We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #5 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
sherwood, wi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best in DC”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I have stayed in many Washington DC hotels. None is better. Personal attention to detail, friendly staff, and beautiful rooms make this a must stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musikmanSherwood_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    112
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
227
508
58
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

An impeccable small hotel, just like it was back in its heyday many years ago. Room not huge, but not tiny either. Fabulous bathroom, bed, linens. Great - and practical - working desk. Location ideal - still a close walk to downtown, but close to bars/restaurants that buzz at night.

Only nit was an excess of hallway noise, but understand, this is like criticizing a picasso because he put on too much red paint in the upper left corner - even if true, it sort of misses the point.

Significantly nicer than the Hay-Adams, stayed at earlier in same week.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dzop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had a wonderful four nights in Washington DC. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Our bed was very comfortable. I loved the television embedded in the bathroom mirror. It was nice to watch the news while getting ready to leave each morning. The bar was perfect for resting our feet and enjoying local brews after a long day of sightseeing. There is a Starbucks a couple of blocks away. We would certainly go back again!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband took me here to spend the night for our anniversary. I was blown away by how beautiful the hotel was! It's small and interesting and everything is impeccable! Our room was just stunning. My husband sprung for the suite, and when I saw it, I was totally blown away! First, it had an actual foyer, in the room! Beautiful bedroom with a view of the monument, gorgeous bathroom with separate tub and shower, lovely living room. I could have spent the whole weekend in that room. There where flowers and fruit in the room, plus chocolate covered strawberries with "Happy Anniversary" written on the plate - compliments of the hotel. The next day we had a spa appointment. The spa ladies came to our room to pick us up, led us to the beautiful (but small) spa, and gave us very relaxing massages. Afterwards, they served us yogurt, fruit, and fresh sqeezed OJ before walking us back to the elevator. It was all so nice! We then went downstairs to the atrium for coffee and snacks, and that was totally beautiful too, and very delicious! Before checking out, we had somone knock on our door and present us with a silver tray of milk and cookies. Seriously, that was too much! It could not have been any better! None of it was cheap, to be sure, but sooo well worth it. I hope we do this every anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZoyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A lovely city hotel with boutique qualities. Warm knowledgeable staff that treated us like treasured guests on our first visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My daughters and I went on a short trip to DC to see the Capital, tour the White House, Smithsonian, etc.

Did not escape the Texas heat as I was hot and humid in DC.

The hotel is four blocks from the White House and we found a restaurant we liked on the walk to and fro.

We had booked through Expedia and the room was somewhat discounted. Given the quality of the overall experience the room was a steal. We had a deluxe room that had a King bed and a parlor with very nice fold out bed. Also had a work area between the two rooms.

The room was quite spacious and beautifully appointed and looked very fresh and new, though very elegant with lots of marble, nice wall art bookshelves full of interesting reading.

The hotel was completely leveled three years ago and rebuilt from ground up.

Bathroom beautiful with large tub and spacious shower.

Check in was seamless,, though we were a little early and room was not ready. We left bags and went walking and returned to find our room ready and bags in closet.

The bed had wonderful linens. Very comfortable fold out bed for Dad as well.

We had room service a couple of nights and it was very good and very quick. The desserts really were delectable as well.

The hotel has a very cozy old fashioned feel to it.

The hotel restaurant, "The Quill", was wonderful though we only sampled breakfast fare.

Staff throughout attentive and friendly/reserved.

Our room was very quiet with no traffic noise.

The fitness center had very nice equipment, but not enough variety for me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, LA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The recently rennovated Jefferson is fabulous. No detail was overlooked in restoring this jewel. The staff is excellent. The hotel has a European feel, cozy but luxurious. The Quill is a great bar. My lunch in the atrium was memorable. Great hotel. Fitness center is small and under-equipped, but this is a hotel not a gym.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jccminden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,229 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,142 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,804 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing