We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #5 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Jefferson to celebrate my wife's birthday and Mothers Day. While the overall experience was very nice, there were some detail and execution lacking from a true 5-star experience.

First the positives:
From the initial greeting at the door until we left, the staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. The lobby and restaurant are very elegant and our suite was beautifully appointed. We did experience an issue with our air conditioning system that was fixed while we were at dinner.

How it could have been better:
The Jefferson sent a pre-check in questionnaire. Not only does this allow the hotel to individualize the experience, but also sets an expectation for the arriving guest. The expectations set by the questionnaire along with previous experience in similar Preferred Hotels highlighted some of the service disconnects.

As first time guests, I read online how the hotel caters to children with kids sized bath robes, milk & cookies, games, etc. I was expecting as much when the pre-check-in email asked about our daughters age, name, etc. Other than a small (very much appreciated) stuffed animal offered at check-in, there was nothing else age appropriate.

Another disappointing aspect was the suite itself. The room was nice, but small and overlooked the back alleyway. We were pleased until we visited the suite of our friends that we were dining with. On the same floor, same category, but much larger, brighter, and a spectacular view.

Lastly, the hotel wanted to know if we were celebrating any special occasions. I indicated that in addition to Mothers Day, we were also celebrating my wife's birthday. The staff did wish my wife and our friend a Happy Mothers Day, but there was nothing else to acknowledge the day/s. Having stayed at similar luxury properties, I was surprised that not more was done for the mothers especially as we had both dinner and brunch in the hotel restaurant.

As a footnote, I enrolled in the iPrefer loyalty program prior to booking and booked the suite on the hotel website using my iPrefer account. Today I received an email survey asking about how I liked the iPrefer amenities as part of my stay...

This hotel is set up to be a premier luxury property in Washington, however in my opinion the execution of details of each guests' stay is lacking. To me and my family, the true test is when we return to an area, would we choose the same hotel. In this case, we would try something different.

Room Tip: Specify the view, otherwise you may be looking into the alley behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trey703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    112
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
224
500
58
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

While the reviews were excellent, I was still overwhelmed by the attention to detail, the friendliness and the caring of the staff. With its great location and complete offerings from spa to excellent restaurant as well as a house historian, the Jefferson satisfies all your needs and more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Everything was outstanding....checking in, the concierge, the restaurant, the bar, the doorman and the private car and driver. The room was excellent with every attention to detail. I would definitely recommend The Jefferson Hotel and would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and i stayed there last week for 5 days;from the time we arrived we felt the friendliness and attentiveness you expect from a 5 star hotel,you can also feel the history of Washington as you walk in.Room service was prompt and the food was good. Weather on the phone or in person all staff members were professional and friendly at all times, they all made our stay very pleasant.Location was great, close to most historic places.The restaurants at the hotel offer outstanding customer service make you feel great ,wonderful decor and table setting.They also offer private tour guides which i recommend ,very knowledgeable and courteous. Overall, thank you guys for a wonderful and pleasant hotel stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbano507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Urbano507,

You are very welcome! Sounds like your stay at The Jefferson was a memorable one, which is what we like to hear! I’m glad you were able to take advantage of all of our dining outlets and our in house historian.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
Dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The location, facilities and staff are simply wonderful. The common areas are full of charm (including a fun library and a terrific lounge and outdoor patio). The room was terrific. The service and attitude of the staff were excellent. I would stay at The Jefferson anytime I am back to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jneus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A high quality facility, with excellent staff and rapport, always trying to fully oblige request/s.
A good location/district for business but a little bit of a walk to the major monuments.
The rooms, bedding and bathrooms are much better than most but also above average prices.
The menus were surprisingly limited for a hotel of this std. No in room tea/coffee facilities though they were quick to supply an urn & tea bags on request, but without cups or sugar. Breakfast was predominantly hot only with 1x yogurt and 1x cereal choice. In room dining was also limited to simple fare and the same as the bar menu.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EndodocAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear EndodocAu,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to read that you found our staff to be warm and welcoming and that they were able to assist you with your needs while on property. I do apologize that cups were not delivered with your tea and I will be sure to bring this to the attention of our food and beverage manager.

I do hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very good location, highly educated staff. Once, we were going to the restaurant and wanted to call taxi but staff offered the hotel's car which was free as i understood (cadillac don't-know-the-model) to have a ride. We were at breakfast once and it was wonderful. Everything was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egor Ch C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing