We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the royal treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

beautiful and tasteful renovation. rooms so comfortable and staff, especially concierge, ever so helpful and affable. We stayed with two young children and despite their gallivanting in the lobby, no one made us feel uncomfortable. Prime location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank readytogo2010NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

The staff were very helpful and nice. The hotel puts out coffee in the am and ice tea a little later. Only out for a short while but great to have. A big bottle of water is always waiting in your room.

Loved the room but wished we had a city view. We were in the delux king which was made for two people and my sister was in a delux king made for one. The room was always clean and the bed was great.

Our bathroom was wonderful as we had a soaking tub and two sinks as well as walk in shower.

Only complaint was the food we had a the bar was served cold. We had traveled all day and wanted something to eat. This was around 9pm. Food would have been good but was ice cold. Too tired too complain.

We can not wait to go back to Washington and will definitely will stay at The Jefferson.

Room Tip: We were in a Delux King 710. This room had s soaking tub and two sinks as well as a walk in shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beanielf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I've stayed here twice now and it is really a wonderful hotel. I always find the staff to be very helpful to someone who has no idea how to get around the big city. Even going out of the way to show me where things are.

Working hard during the day means I really appreciate being able to sleep soundly each night. And I thing the archeticture of the building is wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I've stayed here 4 or 5 times on business and have loved it every time. Comfortable, modern rooms. There is always a nice piece of fruit like an apple or a pear waiting for you on the desk, and I like the flat screens in the bathroom that tell you what time it is. Room service is yummy, the staff are friendly, etc. Overall, just a great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The service was excellent, from the doorman when you first enter to the wait staff at Quill's. The bellman gave me an excellent tour of the hotel, as it was my first time there. The food at Quill's (a cobb salad with Maryland crab instead of chicken) was excellent, as were the cocktails. I was travelling alone and could comfortably enjoy my dinner while reading without feeling rushed. The room was comfortable and quiet even though I was near the elevator. Would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swilson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Aesthetics is very important to me when choosing a hotel, and the Jefferson does not disappoint, as it is truly and uniquely lovely. It succeeds in having a more residential (granted, one that is tasteful and chic) atmosphere than a hotel atmosphere. The rooms do not disappoint; they are as elegant as the public rooms (which is so often not the case at many hotels in the entire price spectrum). They are also very comfortable and our suite was spacious as well, with a huge bathroom (including a TV built into the mirror, which the kids got a big kick out of, and a much-appreciated soaking tub) in addition to an elegant entry foyer, living room, bedroom and private terrace.

Before reserving, I had contacted the manager, Mr. Arnold, with concerns I had after reading some negative (albeit older) reviews on tripadvisor. We discussed the details of the hotel and he noted every preference of ours. Upon check-in, we were upgraded to this wonderful suite for no extra charge. Mr. Arnold graciously had chocolate-covered strawberries sent to our suite to surprise my daughter on her birthday, but perhaps the kitchen staff should realize that there's a good chance a young child may not like this item and would probably prefer something more kid-friendly like a cupcake, etc. It was a very nice gesture, but it was lost on her.

Overall, service was generally very good, but service is the reason I did not give 5 stars overall. Evening turndown service includes complimentary carafes of water, which is greatly appreciated. The quality bath products are very generously sized. Some of the staff members provide the high level of service that is expected at a Relais & Chateaux hotel, but others perhaps need more training. When I asked if they might have a Japanese style buckwheat hull pillow, the housekeeping staff scoured the whole city trying to find me one and came up with something similar. I appreciated their effort. We would have liked to have met Mr. Arnold during our 4 night stay, but he did not introduce himself if he was there. A concierge was not always readily available, and when one was, surprisingly was not very helpful with restaurant recommendations. I expect a concierge to go beyond what I can find online or in guide books; he/she should offer a local insight, an insider's opinion, but we did not get this.

Do make it a point to spend a little time in the gorgeous and comfortable public rooms on the lobby level of the hotel. They are wonderful and cozy places to do some work, reading, relaxing after a long day, or just chatting, especially if you have any friends/business associates meet you at your hotel. Make good use of these beautiful spaces. Enjoy the unique historic amenities that The Jefferson offers. As their website says, "Areas of discovery unfold at every turn, from private nooks to original Thomas Jefferson-signed documents to a Book Room filled with leather-bound volumes on Jeffersonian-era subjects and signed editions by contemporary authors who have been among the hotel's guests." The setting of the restaurant under the original skylight just beyond the entry is such a pleasure to look at each time you return to the hotel, although we did not eat there. The room service we ordered twice was exceedingly delicious, if a bit on the slow side in arriving.

This hotel really is a special place, particularly when you consider that their rates are not much higher than many other D.C. hotels which can't touch The Jefferson for style. However, with its Jeffersonian atmosphere, this place is WORLDS away. This hotel is not generic, in the sense that it could be a nice hotel anywhere, but very rich in character and specific to Washington, D.C. If you are a lover of architecture, design, history, and/or the legacy of Thomas Jefferson, there is no better hotel for your stay in our nation's capital.

Room Tip: Call the manager before your arrival and make your preferences known. It seems like this improves y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank born2travel555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Great stay and great location. Really enjoyed our stay and we were well looked after.

Service was good and dinning very good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,230 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,319 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £228 - £535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing