We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Location, Great Rooms and Service”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #1 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ideal Location, Great Rooms and Service”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel just across Lafayette Park from the White House, and an easy walk to the Metro Center Metro Stop, and a number of attractions (such as the Smithsonian Museums). Given the location, it came as no surprise that a number of guests were attending White House Holiday evens.

The Hay Adams is a full service hotel, and yet it is not huge. The lobby felt more like being in a private home than a grand convention hotel. All of the staff: the doormen, room service waiter, the concierge and the receptionist were friendly and very professional.

My room (a deluxe double) was not huge, but very tastefully furnished, with a nice marble bathroom. The hotel has kept the original stucco work and moldings on the ceilings and walls, but installed up to date wallpaper and carpeting and furniture. The free WiFi was good, not slow, as is so often the case with hotel WiFi.

The room service breakfast was quite good.

Washington has many first rate hotels, but this one is absolutely deserving of its rating.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the White House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank upperwestsider72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear upperwestsider72,

I’m delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at the Hay-Adams. Thank you very much for your compliments. I hope we’ll have the chance to welcome you back again for another visit in the near future!

A healthy and prosperous 2014.

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    155
    49
    16
    13
See reviews for
331
393
55
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

So much history in this hotel. So much to see in the surrounding areas. Across from the White House and right off Pennsylvania Avenue. Right in the heart of DC with so much to see. GW University is not far at all and everything is accessible via Metro or cab, so it's very easy to get around. This is an old historic hotel and has a real story behind it. The employees are friendly and give great service. Perfect for us as a family or group of business people. So much to do and definitely worth it for a luxurious stay in the nation's capital.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 289levind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Levin D,

Thank you for the great remarks. Our location does indeed make our guests feel at the center of it all, and I’m delighted you agree. It sounds like you were able to make the most of the city during your time here.

Our very best for the season,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I love how friendly the staffs were. My family and I could felt the genuine friendliness that the staff offered. Beautiful room and comfortable bed.

The food we had for our breakfast were superb. We ordered waffle, pancake, crepe and also for my son we requested for chicken noodle soup and the chef could accommodate it(though he substituted noodle with macaroni).

It is also just a short walk to the White House.

Please book a superior room that has the White House view. Very worth it.

Room Tip: Book a better room that has a White House view. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hepzibah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has tradition and history written all over it. The staff....many who have been there many years....know this and create a real sense of place. Everything is first rate. From the greeting at the front door and desk to the tour of your room upon arrival. Although the standard rooms are not large....they are beyond comfortable. Yes....you may hear your neighbors a bit and floors may creak but this is all part of the charm. I even loved the hallways. Bath products are excellent and I received the best turn down service you could imagine. Very special. Breakfast in the restaurant at a table by the window...enjoying the view was memorable. Off the Record bar the night before with friends had character and charm for days. It was a perfect visit I can't wait to repeat. My only issue was the scent used in the cleaning of the room. It reminded me of a Hampton Inn when they are trying to mask a smoking odor. I got used to it but even my clothes had that smell when I got home. I will chalk that up to perhaps a one time occurrence. Couldn't mar one of the best stays I have had in some time!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Renztem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, WA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile


We stayed here on business and had our meetings on site. The location is perfect for access to the National Mall, for both walking and jogging.

The gym is small, with a few pieces of equipment but has fresh water and fruit.

The staff adore very attentive and responsive. They were always on hand to open the door or assist.

Take advantage of the complimentary shoe shine. The amenities were above average include a full mini bar, slippers, robe and larger bottles of lotion, shampoo, sewing kit, etc. the closet includes an umbrella.

The internet was reliable on multiple devices. The Bose system was also stocked with CDs to listen to and an iPod hookup.

My room had two smaller beds. I had trouble sleeping the first few nights as there were some noises both in the walls and out in the hall and on the street. The drapes, when positioned just so will keep the sunlight out. Turn down service is helpful. They set the slippers out and filled the ice bucket.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tlcjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here on honeymoon and were treated wonderfully! Upgraded to a suite with a view of the White House with complimentary champagne. Room Service was phenomenal and amazing value for the quality. Absolutely exquisite visit, and my wife and I felt hugely spoilt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Chris B,

Congratulations once again to you and your wife! We hope you will join us again when your travels bring you back to DC.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

By far one of Washington's finest hotels. The location is unbeatable, the rooms are impeccable and the service is top notch. You feel pampered the minute you check in. We arrived tired on a late flight from Milan, and before you knew it, I was enjoying delicious chicken soup, in my room...just the comfort food I needed to de-stress! The breakfast room is charming and elegant, and the breakfast menù magnificent. The beds are super comfortable and my room was spacious. The hotel staff was professional and helpful. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magenta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Magenta 33,

Ware glad to hear that you instantly felt comfortable upon your arrival to the Hay-Adams, especially travelling so far from home. Thank you for the lovely compliments. I hope you will join us again!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing