We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel has it all- Location, service, solitude” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #3 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This hotel has it all- Location, service, solitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, unobtrusive but superb service, excellent amenities. Absolutely fabulous- could not have asked for more! From check-in to check-out, he best we have tried around Washington to date. Really a wonderful hotel.

That said, the restaurant for dinner was not very good- although the service was fine. Food, including fish and foie gras, had a bit of an off-taste to my palate.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrixFixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    148
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
311
380
53
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We were treated like royalty and like long-lost friends when we stayed one night on a family trip to see Washington and the cherry blossom trees. We pulled up to valet parking in our Ford AeroStar van with our mismatched luggage and even a cooler, but we picked up none of the usual get-a-load-of-these-people signals. The only signal we picked up was kindness, in both the hotel and restaurant. Because of the expense this was a once-in-a-lifetime stay for us, but every family should have this experience at least once. During the off-season, and when congress is not in session, the expense might be manageable, as it was for us. We took this family trip a few years ago, but we still talk about it, and remember it fondly.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClearBlueOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY, USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Stayed at end of June for 5 nights - 5 wonderful nights. The hotel is an icon & everything lived up to it - rooms, service, everything. This was the 2nd time we've stayed there and we've never had a problem. Great location across Lafayette Park from White House. You can eat in the hotel restaurant and overlook the White House. It's a bit like Cheers in that all the staff somehow knows your name. Cookies at front desk. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prof01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stayed here over the Fourth of July with my family. This hotel is like the luxury hotels that I remember when I was very young. Everything is extremely professional. The staff all know the guest names--nothing is overlooked. I travel a lot on business and pleasure and its a rarity to encounter service of this quality in the United States. Other than the Ritz Carlton in San Francisco (my favorite city hotel in the US), nothing else comes to mind.

Another attribute that struck me was how good the food was. I know the Obamas love good food and chose this as their hotel while awaiting their White House move. This is some of the best hotel food I have had (again the Ritz Carlton San Francisco comes to mind). All ingredients are fresh and local and expertly prepared by the chef. We stayed for the Fourth of July and the hotel hosted an enormous party with entertainment for children--again really excellent food and so much of it.

The location also simply coudn't be better for a visit to DC. Its right across the street from the White House--need one say more?

The property is beautiful and historic. The hotel is the product of merging two old DC homes (MR. Hayes house was merged with Mr. Adam's house). It is maintained perfectly and is kept meticulously clean. However, keep in mind that it is old, so the rooms while beautiful are NOT sound proof. Little sounds do travel here (as they do in old historic houses). If you are a very sensitive sleeper, this hotel may not be the best choice. However, by opting to go elsewhere, you will miss a wonderful, historic, oldworld experience.

I have traveled to DC a lot in the past few years and stayed at a lot of its hotels (3 of the Ritz Carltons, the Fairmont, The Mandarin Oriental, The Mayfair, The Willard, etc). This is by my favorite hotel in DC. It carries my highest recomendation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetravel1452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Last week my husband and I stayed at Hay-Adams and we are already looking forward to our next visit! As people who travel frequently, we have never been so impressed by the hospitality, cleanliness, and comfort of Hay-Adams. The hotel radiates the classic historic quality of Washington, DC with a modern twist with updated amenities. I highly recommend staying at the Hay-Adams if you are in the Washington DC area!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlottep676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

The staff’s attention to detail is what captured my attention at the Hay-Adams. Arriving late after flight delays, my check-in was efficient, painless, and topped off with a bottle of chilled water as I was shown to my room. My room was plush and the views were spectacular. Sun-lit breakfasts in the Lafayette Room were a wonderful start to my mornings. The concierge was extremely helpful in suggesting places to sightsee, arranging tickets to Congress during my stay in DC, and recommending some excellent restaurants as well! The staff was professional and courteous, accommodating to every need. It was an amazing luxury hotel that I would recommend with confidence to anyone going to Washington DC.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aZnToURisT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed at the HA earlier this year and loved it. We were in a White House view room and it was fantastic. The location is second to none.

It's an old style traditional hotel. Lovely decor and rooms. Great breakfast (albeit expensive like most of DC hotels) and lots of nice little touches as others has said.

We completely disagree with reviewers who say the staff are snooty. We did not find that at all. The concierge was especially good. He could not have helped us more. Check in was great too.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank georgewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing