We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in DC”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #5 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Hay-Adams is truly a standout in the luxury hotel market in DC. Have stayed at every other 5 star there with the exception of the Jefferson, which I have trouble trying because it is 3 blocks further away from the Hay-Adams' perfect location. It not only has character, location, and charm, but the service and attention you receive is unparalleled in this town, from my experience. Rooms are luxurious and well maintained. Amenities are equally fantastic. I disagree with the other few comments that refurbishment is needed - the rooms are not 'modern', but if you want that, stay at the Park Hyatt/Capella, etc - rather the rooms are elegant, with great moldings and fixtures, and fit the character of the hotel and lobby. The rooms and public areas are in excellent condition (have stayed there 3 times in 3 different types of rooms, and comment applies to all). Definitely try to get a Lafayette Park or White House view room if possible, as you will be amazed every time you look out the window.

The food is also excellent, and the Lafayette and Off the Record could each stand on its own, but they are even better when staying here, as you don't have to travel far for great food and drink. Each member of staff goes above and beyond making your stay memorable.

Room Tip: One of the few places where paying more for a view is worth it in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffrey53872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay from New Year's Day. The hotel was quiet compared to earlier visits, but this made it even more enjoyable. Everything at the Hay-Adams is first rate but it is the staff that is the stand-out factor - at all levels. They were wonderful, particularly when we couldn't fly out of Dulles and had to come back for an extra night. Great to be able to use the business centre at no charge and to have reliable free wifi throughout the hotel. The location is absurdly good.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SilkmanDR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Silkmandr,

I’m thrilled you spent your first days of the year at the Hay-Adams! Delighted to hear that your stay was so enjoyable. We can’t wait to have you back.

Warm regards,
Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It is no news. The Hay-Adams is one of the world's most prestigious hotels, probably along the Mayfair in London, the Bel-Air in Los Angeles...and the list goes on. From the outside, the Hay-Adams is a beautiful french palais, a little bit in need for a second paiting, but still absolutely outstanding. The lobby is an old-fashioned, medium sized almost colonial style room with fancy chairs and a very attentive staff. It also has a charming restaurant, the Lafayette Room, which serves some pretty expensive but high-quality meals.The rooms are a little bit old also, but they are equally as charming, giving a fairytale vibe. The location is just perfect, near the mall, and not far away from Adams-Morgan and Chinatown to satisfy the nightlife cravers.
It is a classic luxury hotel. It needs remodelation, of course, but those lucky to stay here will get a complete Washington DC experience which I personally recommend. Besides, the staff is so nice. Ask them anything, and they will do as much as they can to spoil you rotten. Those chocolate-covered strawberrys were delicious, indeed!

Room Tip: Get a room on the south part of the hotel to get wonderful views of the White House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HotelReviewTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I loved the hay Adams. There was great food, great service and nice atmosphere. My kids LOVED chef josh for making them fantastic and tasty cupcakes. The white house was right across the street. My kids were so antagonized by the white house. We stayed in a suite. My family and I loved it. The master bedroom was beautiful. King size bed, cozy, nice clean pillows and a fabulous mattress. The bathroom was so clean and all granite a tv too. The living room was great. My only complaint would be the pullout couch. But, other people were saying they are going to be fixed so I would go there again.

Stayed: March 2013
4  Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Josie B,

Chef Josh will be ecstatic at your gracious mentioning of him on TripAdvisor! As you were correctly informed, we are in the process of having our pull-out sofa beds replaced.

We can't wait to have you back!

Sincerely,
Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

For the history buffs and people looking for location the Hay-Adam's ticks many boxes. The staff and amenities are a little old world but the standards of service and amenity are all more than acceptable.

The proximity to the White House, Congress and Smithsonian all make this a winner. Nothing is too far away and while the lobby does not match some of the more modern establishments it makes up for this with charm and sytle.

Very nice place to visit and stay

Room Tip: It has a gym but if it has a swimming pool it was not evident, the only minor negative the flagpole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark-R-II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Hay Adams the night of my wedding (which happened to be right across the street). I cannot overstate what an extraordinary experience it was.

A few examples:
-The front desk generously upgraded our modest room choice to a junior suite "in honor of the occasion." I was floored - and even more floored when we saw the view, which overlooks the White House and Washington and Jefferson monuments.
-While check in is 3:00, the staff was more than accommodating and allowed me (and my bridal party) to use our room several hours earlier in order to get ready for the wedding. It was a perfect (and BEAUTIFUL) space.
-After we had left, I realized that we may have left a bag in the hotel. I called their front desk and spoke with Officer Green on their security detail, who took the time to check whether the room had already been cleaned and then watch the security footage of our departure to see if we had taken the bag with us. (We had.) Truly - I have never felt so well cared for by a hotel, even after we had departed.

I cannot say enough about how special the Hay made us feel for our wedding. We look forward to returning every opportunity we get and recommending it to anyone traveling into town. What a completely extraordinary experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Kenlyn M,

Thank you for your sincere and wonderful comments. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Warm regards,
Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Historical Luxury hotel steps from the White House, the Hay Adams will remind you that you truly get what you pay for.
From the moment you arrive, the staff takes charge unloading your luggage, valet parking the car, guiding you to your room and showing you how what and where...

We booked the three day get a way and received an immediate upgrade to an outside king with a view of the church across the street. The room was immaculate while maintaining the historic architecture. Newer flat screen TV with a multitude of free channels, a Bose iPod Dock radio along with hotel provided cd's .
The bathroom, while not huge, was tastefully done with marble tile and gold tone accessories. Not a trace of dirt in any corner.
While the main restaurant, the Lafayette was open for breakfast and lunch, we utilized room service for breakfast one morning. The set up in suite was what you would expect. Linens and china presented hot dishes.
Food quality was excellent.
The infamous basement bar, Off the Record is a popular stop for before and after dinner. Drinks, while not cheap, are exactly what other reviewers have noted.....strong pours. Even the wine is generously had poured.
We actually ate in there one night and the rib eye steaks along with the veggies were prepared perfectly. A more casual alternative without sacrificing value. The dinner for two with about five drinks cost about $160 including tip.
The hotel has a small fitness center that has a couple of treadmills, weight machine, elliptical and life cycle. Plenty of towels, bottled water etc.

The wifi is free and fast. The business center located off the lobby is free and also has an espresso machine.
The sum it up:
Service- on point and attentive without being overbearing.
Comfort- rooms are equipped with modern touches. Beds are comfortable if not heavenly. Bath products are quality.
Food services- not inexpensive but convenient and worth the money spent.
Location- if you want to be steps from the White House and within a mile or so of all the National Mall memorials and museums, there is none better.
To clear up some of the review comments regarding the view of the White House, you can see it clearly in the winter through the park which is located right across the street. Many rooms will have a direct view until the trees bloom.
The Hay Adams is for those who want the best in service and maintains a quiet class. This is not the place for a frat party.
Well worth the price.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank 68braveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear 68braveheart,

So happy to know that you enjoyed your experience at the Hay-Adams. I will be sure to share your positive comments about your meal in Off the Record with our culinary team. Thank you for the words of encouragement, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
481 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £275 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing