and elegant, low key decor. Again, the view(s) are spectacular. But, most important was the simply first rate, attentive, hugely well trained, kind and professional staff. I can't say enough about every single person who helped us plan and execute this most important of weekends and events. EVERY staff member at the Hay knew who we were and what our event was. EVERY staff member was there to help - from the door men, to the concierge to the wait staff. It was incredible and amazing. Our fabulous wedding planner, Jenny, was meticulous, always there for us, even keeled, creative and just all the way around amazing. She thought of everything, was unobtrusive throughout our event, made the right things happen and was just all the way around a jewel. We just can't thank her enough! Now that we've been married there, we have a very convenient reason to visit the Hay-Adams frequently throughout the year! If you chose the Hay-Adams, you've chosen well - very, very good value for your money. They think of everything and treat guests like they matter. They just couldn't do enough for us!

Room Tip: They're ALL good - but ask for an upper level room that faces the White House! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Megster1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Michelle M,

Our warmest congratulations again to you and your husband! Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. Jenny will be so thrilled to hear your special day was a success. We hope you will visit the Hay-Adams for many anniversaries to come!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Speciall rooms and hotel. We went in winter and the lobby was an inviting treat. They had a special dinner one night on the roof that was beautiful and delicious. The room was beautiful, spacious and relaxing. The Concierge planned daily activities and nightly dinners for us. My husband and I and two teens adored it!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LBR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel had been recommended to us by a relative as a good place to stay when travelling with 2 children (5 and 9 years old). Our high expectations have been met and even exceeded. We were extremely pleased with the attitude, friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. Needless to say that also the amenities met our expectations of what a 5 star place should offer. We have a good frame of reference as we travel frequently and this was by far one of the most pleasant experiences we have had as a family. The overall friendliness of the staff and their attention to detail would rank amongst the highest also in an international context.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swissfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Swissfamilytravel,

I am delighted your family had an enjoyable visit while in DC! Our team will be very encouraged by your compliments. We hope you will join us again the next time you visit our Nation’s capital.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing