We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #5 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Beautiful and unique boutique hotel! The Jefferson hotel has a great location. It's easy to walk to the White House, the mall, Georgetown, 14th street and DuPont Circle for restaurants and bars.
The staff at the Jefferson was very helpful and the food at the Plum and Quill restaurants delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumka555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    114
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
233
512
57
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was my second time staying at the Jefferson. The room is impeccable. Beautifully designed with lovely touches. Great, comfortable bed. Housekeeping some of the most thorough I've seen. Nice roomy bathroom. The layout of the hotel makes it intimate and homey with small rooms for gathering, eating, having a drink. Staff couldn't be nicer. Good concierge, reception, butler and doormen. I am going back next week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Terry B,

On behalf of the staff, we’d like to thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at The Jefferson. I will be sure to pass your kind words regarding the housekeeping and front office staff and we look forward to welcoming you back next week!

Sincerely,

Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here on a getaway and couldn't have been happier. The location is ideal, the rooms just the right size and perfectly maintained, the restaurant (The Plume) offered on of the finest meals of our trip, the bar was cozy with an amazing amber glass bar and a dynamite pianist...but best of all was the service. From doormen to bartenders, reception to concierge, they could not have been more accommodating and welcoming.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I wanted a special place to ask my girlfriend to marry me and The Jefferson made it a night we will always remember. The room was beautiful in a historic building. The President was having a meeting there they same night we stayed, and it came with heightened security, but the staff still made us feel first class.

Service was great, ordered champagne and room service for breakfast. It was pricey, but everything is top notch. Dinner at Plume was well worth it. Seven courses and we were treated so well.

We will definitely be back for special occasions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Kevin Z,

Congratulations on your recent engagement! On behalf of all of the staff, we wish you both all the best and are honored that you chose The Jefferson as the location for this life event. We look forward to celebrating many more milestones with you!

Sincerely,

Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
Rjenny@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Excellent service, comfortable rooms, outstanding food and fun bar scene. You just have to be able to afford it. Top address among the high hotels in DC. Very central location and you can walk to most central sites in DC.

Room Tip: Back if hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff was visible and friendly, room was very clean and comfortable. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant both days and the food was simply exquisite; would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in DC. Although for a Deluxe King bedroom I was hoping that the room would have been slightly bigger. Overall 5 star quality and service through and through. A pleasant trip indeed :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Elegant but not pretentious. Every receptionist was like a personal concierge. The rooms were done tastefully and beautifully. The bed superb. We enjoyed coming back each evening after walking to just about everything we wished to see. We will certainly use this hotel each time we visit DC.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
343 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing