We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hay-Adams
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lombardy(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
State Plaza Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown(Washington DC)
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,402)
Filter reviews
1,402 results
Traveller rating
1,143
175
53
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,143
175
53
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslafayette parkwhite houselafayette roomjohn's churchlafayette restaurantbasement barturn down serviceview roombeautiful hotelroom servicetop floorjefferson memorialconcierge serviceluxury hoteloffice buildingjunior suiteamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 1,402 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I have now stayed at the Hay-Adams twice in the last two years, and this is one of my favorite hotels. On this trip, I stayed by myself in a very reasonably priced room on the 6th floor. My sister stayed in a HUUUGE suite on the same floor. Why do I love this hotel? The housekeeping staff is so professional, and so thorough. Ice is left without a request. Housekeeping always manages to come when I am out of the room, discreetly and quickly and yet thoroughly.

The beds are incredibly comfortable. Service at the front desk is very attentive. And, free internet access with a desk in each room. Finally, the windows open!

I am thinking of another excuse to go to DC to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We just returned from our second stay ay the Hay Adams in Washington, DC...our first was before the new pres stayed there so i was concerned that the hotel had become to snooty. I am glad to report we had a wonderful stay and loved every minute of it! I had booked the cheapest rate available thru their website (I knew it would overlook the alley for that rate) but upon arrival I was offered an upgrade for $70.00 more a night. We took it. The room was overlooking the church on the 4th floor, beautiful room but it was across from the elevators so we could hear people coming and going at times. I did not request a room change(probably would next time) because the hotel staff was able to let us check into our room at 10AM. We had an early flight and upon arriving it was raining, and we were tired and did not feel like walking around DC in the rain. We spent a lazy morning in our room after a wonderful (expensive breakfast) in the dining room. We spent the next 4 days walking around DC and enjoying the hotel location to everything.. Also the security staff were able to escort us to the hotel roof ( closed after 9/11 except for private venues) where you have a breathtalking view of the White House and all other historical sites. From the time we walked in to the check out (late!), and the wonderful cookies at the check in reception, the great burgers in the bar , .we a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flagirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, unobtrusive but superb service, excellent amenities. Absolutely fabulous- could not have asked for more! From check-in to check-out, he best we have tried around Washington to date. Really a wonderful hotel.

That said, the restaurant for dinner was not very good- although the service was fine. Food, including fish and foie gras, had a bit of an off-taste to my palate.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrixFixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We were treated like royalty and like long-lost friends when we stayed one night on a family trip to see Washington and the cherry blossom trees. We pulled up to valet parking in our Ford AeroStar van with our mismatched luggage and even a cooler, but we picked up none of the usual get-a-load-of-these-people signals. The only signal we picked up was kindness, in both the hotel and restaurant. Because of the expense this was a once-in-a-lifetime stay for us, but every family should have this experience at least once. During the off-season, and when congress is not in session, the expense might be manageable, as it was for us. We took this family trip a few years ago, but we still talk about it, and remember it fondly.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClearBlueOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Stayed at end of June for 5 nights - 5 wonderful nights. The hotel is an icon & everything lived up to it - rooms, service, everything. This was the 2nd time we've stayed there and we've never had a problem. Great location across Lafayette Park from White House. You can eat in the hotel restaurant and overlook the White House. It's a bit like Cheers in that all the staff somehow knows your name. Cookies at front desk. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prof01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews