We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award winning hotel .”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #5 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our room was very comfortable so much so we sometimes just stayed in to enjoy the super fast Wifi ( complimentary ) ,outstanding view of the White House even from the La Fayette park view room 3 rd floor. As it's winter there are no leaves on trees so you get an uninterrupted view ,for the price of a White House view room. Usual five star hotel amenity's , robes, slippers, bath products, and a chocolate placed on your pillow , a sweet touch .
Breakfast on our three day stay was faultless. Plenty to choose from ,every dish we had was delicious , obviously they use the best of ingredients. The service was friendly without been over friendly. Very formal during the week not so much at the weekends. As tourists we felt more comfortable at the weekend. Unfortunately we never had a chance to dine in the evening but am certain it will live up to its reputation.
Lounge area oozes with history, to add to its age the floor boards creek wonderfully. As you walk in to the hotel the doors are opened not by one but two door man. They are obviously over staffed just so they can provide a superior service.
Most five star hotels I checked in DC seem to hide their parking fees. The Hay Adams was different . It's on their web site in clear print so you can make an informed decision.
Overall this hotel although large in size somehow manages to give a boutique feel . My wife and I absolutely enjoyed our stay and plan on returning in January before the trees get foliage.

Room Tip: If booking in winter ,book park view and you get a White House view for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GezenBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

From the moment you walk in the door, the Hay-Adams warms your heart with welcoming hospitality. Each staff member is friendly and genuinely cares about what happens to you inside the front doors. I've been here for two Thanksgiving dinners and various weddings and events. Each time, my personal expectations are exceeded by the graciousness of the Hay. The food is exceptional, the service impeccable. And the view! No better place to experience the history and beauty of Washington. The Off the Record bar downstairs is one of the best kept secrets in DC. Again, the food and service are unmatched. It's a warm and cozy spot for a casual dinner or date, or just to meet interesting locals. The rooms are beautifully appointed yet comfortable. Make sure you get a White House view if you can!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Alexandra K,

Your thoughtful and positive comments are truly heartwarming. The entire team goes above and beyond to put genuine care and special attention into how they serve, and they all will be so encouraged by your kind remarks. Thank you for sharing, and we hope you’ll return to the Hay-Adams soon!


My best wishes for a joyous holiday season,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel just across Lafayette Park from the White House, and an easy walk to the Metro Center Metro Stop, and a number of attractions (such as the Smithsonian Museums). Given the location, it came as no surprise that a number of guests were attending White House Holiday evens.

The Hay Adams is a full service hotel, and yet it is not huge. The lobby felt more like being in a private home than a grand convention hotel. All of the staff: the doormen, room service waiter, the concierge and the receptionist were friendly and very professional.

My room (a deluxe double) was not huge, but very tastefully furnished, with a nice marble bathroom. The hotel has kept the original stucco work and moldings on the ceilings and walls, but installed up to date wallpaper and carpeting and furniture. The free WiFi was good, not slow, as is so often the case with hotel WiFi.

The room service breakfast was quite good.

Washington has many first rate hotels, but this one is absolutely deserving of its rating.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the White House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank upperwestsider72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear upperwestsider72,

I’m delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at the Hay-Adams. Thank you very much for your compliments. I hope we’ll have the chance to welcome you back again for another visit in the near future!

A healthy and prosperous 2014.

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

So much history in this hotel. So much to see in the surrounding areas. Across from the White House and right off Pennsylvania Avenue. Right in the heart of DC with so much to see. GW University is not far at all and everything is accessible via Metro or cab, so it's very easy to get around. This is an old historic hotel and has a real story behind it. The employees are friendly and give great service. Perfect for us as a family or group of business people. So much to do and definitely worth it for a luxurious stay in the nation's capital.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 289levind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Levin D,

Thank you for the great remarks. Our location does indeed make our guests feel at the center of it all, and I’m delighted you agree. It sounds like you were able to make the most of the city during your time here.

Our very best for the season,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I love how friendly the staffs were. My family and I could felt the genuine friendliness that the staff offered. Beautiful room and comfortable bed.

The food we had for our breakfast were superb. We ordered waffle, pancake, crepe and also for my son we requested for chicken noodle soup and the chef could accommodate it(though he substituted noodle with macaroni).

It is also just a short walk to the White House.

Please book a superior room that has the White House view. Very worth it.

Room Tip: Book a better room that has a White House view. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hepzibah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has tradition and history written all over it. The staff....many who have been there many years....know this and create a real sense of place. Everything is first rate. From the greeting at the front door and desk to the tour of your room upon arrival. Although the standard rooms are not large....they are beyond comfortable. Yes....you may hear your neighbors a bit and floors may creak but this is all part of the charm. I even loved the hallways. Bath products are excellent and I received the best turn down service you could imagine. Very special. Breakfast in the restaurant at a table by the window...enjoying the view was memorable. Off the Record bar the night before with friends had character and charm for days. It was a perfect visit I can't wait to repeat. My only issue was the scent used in the cleaning of the room. It reminded me of a Hampton Inn when they are trying to mask a smoking odor. I got used to it but even my clothes had that smell when I got home. I will chalk that up to perhaps a one time occurrence. Couldn't mar one of the best stays I have had in some time!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Renztem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013


We stayed here on business and had our meetings on site. The location is perfect for access to the National Mall, for both walking and jogging.

The gym is small, with a few pieces of equipment but has fresh water and fruit.

The staff adore very attentive and responsive. They were always on hand to open the door or assist.

Take advantage of the complimentary shoe shine. The amenities were above average include a full mini bar, slippers, robe and larger bottles of lotion, shampoo, sewing kit, etc. the closet includes an umbrella.

The internet was reliable on multiple devices. The Bose system was also stocked with CDs to listen to and an iPod hookup.

My room had two smaller beds. I had trouble sleeping the first few nights as there were some noises both in the walls and out in the hall and on the street. The drapes, when positioned just so will keep the sunlight out. Turn down service is helpful. They set the slippers out and filled the ice bucket.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank tlcjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
481 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £275 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing