We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, Slightly cold service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #5 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, Slightly cold service”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel while attending a conference in DC. The hotel is beautiful and historic (loved the original Jefferson and Adams documents on the wall) and in a great location. The front desk and concierge staff were extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. The Quill Bar was fantastic as were the cocktails. The only downside to our stay (besides the Spa being all booked up even though we called one week ahead of time) was the relative coldness of the waitstaff . The dining staff (not the bar) never loosened up. It was a brusque and cold service. It took the edge off. After getting used to the good morning/may i help you service of the other staff it was a little off-putting. There was a marked difference in the warmth of the dining staff vs the rest of the hotel. I don't want to be too negative because they were efficient, but it was brusque and cold and not warm and friendly. Despite this we enjoyed our stay and will return but with adjusted expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravel4_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear familytravel4_1,

Thank you for taking time to post about your recent stay and your kind words about our front office staff. I’m sorry that the Petite Spa was unable to accommodate an appointment during your stay; because we are a smaller spa, our appointments tend to book up. I’d like to apologize for the service issues you encountered with our dining staff. I can assure you that this is not our standard and I will be sure to follow up on this with our Food & Beverage Manager.

I do hope that we have a chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    114
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
232
512
57
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Jefferson while visiting Washington, DC. Our stay was exceptional - the staff are very helpful in assisting with making reservations and making sure your stay is comfortable.

Our room (412) was beautiful and we loved having the extra room that a suite provides. The bathroom spacious - enough for two people to share at the same time.

We ate at The Quill - great service and excellent meal.

We will definitely be returning to The Jefferson!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Minusio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Great & friendly service - in the evening. Top class wine list @ Plume. The breakfast room lags behind. Lots of conversations amongst the servers & little attention to patrons. Mended holes in the bedsheets don't really match the 5 star status, and neither does an antediluvian air con system which is appallingly noisy

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Jessica M,

On behalf of the staff, I’d like to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I’m pleased that you had an opportunity to dine in Plume and hope that your meal was as enjoyable as the wine list. I will be sure to follow up with our housekeeping staff regarding your comment about our sheets as this is clearly not our standard. I will also be following up with our Engineering team regarding the noise levels of our HVAC unit.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here several times since last summer. Every time the staff has been warm, quite helpful, and totally service-oriented. The hotel has three public rooms - two beautiful, small spaces & a lovely fireplaced library to relax in. Each was available every time we passed by & we read in the library twice. The breakfast offers large portions, lunch at the bar is delicious, & I've used room service often enough to say it's equally consistently good. Each trip was for business - I've used their car service a few times - always dependable & courteous drivers. It's in a great location. The Jefferson is expensive but well worth it if you want high quality service, staff, and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear MimiMcF,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stays at The Jefferson. It sounds like you have had the chance to utilize many of our added amenities for guests including our Book Room and our complimentary car service.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 1-week stay at the Jefferson and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Washington DC. From the moment we arrived to our departure, we were treated like royalty. The staff were delightful and the room was absolutely fantastic. Everything was well thought out for the comfort of guests which we really appreciated. The hotel is located down the road from the White House which we thought was pretty awesome. Oh and there is a TV in the bathroom mirror!! This is definitely the best accommodation I've ever stayed at and I hope we can return soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Turb0T0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We chose this hotel because it had the most positive reviews and we wanted a romantic getaway. Considering the price I thought it would be extravagant. The site advertises that they have "many nooks and crannies" to explore, but in reality there is not much to see except for a "Reading/Book Room" which was reserved for private guests the entire time I was there and a bar.

We room had 3 windows, but the views were all blocked by utility cabinets and AC systems on the roof of a neighboring building.

This hotel claims to have comfy beds, but our bed had a very deep indentation on one side that felt like a hippopotamus had spent a few nights there before us. It was also disconcerting that the fire alarm lights in the room kept turning on and off during the night.

A mediocre breakfast cost us over $50!

I have stayed in better places for half of what I paid here. Despite all of these shortcomings, the location was great and the staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you specifically ask for a room with a view, if that's something you value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Lia K,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you were pleased with both our staff and the location of the hotel, but was disappointed to read that you did not get a chance to utilize our Book Room or our smaller cabinet rooms. Due to the popularity of our Book Room, it is, at times rented out for private events.

I would also like to apologize for the lighting issue that you had in your room. We are looking into this with our engineering department to ensure that it does not happen again. With regards to your mattress, we are currently planning to make improvements to our guest rooms and I will be sure to look into all of the mattresses to evaluate their condition throughout the hotel.

I do hope that should you find yourself in Washington, DC again you will give us another chance.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel couldn't be in a better location as it is 5-10 mins from the White House and the national mall. The room although relatively small was great and the staff were very helpful and extremely friendly. The only compliant I would have is that the breakfast was good but overpriced and the staff in the greenhouse restaurant were not great or very knowledgeable about food. Would recommend the hotel but would suggest you skip the breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank GGXO
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,274 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,865 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing