We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Called by front desk at 11 pm? Really?”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Hay Adams is a beautiful, historic hotel with a great location and old-world charm. Our family of 4 shared an average-sized room with 2 queen beds. Although we didn't have a view, we didn't mind, as we were only there for one night. One thing you never think about with old hotels, though, is creaky floors. And boy, did the floor creak (and pop and screech) even when I tiptoed on it! We were in our room and getting ready for bed at around 11 pm. We had each just finished using the bathroom, preparing for bed, when we got a somewhat rude call from the front desk. The people in the room below ours had called the front desk and said we were being extremely loud. I said to the woman on the phone, "I don't think it's us, we're all in bed!" Then I realized that if I had been on the floor below us, I would have thought that we were having a dance party with all the noise that the floor made as each of the four of us walked to and from the bathroom! It would have been nice to have gotten an apology the next morning, but what can you do? So the moral of this story is: book a room on the top floor and hope no one stays below you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SignalMtnMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear SignalMtnMama,

I’m truly sorry you were disturbed so late in the evening. I’m disappointed by our approach in reaching out to you as late as you have described, and we will address this. It is certainly not our intention for the historical element of our property to backfire into the annoyance of creaky floors! We regret that you and the guests below you had a less-than-perfect stay because of this, but we hope that we might get the chance in the future to redeem your confidence in our services.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Room and overall service was excellent. However our family was disappointed and terrified with rude managers at the restaurant for breakfast. They did not respect our reservation and insisted that we sat at very small table for number of my family. We were almost humiliated by the arrogance of waiters. Besides, location and maintenance quality was pretty good.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eunhwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear eunhwan,


Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your recent stay at the Hay-Adams through TripAdvisor. In our continual efforts to exceed guests’ expectations and deliver a truly memorable experience, it is essential that we absorb all feedback in order to improve. I genuinely regret that your family had a disappointing experience in Lafayette. I can assure you that it was not anyone’s intention to undermine or overlook your needs in an effort to accommodate you, but clearly in your case we fell short. For that, I am truly sorry. If you should find yourself in Washington DC in the future, I can only hope that you might consider granting us the opportunity in redeeming your confidence in our services.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to call Mc sedan service to pick us up at the airport by the hotel staff, the service was outstanding,our driver knew the city very well, I thank the man that give us their contact info.
The hotel was in a very good location, the staff were wonderful.
I will always stay in this hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sfranboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Sfranboy,

I’m delighted that your experience in Washington DC began on splendidly, even before arriving at the Hay-Adams. In addition to the wonderful sedan services we employ, I have to credit our concierge team on their excellent work when arranging the best activities possible for our guests so that they get the most out of what the city has to offer. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to the Hay-Adams in the near future!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

After searching high and low around DC to find the perfect romantic hotel to propose to my girlfriend, I can without a doubt say I am so glad to have chosen the Hay! The property is amazing in its beauty, luxury and history. The hotel staff helped me plan a private 5 course room service dinner for the proposal, and then a surprise party in the Off The Record bar that included our friends and family. Every moment at the hotel and every encounter with the staff was special. Even though there was a large wedding going on upstairs, they made us feel like we were the only ones at the hotel. You can tell that they truly enjoy making their guests happy.

Our room was gorgeous and luxurious in every way. We were upgraded for free to a room facing the White House and Washington Monument. Perfect! At the end of our evening the staff surprised us with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne in our room. For a final touch, they comped our entire dinner bill as a congratulations for our engagement.

Don't forget to check out the 9th floor rooftop, where you are overlooking the White House and have one of the best views in the entire city.

If you are ever visiting DC or just looking for a local getaway, the Hay-Adams is the place to be. The "best weekend of my life" according to my fiancee.

Can't wait to visit again! Thanks so much. The Hay is definitely on our short list for wedding venues.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrMike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear DrMike22,

We are so thrilled by your amazing remarks! It was truly our pleasure to help make your engagement weekend one that you will never forget. I am so glad it was a success! We would be honored to welcome you back for another visit… hopefully for your wedding! The entire team would be at your disposal in helping plan your special day.

Our warmest regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August 2013 for four nights at the end of a road trip from Boston and the Hay Adams exceeded our admittedly high expectations in every way. It wasn’t the cheapest hotel in the city but it was worth every penny. Check in was a breeze and within five minutes of arriving we were in our room on the 5th floor.

As we requested, our room was on a quiet side of the hotel and although it was fairly small (we had only booked a standard room) it more than served our needs. The bed was very comfortable, the linens were luxurious and we had non-allergenic pillows delivered quickly on request. I liked the selection of CDs available for guests to try out on the digital radio. There was a safe, flat screen TV, mini bar, arm chairs and plenty of storage for a short / medium stay. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had plenty of luxury towels and toiletries. The evening turn down service was a nice touch as always.

Breakfast really was superb and is served in the opulent but very comfortable dining room. We had booked a ‘Summer in the City’ package which gave us $70 per day credit between the two of us. Whilst this sounds like a lot it doesn’t go far and had we not had the inclusive package we would have eaten out in one of the nearby outlets. But thankfully that wasn’t the case! The menu was a la carte and there were plenty of freshly prepared cold and hot choices as well as juices, teas, coffee, fresh bread, etc. Bottled water was served on arrival and was complimentary but there was a charge for everything else. I particularly enjoyed the corned beef hash and my wife loved the poached eggs.

Off the Record, the dimly lit basement bar, was superb. We only visited once and sat at the bar chatting to fellow guests and locals. One drink turned into too many drinks and it was a real highlight of our stay! The server from Lithuania was chatty and friendly and made excellent recommendations. DE Brau and Delirium Tremens were on tap and there was a decent wine list. The bar snacks were also delicious, particularly the king prawns.

The staff were very polite and courteous throughout, particularly in the breakfast room, and although it’s probably not appropriate to single individuals out two staff members really shone during our stay. Franziska Boelke, the concierge, was extremely helpful, giving advice on things to do, sorting out our day trip by train to Baltimore and making last minute reservations for us in the Capital Grille and in the Founding Farmers, both of which were brilliant. Patrick, one of the Duty Managers, seems to have struck the perfect balance between professionalism and friendliness and is a credit to such a fine hotel.

The location was superb – right beside the White House. Honestly, it’s the best location in the whole city. From the front door of the hotel the White House is 1 minute on foot and the National Mall at the Washington Monument is 5 minutes. From there it’s a further 15 minutes leisurely stroll to the Lincoln Memorial, Jefferson Memorial or US Capital Building. This means that during your stay you’ll get to see the memorials repeatedly at different times of day and night and we certainly left with a real feeling that we had ‘done’ Washington, DC. Georgetown was about a 30 minute walk. Union Station was 10 minutes in a taxi if you don’t get caught in traffic and Farragut North metro station is only 3 minutes on foot. It was here that we caught the train south the Alexandria, VA which is well worth a half day excursion.

There are also lots of restaurants nearby. We had classy steaks and wine in the Capital Grille and visited the brilliant Founding Farmers twice – once for drinks downstairs at the bar and once for a delicious meal on our last night in the city. Blackfinn Bar and Restaurant shares the same city block as the Hay Adams. Not too far away is Hard Rock Café, if that’s your thing, and the fun Capital Brewing Company.

In summary: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear luckystrike,

We appreciate that you took the time to write such a detailed account of your stay at the Hay-Adams during your recent visit to Washington, DC. I’m very happy you enjoyed your stay. You certainly did take advantage of all the city has to offer! We’re delighted to have been your host, and thank you again for your gracious remarks. Fran and Patrick will be especially thrilled at your having mentioned them! We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
The Hay-Adams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We've stayed at the Hay Adams many times in a variety of rooms and have always been delighted with our time there. We've enjoyed the hotel as a couple and as a family with young kids. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious, and the views of the surrounding area --- including the White House -- are terrific. The food is fabulous; the service in the restaurants couldn't be better, and the concierge service is remarkably helpful. The historic hotel is within walking distance of many DC highlights. It is, however, an expensive place to stay. If you're looking for wonderful bang for your luxury buck, the Hay Adams is a good bet. If you're looking for a reasonable spot from which to enjoy time in DC, this may not be the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have travelled most of the world and stayed in the finest hotel. these include the Park Hyatt in Tokyo, the Intercontinental (formerly the Regent)in Hong Kong, the Connaught and the Mandarin in London, the Copacabana in Rio, the Oriental in Bangkok. there is no hotel which has the following qualities:
1. A fabulous location. Even if you don't have a view of the White House, walk out the front door and voila! If you have a room with The View, you view it in awe.
2. A superb and caring staff. From the doorman ,to the those greeting you in the interior, to those at the front desk and the concierge, you have the feeling that they will assist in any fashion possible. No one has their hand out.
3.A welcoming, beautiful and fabulous dinning room. the room is filled with light and accented with displays of white roses and various shade of white and cream. The dining room staff are always concerned about your wellbeing. There is not a bad table. the Hay Adams is a good as it gets.

Room Tip: It's the location, but try for one with a view of the White House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allidavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear allidavi,

You have made our day! I am so pleased we made it to the top of your list of favorite hotels! While our location does offer a spectacular view, we strive for our service to also amaze. I hope you will have the chance to revisit us soon in DC.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,158 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
454 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £271 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing