We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great DC retreat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #2 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great DC retreat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Excellent place to stay. will end up saving more as you stay infront of the WH and on th enational mall. DC experience in the room! with great WH and church views. Do have a breakfast. Excellent staff. Very clean. Every guest is their priority. Will visit again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Chaudhry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    148
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
311
379
52
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at the lovely Hay Adam's in September 2013 and really enjoyed it. They gave us and our friends a free room upgrade and nothing was too much trouble.
Personable staff, helpful and friendly.
A great bar "off the record" in the basement which was brilliant for a few beers or glass of wine after a long day sight-seeing or a burger after our long flight.
Just make sure you dress up in the evening though, with all the locals in posh frocks and black tie I did feel a little out of place in my jeans, even if made welcome.
The Hay Adams is not a cheap hotel, but they certainly made you feel better about the price and made us feel like we had value for money.
Plus, it was lovely staying in such a historic building, just next door to the President!

Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the White House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lemonie2Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deer park,ny
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I Stayed at the Hay Adams while attending a conference. From the beautiful rooms to the outstanding service my stay was perfect. Absorbent robes and slippers, comfortable beds, nightly turn down service, and the piece d'resistance a courtesy car with chauffeur to take you to dinner via Mercedes Benz. This will be my hotel from this day forward when visiting DC.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 11messiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear 11messiah,

We will be delighted to welcome you back into the lap of luxury upon your return to Washington, DC!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mtn, TN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Hay Adams is a beautiful, historic hotel with a great location and old-world charm. Our family of 4 shared an average-sized room with 2 queen beds. Although we didn't have a view, we didn't mind, as we were only there for one night. One thing you never think about with old hotels, though, is creaky floors. And boy, did the floor creak (and pop and screech) even when I tiptoed on it! We were in our room and getting ready for bed at around 11 pm. We had each just finished using the bathroom, preparing for bed, when we got a somewhat rude call from the front desk. The people in the room below ours had called the front desk and said we were being extremely loud. I said to the woman on the phone, "I don't think it's us, we're all in bed!" Then I realized that if I had been on the floor below us, I would have thought that we were having a dance party with all the noise that the floor made as each of the four of us walked to and from the bathroom! It would have been nice to have gotten an apology the next morning, but what can you do? So the moral of this story is: book a room on the top floor and hope no one stays below you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SignalMtnMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear SignalMtnMama,

I’m truly sorry you were disturbed so late in the evening. I’m disappointed by our approach in reaching out to you as late as you have described, and we will address this. It is certainly not our intention for the historical element of our property to backfire into the annoyance of creaky floors! We regret that you and the guests below you had a less-than-perfect stay because of this, but we hope that we might get the chance in the future to redeem your confidence in our services.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Room and overall service was excellent. However our family was disappointed and terrified with rude managers at the restaurant for breakfast. They did not respect our reservation and insisted that we sat at very small table for number of my family. We were almost humiliated by the arrogance of waiters. Besides, location and maintenance quality was pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eunhwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear eunhwan,


Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your recent stay at the Hay-Adams through TripAdvisor. In our continual efforts to exceed guests’ expectations and deliver a truly memorable experience, it is essential that we absorb all feedback in order to improve. I genuinely regret that your family had a disappointing experience in Lafayette. I can assure you that it was not anyone’s intention to undermine or overlook your needs in an effort to accommodate you, but clearly in your case we fell short. For that, I am truly sorry. If you should find yourself in Washington DC in the future, I can only hope that you might consider granting us the opportunity in redeeming your confidence in our services.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to call Mc sedan service to pick us up at the airport by the hotel staff, the service was outstanding,our driver knew the city very well, I thank the man that give us their contact info.
The hotel was in a very good location, the staff were wonderful.
I will always stay in this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sfranboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Sfranboy,

I’m delighted that your experience in Washington DC began on splendidly, even before arriving at the Hay-Adams. In addition to the wonderful sedan services we employ, I have to credit our concierge team on their excellent work when arranging the best activities possible for our guests so that they get the most out of what the city has to offer. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to the Hay-Adams in the near future!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

After searching high and low around DC to find the perfect romantic hotel to propose to my girlfriend, I can without a doubt say I am so glad to have chosen the Hay! The property is amazing in its beauty, luxury and history. The hotel staff helped me plan a private 5 course room service dinner for the proposal, and then a surprise party in the Off The Record bar that included our friends and family. Every moment at the hotel and every encounter with the staff was special. Even though there was a large wedding going on upstairs, they made us feel like we were the only ones at the hotel. You can tell that they truly enjoy making their guests happy.

Our room was gorgeous and luxurious in every way. We were upgraded for free to a room facing the White House and Washington Monument. Perfect! At the end of our evening the staff surprised us with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne in our room. For a final touch, they comped our entire dinner bill as a congratulations for our engagement.

Don't forget to check out the 9th floor rooftop, where you are overlooking the White House and have one of the best views in the entire city.

If you are ever visiting DC or just looking for a local getaway, the Hay-Adams is the place to be. The "best weekend of my life" according to my fiancee.

Can't wait to visit again! Thanks so much. The Hay is definitely on our short list for wedding venues.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrMike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear DrMike22,

We are so thrilled by your amazing remarks! It was truly our pleasure to help make your engagement weekend one that you will never forget. I am so glad it was a success! We would be honored to welcome you back for another visit… hopefully for your wedding! The entire team would be at your disposal in helping plan your special day.

Our warmest regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing