We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #5 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

From the very first moment of driving up to the front door to the time the car was loaded with our luggage, it was an absolute wonderful experience. The staff, room, food and service was a five star experience. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    114
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
232
512
57
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

From the moment you arrive to the moment that you depart, every personal contact and every detail of our stay was superb. The depth of attention and thought needed to make the guest experience an extraordinary one has rarely been experienced by us at other five star hotels. To add to the delightful experience dine at Plume which well deserves it's critical acclaim.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear alsal,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at The Jefferson. I’m glad that you had the opportunity to dine in Plume and that both our guest rooms and your dining experience exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I've been running events at the Jefferson for several years now but this was my first overnight stay. I was happy to find that the same level of comfort, elegance and efficiency was the standard for lodging.
There seemed to be an issue with my thermostat however and although it read as if the heat was working- it was not. It kept blowing air conditioning all night. In all fairness I must say that I did not being this to their attention. I had settled in and was not looking forward to the prospect of having to change rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52USTravelerinEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meredith g, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear 52USTravelerinEU,

I am so glad that after running events at The Jefferson, you finally had the chance to spend the night with us. I was happy to read that your enjoyed your stay but wish that you had informed us of the issue that you had with your HVAC. Please know that our engineering staff would have exhausted all avenues before a room change was recommended.

On behalf of the staff, thank you for your continued support of The Jefferson and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was my first stay at The Jefferson and it completely lived up to its reputation. The hotel is beautiful and welcoming. The staff is incredible, our room was lovely, the bar is cozy, and the little reading room off the lobby is a delight. We had a deluxe room, which I thought was worth the extra price for the additional space.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

After my last stay, I can absolutely say, when in DC, The Jefferson will be our go to the hotel .
The rooms are meticulously clean and the bed extremely comfortable and luxurious. The hotel staff
was friendly and helpful. The weekend bar scene was energetic without being overly loud and the food at the bar was delicious. If offered an upgrade to a suite, I would suggest for the additional fee, it is truly worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis, md
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Jefferson Hotel is a phenomenal property with outstanding staff. I've stayed many times and enjoyed it thoroughly. However, the last two visits have had serious water issues. On my stay last week there was no hot water at 7am. I was on a work trip and many of my colleagues experienced the same issue. On a previous trip, the hotel was doing work and shut down the water during the evening and we were asked to leave the lounge early due to lack of water. Bottom line- amazing hotel, but after my last two trips, I'm going to call ahead to make sure they are not having water issues.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annapolisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear annapolisg,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your last few stays with us. While I was pleased to read that many of your visits have been enjoyable, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the water issues that you encountered on your last two stays. I can assure you that our engineering department is actively working on the situation to rectify it and ensure that it does not happen again. I would enjoy the opportunity to speak with you further about this matter and encourage you to email me, dbueno@jeffersondc.com or to call me, 202.448.2300.

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I went to DC with my kids to visit colleges. I go to DC often for business and almost always stay at the W, as it's close to the White House. Never again. This was hotel was luxury and comfort and simply magnificent.

To start, the service is impeccable. I've stayed at many high end hotels and this was by far on the high end of excellent. The staff was superb, the room elegant and the food at the restaurant met my critical foodie expectations.

As an avid cigar smoker, I was delighted to see a humidor sitting outside the bar area. When I can get a 1964 anniversary series Padron, and escorted to a lovely porch to smoke it, with a great cocktail? I'm in heaven. The hotel is non-smoking- which I prefer, too. But to be able to have that perk? Nice.

I will never stay anywhere else in DC. And I'm sincerely hoping my son picks a DC area college so I have even more reason to go.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear sgwhitman,

We hope your son picks a DC school, too! I’m so happy to hear that you were able to utilize the outdoor patio in Quill and that your overall experience at The Jefferson was a positive one.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Washington, DC!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
341 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing