We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #3 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Hay Adams is an elegant boutique hotel in a very good location directly across Lafayette Park from the White House. The interior of the hotel has lovely architectural details. The rooms are beautiful and serene with luxurious linens and soft colors. We reserved a Lafayette Park room and the view was nothing short of spectacular. We were celebrating my birthday and had a lovely visit.

We stayed two nights and went sightseeing three days. The concierge was very helpful especially with museum tickets. There were always taxis at the ready when we departed the hotel.

We had snacks and a meal at Off the Record, the bar/lounge. We enjoyed the food as well as the interesting decor. The walls are covered with caricatures of politicians. Very amusing.

We met my parents for Sunday brunch at the Lafayette. The food was varied and delicious as well it should be for $75/person. I think that included mimosas and/or bloody mary's.

My one complaint is that there is no coffee machine in the room. There is no coffee in the lobby. The only in-the-hotel way to get coffee is from room service. I think it should be complimentary, like the newspaper. Reading reviews prior to our visit, I thought the bathroom would be cramped, but that was not so. The hotel has made good use of the space and put extra shelves up. Still, bring your hanging toiletry bag. The marble bathroom is really quite elegant though. The free wi-fi was also very nice.

We had a wonderful time and everyone was very nice! The highlight was the view!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank claire_bluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear claire_bluesky,

Firstly, happy belated birthday and we are thrilled you could spend it with us! Thank you for your specific feedback regarding your stay; I am pleased to hear that it was such great one and that you enjoyed our spectacular view. I will certainly thank our concierge and culinary teams for a job very well done. Brunch at Lafayette is a great D.C. tradition which I am glad you and your parents could partake in!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Where do I begin?! The location (next door to the White House) and not a far car ride from the Capitol make this boutique hotel a sanctuary in the middle of a busy city. Attention to detail is what sets this hotel apart from others - toiletries are above and beyond, the classical music playing after turn down service and attentive staff make this the only place I will stay in DC from now on. Well done, Hay-Adams!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KY_Amy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I've had the experience with these "leading hotels of the world" that they are in beautiful buildings, but the rooms are old, musty and past their day. But this is truly a wonderful hotel. Bordering Lafayette Park in front of the White House, it has a location that can't be beat. The service is friendly and helpful - genuine kindness. The rooms were spacious, old world style with modern amenities. The bar down stairs is great, and the restaurant has delicious food. It was also nice to have the free wifi - since most high priced hotels tend to charge you for this too. Highly recommend, if you can afford the splurge.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking Lafayette Park or the Church. Other rooms look onto the adjacent building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TheHappyJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear TheHappyJourney,

Glad to hear that you had such a great stay with us recently. Your description of our rooms as “...old world style with modern amenities” nicely sums up our design vision, and we are proud to be a member of Leading Hotels of the World. I am pleased that you felt our staff exhibited genuine kindness – they are able to do that because they truly enjoy working here and interacting with our guests. I will also share your compliments with Chef and his team who work hard to prepare the wonderful cuisine we offer. We hope to see you back during your next trip to our Nation’s Capital!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The reason why I cut one star off is that they gave us a very small room without any views in spite of we had booked a superior room (32 m2). Bathroom was also very small. However, we were offered an upgrade to a room with White House view for extra $200 which we didn't accept because the room price was already high for us ($514/night). While checking out next morning, I asked to the receptionist how they would call a standard room if ours was a superior room of that size. She was silent in return.

The breakfast was also tricky. We already paid $25 for each for the breakfast in booking time and thought it was an open buffet as normally expected. We were wrong. They have a menu to order and everything in the menu has a price. The waiter explained us how it works. You can order anything in the menu, but if the total exceeds $25 per person, you have to pay for it. Even the breads on the counter need to be ordered for a fee. So, what is the point to offer a breakfast on the website?

Other than these, we loved the hotel. It is small but very luxury. Rooms, lobby and dining venue has a lovely decoration. Personnel is extremly kind and always ready to help with a smile on their face. The concierge was very helpful to answer our questions on the free map of attractions of Washington DC. There are two hop-on lines in WDC by the way. 'Old Town Trolleys' are totally different than classic hop-on buses and very cute.

The queen size bed was extremly comfortable for a nice sleep. We had Bose sound system in the room and some CD's which helped us to relax after a long day. Turn down service and a small chocolate on the bed was a nice touch. However, we were two and had to share the chocolate. Hotel has a very nice bar in the basement. A great place to freshen and get cool after a hot day in summer time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank AnkaraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear AnkaraCat,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us at The Hay-Adams. We are proud to be a hotel steeped in a rich history which dates back to 1927, and because we work hard to preserve that history, some of our rooms are on the smaller end. I do apologize that our breakfast in Lafayette was not fully explained to you when you made your reservation, but I hope that you enjoyed the cuisine and the overall dining experience. I am pleased to hear that your stay was mostly positive and that you had such great interactions with the team (I will certainly pass your compliments onto our Concierges!). We look forward to serving you again during your next trip to Washington, D.C.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I really enjoy walking through the main doors here each time I visit and being greeted by the returning staff ... some are celebrating 20+ years of service here at the Hay-Adams. The rooms are very comfortable ... bathrooms are clean and large -- ditto for the bedrooms. I love the top floor for family gatherings. It offers an amazing view of the White House and the Park. This is my favorite place in DC. It seems that you can get to nearly all museums from here if you're willing to walk just a bit.

Room Tip: I like the rooms that look over the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Heathcote H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear heathcote4654,

How wonderful to hear that you always enjoy coming back to stay with us at The Hay-Adams! Our team enjoys getting to know our valued guests and catching up with them throughout the years. What an honor to be your favorite place in D.C.; we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is something you do not want to miss when you visit D.C. It's got a culture of its own and by the way, amazing views of the D.C. landmarks. It's location and the hotel itself is what sets it apart from all other places in D.C.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayanti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Where to start...position....the Hay-Adams hotel must be about the best positioned hotel in Washington, with proximity to, and superb views of, the White House. The staff are attentive, professional and extremely polite, and to a man they go the extra yard to ensure that residents have a comfortable stay. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable, although they are a little on the small side. The bed in our room was one of the most comfortable hotel beds that I have ever experienced. The restaurant provides one of the best hotel breakfasts that I have ever had, and the evening meals are sublime. Eating here is a must, and not at all expensive bearing in mind the surroundings, quality of the food and preparation, and position......oh, and look out for luminaries in the dining room!
Perhaps the most impressive thing about this hotel is that it mixes position and grandeur with a homeliness that has to be experienced to be believed. At no point does it over power or over awe. Everything is done to achieve the best experience for the residents who are always made to feel cosseted and important. We will return here, and I hope sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side for views of the White House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RKH245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear RKH245,

Your review summed up what is most important to all of us here at The Hay-Adams; thank you for the great feedback! Even though we are located at the epicenter of the Nation’s Capital, it is important to us that guests feel relaxed and comfortable during their stay in their home-away-from-home. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining in Lafayette, and I will certainly pass your compliments onto Chef and his team. Thank you again for your eloquent review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,147 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
431 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £274 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing