We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priceless location and amazing staff.”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #1 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Priceless location and amazing staff.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

First time in Washington, D.C. to celebrate a friends birthday. We stayed in room 806 and could not believe our eyes when we walked in and saw the view overlooking the White House. The staff was amazing and the beds were very comfortable. Older classic historical clean 5 star hotel. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    155
    49
    16
    13
See reviews for
332
393
55
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at The Hay Adams over the Mothers day weekend. It was fabulous. Terrific staff. Wonderful ambiance. The only negative was the tiny claustrophobic bathroom. One single hook for 2 guests. But that's common in most old hotels. The view was a brick wall. Oh well. We did not spend much time in our room. Too much to do in DC!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkfromerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Hay-Adams is a absolutely beautiful place. Feels very luxurious and location is great. Their breakfast room is spectacular and food is delicious. Unfortunately our room was on a low floor with windows against office building with delivery "alley". Starting way before 5AM the trucks would pull in and idle as they would unload. One after another one. Very annoying as the closed windows didn't provide any sound barrier.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is facing street not alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ivy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Ivy148,

Thank you for your positive as well as candid comments regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by the trucks in our delivery alley early in the A.M. There is absolutely no excuse, considering that we have a strict policy with all vendors with regards to early access. You have my personal assurance that I will review the entire delivery schedule with all concerned to prevent a re-occurrence. It is my hope that this one incident has not marred your impression of the hotel permanently, and I would be delighted to look after your room assignment on your next return.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed for one night in early June at the Hay-Adams. The room I was given was quite small so I was disappointed. The bathroom was also small and didn't have a stall shower. The shower was excellent but the towels were surprisingly scratchy and were not the large plush towels I expect from similar upscale hotels. The location so close to the White House is fabulous. The service was excellent and the concierges were quite helpful and knowledgeable. The Business Center didn't charge a fee for the computer and provided free coffee drinks and bottled water.
Overall it was a good but not great value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Hay Adams, is truly a beautiful hotel in Washington. With a great location, just across the street from the White House, getting around on foot is easy, as the sites are close and easily accessible. The whole hotel was decorated with an eye for quality and detail, and classic designs. Our room was lovely, cream and marble, with some dark wood accents and elegant furnishings. The service was great and the breakfast was exceptional -- I still have not had a better french toast, than I did at the Hay Adams. The next time we return to Washington, we will definitely be staying here, over any other luxury hotel in the city (if it’s good enough for the Obama’s, it’s good enough for us!)

Room Tip: Get a view of the White House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrave South, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had the most lovely stay in this hotel. Our room was just wonderful and the beds were absolutely to die for. After a hard day hitting the pavement sightseeing the room was a delight to return to.
We had booked the 2 night package so my 10 year old was given a back pack full of goodies which he was delighted with. The cupcake we received on our first night was delicious, it didnt just look good and it tasted great as well.
It would be extremely remiss of me though to not make mention of the wonderful staff. The level of service we received was amazing and I was neglectful in not getting the gentleman's name but on our last day when we had to get to the station and it was raining and no taxi could be found, the young man went to extraordinary lengths to get us a taxi and even got himself soaked in the process, it was greatly appreciated as we made it to the train on time. Franziska the Concierge was able to recommend a lovely Chinese restaurant that was reasonably priced, as well as offering lots of tips when asked.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As beautiful as the hotel is in itself, the hospitality was even lovelier. I say "hospitality" instead of service, because it felt more like being a visitor in a lovely home than being a paying guest in a hotel. Charming, helpful, concerned personnel made our stay a joy. We had not booked a top room, so my guess is that everyone is treated this way.
When I expressed concern that there wasn't a coffee maker in the room, and that I didn't want to get dressed before 0800 to come down to the lobby for complimentary coffee, they sent up a beautiful coffee service the next morning. After asking if the mini bar was an automatic charge type (if you move a can to chill something of your own the computer automatically registers a purchase), which it is, they sent up another mini fridge for my own use. Again, we're not VIPs.
The room was luxurious with wonderful bedding and 4 cushy pillows per bed. The bathroom, though not large, had high end amenities and a great shower. The Metro is close by, which makes getting to museums, Georgetown and even the airport easy. Breakfast, as mentioned in other reviews is amazing. Pricey, but delicious, and so ample we were able to skip lunch. The HA is a short stroll through the park to the White House. Quiet, historic (yes, sometimes the floors squeak), luxurious and delightful. You'll feel special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear 3sons,

Thank you for your great feedback! As you so eloquently put it, we strive to exceed the standards of hospitality for a luxury hotel, and to make our guests feel right at home. I am delighted to hear that the team went above and beyond and was able to quickly pick up on your needs regarding coffee service and an empty minibar in your room, that is an excellent example of our dedication to guest service. We look forward to hosting you for another great stay in the near future!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing