We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beds are too small”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We booked a double/double room but they gave us a triple room for three of us.The twin and double beds are very small, at least smaller than the normal sizes. We hung our feet out of the beds.
No coffee maker etc.
Very very friendly and polite staff.
Very good location.
A litte bit expensive.
Just make sure you can get a bigger bed when you check in.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YHPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
There are newer reviews for The Hay-Adams
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Hay Adams for a weekend visit to DC. It really is the perfect place to stay for a quick and fun visit to the capitol and its many attractions and pleasures.

The hotel is small, intimate and quite elegant. Very much like a small European luxury hotel. We splurged for a junior suite with White House view, and while expensive, it couldn't have been lovelier, with large sitting area, ornamental fieplace, beautiful details and a sumptuous canpoied bed. The famous view is, of course, sensational, morning new and night. It gives you such a sense of place.

Service is impeccable, breakfast in the Lafayette room is charming, the conceirge is unusally helpful and made several terriffic resturant recommendations and facilitated a last minute trip to Mt. Vernon efortlessly. Add to that a perfect location, and I can't think of any reason to stay anywhere else in D.C.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike14c14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Terrific hotel. Great, fully equipped business center. The only downside is their very slow internet connection. If you will need to use the hotel to do online legal research or streaming, you will be frustrated. If you don't need a fast connection, the hotel is great.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millvalleytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

A beautiful hotel with old world elegance. This was one of the best hotels I've stayed in and cannot recommend it highly enough. We stayed in some nice hotels in New York on this trip but they were a bit too concerned with being 'cool' to make us feel special and welcome. The Hay Adams treated us like a luxury hotel should treat its guests.
The staff were excellent - friendly but very professional. Particularly impressed by the concierge who was extremely helpful and his recommendations for the private tour and the nice restaurant were faultless.
The location was superb, particularly if you want to feel part of the political landscape. Our room had a view of the White House which made my wife deleriously happy. The restaurant and bar were very appealing and the fact that our laundry arrived gift-wrapped showed how every little detail was handled with class.
While I don't consider it a cheap hotel, I've paid a lot more for far less impressive results. It's a special hotel and, in my opinion, worth the extra expense.
Thanks to them for the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I stayed at the Hay Adams in early May. This is a classic small boutique hotel in a perfect location across from the White House. In a world of look-alike hotels, the Hay Adams has its own style that is very elegant. I loved the "Off the Record" bar in the lower level---very clubby bar filled with locals . I also went to the rooftop and glimpsed at the tented party space overlooking The White House---just a gorgeous spot. The tiny lobby was elegant too---funny, I noticed someone else said they felt underdressed in the lobby in anything but a dark suit--I felt the same way. Staff was very friendly and accommodating though.

The only thing I didn't love was the room. I booked a standard room, and I had one of the rooms on a lower floor facing the alley and another building just across the alley. There was very little natural light and due to the unattractive view I ended up keeping the curtains closed at all times and using lamps even during the day. The room also had a bit of an unusual, small bathroom. The garbage trucks in the alley were fairly noisy early in the morning. The room was nicely decorated so no issues there. I appreciated the free internet. I am sure my experience would have been different if I had a White House view room, but that is not what I experienced. Word to the wise---probably worth the money to upgrade to a preferred view. Still, I would give the hotel 4 stars overall---just don't feel I can give the room 5 stars based on the room I experienced.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iowaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed at the Hay Adams in August 2009 for a wedding. This is a stunningly elegant hotel and the service was unbelievable from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. The hotel rooms are spacious and have a European glamour to them, but with modern bathrooms and amenities. Our view was of St. John's church and our room had large french doors that opened onto a juliet balcony overlooking the church -- stunning. The hotel is close to all of the museums and across the park from the White House and it is very easy to get around to all the sites on foot from the hotel. We loved the small touches (like complimentary umbrellas) and the friendly and efficient staff. We felt very privileged to stay in such a beautiful and historic hotel and hope to stay again on our next visit to DC.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geniusbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Very close to White House area, lots of good restraurants in walking distance. Room was elagant, staff was very helpful. It also had a nice bar street level. Concierge was also very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
434 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £268 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing