We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hay-Adams Breakfast - Just Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #2 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
904 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Hay-Adams Breakfast - Just Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

It appears that the Hay-Adams Restaurant does not have a separate listing from the hotel on TA, and this review is for Breakfast at the Hay-Adams Restaurant.

While we have stayed at the Hay-Adams Hotel in the past, we were located up the street, due to meeting venues. However, I wanted to treat my wife to breakfast, and could not think of a better restaurant. Though our hotel provided a continental breakfast, or breakfast buffet with our room, at our loyalty level, we walked down to the Hay-Adams instead.

First, the restaurant is as elegant as the hotel, and the furnishings are lovely - one feels that they have stepped back in time, to another place. We were a bit late in the breakfast serving, and the dining room was mostly empty. We were greeted by a host, who inquired if we were hotel guests. When I acknowledged that we were not, his next question puzzled me, "Do you have reservations?" As there were only 4 other diners in both of the rooms, I did not quite understand this. My first thought was that maybe it was because I did not have on a tie, but only my blazer and an open-collared dress shirt. I am still not sure about that question, but it was the only oddity in the entire experience.

Once seated, we our servers were very quick and highly efficient, though never intrusive. Coffees were offered up, and menus presented.

As I had dined there for breakfast several times, I knew what I wanted, but my wife needed a few extra minutes, as she always seems to have very early AM meetings, so grabs coffee and something to eat in a cab or limo. She had never had the pleasure of dining at the Hay-Adams, even when we have stayed there.

She settled on the Two Farm Fresh Eggs w/ Applewood Smoked Bacon, Grits and Biscuits, while I went with the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes w/ Ham. While their version falls just behind the San Francisco Four Seasons' (Seasons Restaurant) Lemon Ricotta Griddle Cakes, they ARE very close, and it is almost impossible to top the Hay-Adams Restaurant's dining room for an elegant breakfast.

Both the Ham and the Bacon were perfectly done, and the Grits were wonderfully creamy. The Biscuits were light, flaky and tasty, reminding me of the ones that we used to get at Blackberry Farm (Walland, TN), before they cut way back on the lard.

With a couple glasses of Champagne, the coffee and an orange juice, the tab was up there for breakfast, but well worth every $.

While the service is very efficient (and wonderfully friendly), I would recommend the Hay-Adams Restaurant for a breakfast, when one has the time to savor every bite, and the art/furniture in the dining room - take your time, and just enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bill_Hunt_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Bill_Hunt_AZ,

What a fantastic review of your dining experience at Lafayette, and I am pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed the food and the service (next time you’re here, we will make sure we exceed your expectations for the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes!). It is great that you were able to enjoy a leisurely breakfast together, and we look forward to serving both of you again soon!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    148
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
312
380
53
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed at the Hay-Adams for the weekend to attend a performance at the Kennedy Center. From arrival to departure, special. Wonderfully elegant European feel. Having made our room reservation through the Amex Plat Fine Hotels and Resorts, we were upgraded to a St. John's Church view room upon arrival...nice touch along with other perks you get (breakfast for two and $100 food/beverage credit). Reminded me of our stay at The Savoy in London last summer (almost). Classy and proximate to everything worth seeing. Lunch and breakfast at The Lafayette Room...spectacular. Food, service, ambiance...worth the price to treat yourself every now and then. Wish we could have stayed longer. Ask for a persona tour of the rooftop terrace to get a perfect view of the White House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank veegeenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

First time in Washington, D.C. to celebrate a friends birthday. We stayed in room 806 and could not believe our eyes when we walked in and saw the view overlooking the White House. The staff was amazing and the beds were very comfortable. Older classic historical clean 5 star hotel. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at The Hay Adams over the Mothers day weekend. It was fabulous. Terrific staff. Wonderful ambiance. The only negative was the tiny claustrophobic bathroom. One single hook for 2 guests. But that's common in most old hotels. The view was a brick wall. Oh well. We did not spend much time in our room. Too much to do in DC!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkfromerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Hay-Adams is a absolutely beautiful place. Feels very luxurious and location is great. Their breakfast room is spectacular and food is delicious. Unfortunately our room was on a low floor with windows against office building with delivery "alley". Starting way before 5AM the trucks would pull in and idle as they would unload. One after another one. Very annoying as the closed windows didn't provide any sound barrier.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is facing street not alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ivy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Ivy148,

Thank you for your positive as well as candid comments regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by the trucks in our delivery alley early in the A.M. There is absolutely no excuse, considering that we have a strict policy with all vendors with regards to early access. You have my personal assurance that I will review the entire delivery schedule with all concerned to prevent a re-occurrence. It is my hope that this one incident has not marred your impression of the hotel permanently, and I would be delighted to look after your room assignment on your next return.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed for one night in early June at the Hay-Adams. The room I was given was quite small so I was disappointed. The bathroom was also small and didn't have a stall shower. The shower was excellent but the towels were surprisingly scratchy and were not the large plush towels I expect from similar upscale hotels. The location so close to the White House is fabulous. The service was excellent and the concierges were quite helpful and knowledgeable. The Business Center didn't charge a fee for the computer and provided free coffee drinks and bottled water.
Overall it was a good but not great value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Hay Adams, is truly a beautiful hotel in Washington. With a great location, just across the street from the White House, getting around on foot is easy, as the sites are close and easily accessible. The whole hotel was decorated with an eye for quality and detail, and classic designs. Our room was lovely, cream and marble, with some dark wood accents and elegant furnishings. The service was great and the breakfast was exceptional -- I still have not had a better french toast, than I did at the Hay Adams. The next time we return to Washington, we will definitely be staying here, over any other luxury hotel in the city (if it’s good enough for the Obama’s, it’s good enough for us!)

Room Tip: Get a view of the White House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing