We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned 5-star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Jefferson recently and had a wonderful time. We were greeted by several friendly porters, all wearing tails and sporting gold pins. They ushered us to an elegant reception area in the beautiful main lobby. There were busts of Jefferson and original documents penned by the man himself hanging on the wall. The reception area had a fantastic painting on the wall behind the desks. Overall, you really felt like you had stepped back in time when you walked through the doors. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, including one man who noticed us looking at the document display and came over to explain each piece.

The room was spotless and well-appointed, with beautiful furniture, a great bed, a fantastic bathroom (with the strongest shower I’ve ever seen in a hotel) and a flat-panel TV embedded in the bathroom mirror. We had room-service for breakfast, and the service was top-notch. It really showcased the attention to detail you can expect, from the warm and friendly person taking the order, to the table set-up in the room, and lastly to the delicious lemon ricotta pancakes…it was exactly how room service should be.

We had dinner at Plume, the main restaurant at The Jefferson. The meal was fantastic, the wine list was beyond compare, and the restaurant itself was absolutely beautiful. Once again, the staff didn’t miss a thing, and the sommelier was very helpful and enthusiastic.

Rather than trying to offer every amenity under the sun like a large resort property, the Jefferson takes a different approach and does a few things exceptionally well. This is a hotel that caters to people who want 5-star service in a quiet, elegant setting. In that regard, The Jefferson clearly hits the mark.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed seven nights several weeks ago. My lady treated me to the trip for 70th birthday. Well traveled but first visit to DC. Usually stay in best accommodations or best available but this property is the most interesting and beautiful. Love the library and dining areas. Concierges just the best. Friendly and helpful. Not always right on but close enough. Rooms smaller than we like so had to upgrade to suite. If you can afford the steep price then this is where you should stay. Oprah was staying at the property while we were there. My lady demands lots of little extras and is willing to pay. Staff was very accommodating. This is not always the case.
I highly recommend. Wish I had more free time to relax in library with Jim, the staff historian.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reluctant_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Reluctant_Critic,

Happy belated birthday! I’m happy that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our hotel historian, Jim. I was also pleased to read that you found our staff to be accommodating and friendly.

We do hope that if your travels bring you back to DC you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife, 14 y/o daughter and I just returned from four nights at The Jefferson over Thanksgiving weekend. Our experience was wonderful. The hotel staff -- and it's staffed exceedingly well (perhaps too well) -- were all thoughtful, helpful, nice and genuine. We had two adjoining rooms, both of which were large, well appointed and smart. The workout facility was small, but adequate (2 treadmills, 2 elipticals and a few free weights plus plenty of towels and bottled water.

The food was excellent -- not only in Plume (the lovely dining room) but also in the bar. The library was a wonderful place to relax and read in front of the fire. And there were also two other smaller escape/sitting rooms on the ground floor that were comfortably and (again) smartly appointed.

Normally, we would stay at the Hay Adams (we enjoyed a lovely Thanksgiving meal there) but going forward, we will return to The Jefferson. And we can't wait to go back!

While we went with our daughter, my wife and I will definitely be back <<sans enfant>> for an adult holiday, too.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 16th Street side and was very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srlanglois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear srlanglois,

Thank you for choosing to spend your Thanksgiving holiday at The Jefferson. I am happy to hear that you and your family had a pleasant stay and were able to take advantage of our fitness facility, the book room and our dining outlets.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back!

Sincerely,

Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The Jefferson is an excellent boutique hotel, all areas are well designed,
stylish and excellently maintained. All the hotel staff (reception, bar, restaurant, and chambermaids) were delightful, thoughtful, always ahead of the game and very welcoming. This was a first visit to Washington and both the Concierges were very knowledgeable, helpful and keen to know how what we thought. Our room on 7th floor was luxurious the bathroom superb
and all kept immaculately - no doubt some rooms will be better than others but a little research with the hotel staff will help meet personal requirements. The food in the restaurant and at breakfast exceeds expectations and the wine list excellent and extensive with a wide range. We intend to visit Washington again, so much more to do, and it will be the Jefferson the hotel is a treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hermes767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear hermes767,

We are thrilled that your first trip to Washington, DC and The Jefferson was a successful one. I will be sure to pass along your kind words about our staff and the level of service that you received throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back both to the hotel and to our nation’s capital!

Sincerely,
Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Small Boutique hotel in DC. You can check (and believe) their website pictures. Nicely sized luxurious rooms and bathrooms. The room that I was in was not as large as that of the Mandarin in DC, but much nicer bathroom. Attentive staff at the front desk, concierge, bell men and room service. Food served (room service) is ok, not great but ok, albeit expensive. This is my best hotel stay so far in DC ( vs Park hyatt DC and Mandarin DC) and I highly recommend it. Good location too.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Voyageur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Voyageur H,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience at The Jefferson. Glad to hear that you experienced attentive service from our staff and that you found our location to suit your needs. I was disappointed to read that our room service menu did not meet your expectations as we strive to ensure that each guest has a memorable visit in every aspect of their stay.

I do hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Jefferson can't be beat for its prime location in the heart of DC, where we travelled to tour the cherry blossom blooms. The rooms are exquisite if pricy, and the room service is well above par, both in speed and quality. We enjoyed one of the most sumptuous and exotic gourmet meals in our entire lives on location at the hotel, not to mention that the breakfasts are wonderful, too. It should be noted that the hotel only has valet parking; a very important point to consider for those traveling with anything but a normal sized car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the best ever. The service, kindness and rooms make it amazing. Try to get a Delux room for the space and plushness. We were afraid it may be too upscale for our little one, but the made is feel right at home and super welcome. The interesting nooks and crannies like the library and the private reading rooms are awesome, so is the quill bar. The atmosphere felt like being I the 1920s! We didn't get the opportunity to eat at plume, if the breakfast was awesome and look forward to in the future. The jefferson is our staple for dc ( it's location is unbelievable) and look forward to returning.

Ps. Pay attention to the great details in the lobby and the rest of the hotel. Such great history and ambiance!!

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Bobbyleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Bobbyleggs,

On behalf of the staff at The Jefferson, we’d like to thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that you were able to enjoy both the Book Room and Quill and that our breakfast in the Greenhouse met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,339 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
496 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,393 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £228 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence including the Michelin starred Plume and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing