We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great hotel. Directly across from White House. Walking distance to most attractions. Excellent service especially the concierge. Rooms were lovely. Restaurant excellent but pricey. Overall wonderful service. We will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank goldiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I cannot imagine stating anywhere else in DC. Tho location, service, rooms, overall a feeling of pure excellence. I recently stated in a 1 bedroom suite, what a delight, even with a fireplace for that special feeling. I highly recommend this hotel when in DC.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ashton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I love this hotel. I am a very particular traveler and this hotel is one of the best. The staff is fantastic, the hotel and rooms are large (I have stayed at several hotels in DC and most of the rooms are small) well appointed and the little extras really make this hotel a stand out.

The small touches really make a difference: cookie jar at the front desk, bringing oranges and a large bottle of still water at 4pm to our room when we did not ask for it, housekeeping noticing that my 3 year old likes to write on the pads of paper and bringing more of them after turn down service so he had enough paper, filling the ice bucket with ice during turndown service, putting sheets and a quilt on the crib (most hotels do not actually make the crib up for you and do not provide baby blankets).

Plus the location cannot be beat. One block from the white house.

Cannot wait to stay at the Hay-Adams again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear JFSD,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Hay-Adams; thank you for your positive feedback. I will pass your compliments on to Room Service and Housekeeping. Our team is passionate about the guest experience and consistently strives to make all guests feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hay-Adams again soon!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It is so good to visit a hotel with history and class. This is an older hotel but a rock in a great way. Superior staff and true quality. No better location across from St John's Church and the White House. Great bar! Will need to be back in DC next month on business and will stay at the Hay Adams. It's a home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay at the Hay Adams immensely. You can't beat the location, but the staff does not take it for granted. Customer Service was wonderful and the room was fabulous! Loved spending the days trekking around our beautiful capital and then relaxing in such a comfortable space. Our pre teen and teen kids really enjoyed the afternoon cookies from the front desk. Loved our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the White House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank runninglady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

There is simply no other hotel we've stayed at that compares to the Hay-Adams! We stayed in a beautiful studio room and the amenities were spectacular and the bed was so comfortable, you will definitely have a great night's sleep. As beautiful as the hotel is, the real stars are the staff. The service is impeccable, from valet, front desk, bell men and housekeeping. We come to Washington, DC often and this is now the only hotel we will be staying out, nothing else compares! Tip: don't miss having a drink at the downstairs bar, Off the Record, very classy and historic!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Joseph1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Joseph 1823,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay at The Hay-Adams! Your warm remarks are truly appreciated. Our entire team hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Hay-Adams soon!

Sincerely,
Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here two years ago and were so impressed that we took our son and family and my 90-year-old mother here for a few days. We cannot say enough about the helpfulness of the staff. It was my mother's first ever stay in DC and it made it special for her. Also, the staff was absolutely wonderful to our two-year-old grandson who was constantly on the move, checking everything out. The negative for the superior rooms is that they are small and the view of an office building nothing special, but they are very quiet. However, the location beside Lafayette Park is ideal. The restaurant was nice, but much too expensive - especially for breakfast.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the suites facing the White House are excellent, but very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 997juneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,170 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#44 of 141 in Washington DC
491 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £271 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing