We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine, you'll want to move in.”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #5 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This beautiful hotel makes you very welcome. Lovely rooms, gracious service. Plus they have a smoking floor, much appreciated, truly civilized. Breakfast was superlative. You are likely to find yourself a table away from a head of state.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank balzacnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 days in Washington sightseeing and saw the hotel was highly rated by trip advisor. A fantastic place right next to the White House and amongst some great restaurants. Lovely comfortable rooms, very efficient and friendly staff...a great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank 1468VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed six nights here in one room on the eighth floor, and in a suite overlooking the White House. The rooms and bathrooms are not big by modern standards but they are beautifully kept and the bathrooms are stocked with a generous supply of quality toiletries. Closets are large and easily accommodate a week's clothes.

Attention to detail is outstanding. I enjoyed seeing the changing white flower displays in the lobby each day. They were so perfect I thought they might be silk flowers but they are real. The laundry was delivered in good quality clothing bags on hangers which you can take with you. We could not believe that we were allowed to take these things with us so we asked just to be sure. We left with two large clothing bags each containing beautifully prepared clothes to wear to a wedding we were attending in Maryland.

Staff are excellent and are probably the best I have seen in thirty odd years of staying in good hotels. They remembered us from the time we arrived, attended to every issue and question, took the initiative and made our stay truly memorable. From the bell boys, to the waiters, house keeping and reception, they were unfailingly confident and friendly. At breakfast one diner asked a waiter if he was new as he had not seen him before. The waiter explained that he had worked here for six years but in another part of the hotel; he was just helping out. It was notable how flexible staff were and how they multi-tasked. Managers are active and highly visible. Whoever trains and retains staff of this calibre deserves a medal.

We loved the breakfasts and recommend the vanilla blueberry smoothie and the oatmeal soufflé. Staff know what ingredients are in all the dishes and can tell you how everything is made.

We enjoyed dining at Off the Record and invited family to lunch at the Lafayette. Having tried most of the recommended restaurants in the area such as Joe's Seafood, we found we preferred the Lafayette and just wished it was open for dinner in summer.

This is a really memorable hotel. We much prefer it to the Willard. The scale of the two is vastly different. The Willard is vast and more impersonal and the staff are not as friendly and highly skilled.

Some have complained about the prices here but we thought it was good value for money. Standards are high, staff turnover is low, restaurant prices are the same as the most popular restaurants in the area and the service is far superior and the food excellent.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Annerly777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Tripster29,

I appreciate all of your great feedback regarding your time at The Hay-Adams, thank you! We do pride ourselves in attending to every detail – not just of the property itself, but also of our guests’ experiences. I am very pleased to hear that you had such great interactions with everyone here, and I will share with all. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were amazed to find that this hotel has a smoking floor - we were under the apprehension that most if not all were non smoking now. It was a very uncomfortable stay, thankfully when we returned a week later we were located on another floor. Amazing staff and luxurious rooms, upon check in we were advised that we had to book for breakfast however after one visit the cost of $70 was a little steep for two of us so we sought alternatives. Room service very very slow. Cellar bar really interesting but felt that you had to be in the know to be there. Great recommendation from the concierge.

Room Tip: Avoid the 7th floor if you are a non smoker. Rooms on the 6th are better. We were given office facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank MakemycakePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear MakemycakePenny,

I am very pleased to hear that you returned to The Hay-Adams and that this time around you had an altogether pleasant stay. I have made note of your comment regarding our In Room Dining service and will share it with the appropriate team members. Off the Record is a very popular bar for locals and visitors alike - all are most welcome and I am glad you had the chance to visit it. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Washington, D.C.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have an office in DC that I travel to 2-3 times a year and have had the pleasure of staying at The Hay several times.

Employees are kind, courteous and are familiar faces when traveling. (Low turnover says a lot) Beds are comfortable and location is unbeatable. If you ever have the opportunity, you should absolutely stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lobelle480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband recently brought me to your hotel, the Hay-Adams for a surprise 30th wedding anniversary. You have now become the standard by which we rate ALL hotels.

We were very fortunate to be surprised upon arrival with a free room upgrade and further surprised by a knock at our door that evening expecting turndown service, but instead we were presented with a chilled bottle of champagne and six dark chocolate dipped strawberries. Amazing!

Our room overlooked the White House with the Washington Monument in the background. We must have taken 100 pictures just looking out our balcony during our three night stay.

The room was exactly as represented on your website; elegant and comfortable. While it was kept at the perfect temperature, I never once heard the air conditioner. (I can’t tell you how many times I’ve woken up in other premium hotels as the air conditioner pops on and off.) The bathroom was large and the water pressure in the shower was great.

Whether we were in the restaurant, the bar or simply in the lobby, the service and attention from your staff was wonderful. Your staff definitely beats my husband when it comes to opening doors for me, and he’s pretty good!

We were only in Washington, D.C. for four days and definitely plan on going back. Needless to say, we already know where we’ll be staying.

Thank you again for making a special trip absolutely magnificent!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie-Mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Charlie-Mpls,

Happy 30th anniversary to you and your husband, and thank you for choosing to celebrate that special occasion with us! I’m so glad you enjoyed the little surprise that our pastry chef prepared for you, and that you were able to have such a great view of the White House from your balcony.
We are honored to have become the standard by which you rate all hotels and look forward to welcoming you and your husband back again soon.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. Our rooms overlooked the White House lawn. We were warmly greeted each morning when we left for sight seeing and offered water for our trip and greeted again upon our return. We were offered dinner reservations at unique locations upon our request so that we could experience different areas of the capital. Nick was kind enough to take our family to the rooftop so we could experience the incredible view and take a family picture of us as well. Our rooms were impeccably clean and the beds were incredibly comfortable. We had no complaints about our stay and would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank darbysiebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear darbysiebold,

I am pleased to hear that you and your family had such a great time with us during your recent vacation to Washington, D.C.! Our team strives to provide guests with a personal and memorable experience whilst staying with us, and our concierge, front office, and housekeeping teams always do a great job exemplifying our high standards of service. I’m sure that family picture on our rooftop facing the White House will be a great memento from your visit to our Nation’s Capital. We hope to welcome all of you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
478 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £269 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing