We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

After spending a week in the big smoke of NYC, coming to The Jefferson DC was a complete breathe of fresh air. We were greeted with the insane heat of 38 degrees and and the friendliest staff we've come across any where in the world. Our room was incredible, two double beds - perfect for a mother and daughter on tour. Greeted with chocolate, cakes and a fruit platter on arrival and little token chockys every other day - nice little touches. Most amazing breakfasts, very extensive menu although majority were egg based, not so great for people with allergies - staff were extremely willing to chop and change food items around for me at absolutely no bother at all. Hotel is absolutely stunning in every way, very handy to all areas of DC, just a hop, skip and a jump to the white house, 20mins walk to Georgetown, The Washington Mall and the Smithsonians. If not so keen to walk then the metro station is a 5 minute walk away. I cannot stress how fantastic the staff are, everyone from the restaurant waiters to the receptionists and the concierge, make you take the time to talk to them because they are all such amazing people! Highly highly recommend the Jefferson, from 2 weeks between NYC and DC was definitely the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

I thought the hotel was lovely. I arrived and my room was not ready. I decided to look at another room, because I was anxious to swim. My room was large and the bathroom had a large shower. This is an old building that has been redone in an elegant fashion. It was 102 degrees in DC when I landed. The temperature in the room was 63 degrees. Major kudos for this. Later I noticed that the air had turned off. A call to the front desk remedied this in an instant.

If you stay at the hotel, you can swim at the University Club across the street. The pool there was empty and I had a great swim. The pool is old, but if you love to swim, it was awesome to have access to a decent pool.

I did buy a breakfast package. I did not think that the breakfast was worth the add-on to the bill. The service was slow and the food was mediocre.

Check the minibar expiration dates...most were expired.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I decided upon this hotel after reading many positive trip advisor reviews. Let me tell you, I was not disappointed. I was driving my Honda Civic and I was prepared to get a sub par reception from the doorman. However I was greeted as though I was driving a Bentley. The check in staff were courteous and efficient. Within mininutes, I was whisked away to my room. Upon opening the door, my jaw dropped. The king size bed, linens and pillows were a work of art. The smaller pillow had a portrait of the Jefferson Memorial. On the bed, I also found an envelope addressed to me. Inside was a personal invitation to the spa. Alongside this was a complimentary bag of spa products which bespoke of relaxing body treatments should I decide to indulge. The bathroom was lovely as well with a TV in the bathroom mirror. The shower is a walk in, glass enclosed marble delight. It is huge enough for 3-4 people. There was complimentary water throughout the room in beautiful glass bottles. I also enjoyed the welcome cookies that were left for me. As I looked out of the window, I could see the top of the Washington Memorial. Location, location, location!!!! The White House and National Monument are right down the street a few blocks away. I actually walked to these sites and back to the hotel. However this is not a challenge for the faint at heart. There is a lot of walking involved. After enjoying the day, the bed was a welcome sight. The pillows felt as though you were sleeping on clouds. Room service was awesome and always arrived before they said it would be ready. This is a beautiful hotel which embodies the legacy of Thomas Jefferson. Original documents by him line the walls of the lobby. I was told that the library housed books signed by famous people. I really enjoyed my stay at The Jefferson and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnicu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at the Jefferson in September 2011. As DC residents, this was a special "staycation" which turned into our proposal story. The hotel didn't miss a detail. The decor in the rooms is relaxing and elegant, the bathroom was large and the shower was a room in itself!

I made an appointment for a body scrub in the hotel's spa. At the time of our stay, the hotel's spa was "on demand" and from what I could tell not very well utilized. This made my spa experience amazing. I was the only guest at the spa and had a great treatment.

The library is a gorgeous space. The hotel staff was extremely attentive but nof overbearing. The bar in the hotel seemed rather popular. We plan to dine at the Plume for our first wedding anniversary. This hotel is far worth it's price tag. I prefer it to the Willard any day of the week!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almandines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

this is one of washington's best. relatively small, intimate and with an excellent staff. the rooms are well appointed and quiet. everything works well. you cannot rate it a great value, since it is priced accurately to reflect its quality. this is certainly a hotel to consider if cost is not important or someone else is picking up the tab.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A very warm welcome. Staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Cleanliness throughout was a feature - especially the bathrooms which were very large and very well equipped. Super restaurant where the degustation menu was stunning and the matching wines superb. Our room was extremely quiet and the bed exceedingly comfortable. A taxi was required to reach the main tourist 'attractions'

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife and I along with our two daughters just finished a 3 night stay at the Jefferson. We had a wonderful stay. We were able to get two rooms with a connecting door which is very helpful when traveling with two relatively young children. The rooms were large and well decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable. Our room service breakfasts were excellent and appeared relatively promptly.

The location was very good, only 4 blocks from the White House. The gym was was mediocre but the Hotel was able to get us access to the University Club nearby which was more than adequate. The Bar at the Hotel, the Quill, is definitely worth a visit as well.

Finally, everyone working at The Jefferson was extremely helpful and pleasant. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,337 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#44 of 141 in Washington DC
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,274 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £229 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence including the Michelin starred Plume and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing