We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

So good to return to the Jefferson.
From the greeting at the entrance, to the congenial check in, to the world class room services,
wonderful kitchen, private car services, personal greetings from all of the staff, to a flawless
check out - what a dream!
My wife left a binder in the room, and a quick phone call had the package shipped home before our arrival!
The team is superior in all respects.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Jim1947,

So good to have you back! Thank you for your kind words about The Jefferson. I’m so pleased to read that you and your wife experienced great service from our staff and that we were able to reunite you with the items left in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Jefferson and could not have been happier with out choice of hotel. We have stayed in a number of DC hotels over the years, including the Willard, and the Jefferson surpasses all in warmth, elegance, comfort, and service. The room (a double queen) was simply lovely, spacious, and spotless. The concierges were top notch and went beyond what we anticipated in helping us arrange our days. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch and breakfast in their courtyard restaurant, as well as a very generous room service dessert late one evening. We also tucked into the hotel's library to read and meet other guests. What a memorable weekend-in all the good ways. Finally, while the entire staff was superb, Ana at the front desk was particularly helpful. This hotel receives my utmost recommendation; my husband and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It just does not get any nicer than this. We spent the night here for our 16th wedding anniversary and it was exceptional from start to finish. We had a couples massage, an extraordinary room with beautiful appointments, and room service in the morning that included lobster eggs Benedict that was the perfect finish to the weekend.

Room Tip: Choose the upgrade to the suite with a private bathtub built for 2. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwbryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear jwbryson,

Happy anniversary! I’m so glad that you were able to celebrate this special occasion at The Jefferson and that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I travel often to the DC area, at least once per year, and can now say without reservation that the Jefferson may be my new favorite area hotel!

The location is just about perfect. It is just a short walk away from Dupont Circle, the White House, and the National Mall (you can even see the White House from the sidewalk in front of the hotel). The hotel itself is ornate yet curiously understated; a delicate blend of old school luxury and modern amenity without being overly ostentatious. The food was superb and the room was splendid; I'll even admit a child-like reaction to the television embedded into the bathroom mirror (allowing me to watch my morning news while getting ready for the day). Even various little things were evident and added a cherry atop this dessert of a hotel: soft classical music was playing on the radio when I entered the room, there was a personalized note on the executive desk welcoming me to the hotel, and more!

But ultimately the real selling point at the Jefferson is the staff. This crew may be the single most attentive and courteous bunch I've ever enjoyed. They were inquisitive without being agitating, extremely helpful, and always professional.

I will definitely stay at the Jefferson again and will heartily recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryanHealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Bryan H,

Such kind words for The Jefferson, thank you! I’m so pleased that you found our location to be convenient and that you enjoyed our in-mirror televisions in the bathroom and that you found our staff to be attentive and courteous.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel reminds one of quaint luxury hotels in London. The building is 19th century; the decor is 19th century. The hotel does not have a large lobby, but the public rooms are well appointed. There's a gorgeous library with antique books lining the walls and leather armchairs. There' a nice bar, as well.

The rooms are beautifully appointed. Our room was on the small side.

The location is quite good. A 10 minute walk to the White House and the Mall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhirlwindTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

From the moment we arrived, I was sure they staff had confused us for some VIP guests as the service was absolutely spectacular! They anticipated every need we could want, and truly made us feel like royalty. The room was amazing with views of the Washington Monument. The suite was absolutely phenomenal and I was considering declaring squatters rights so we didn't have to leave! I highly recommend the french toast for breakfast, and lunch was also delicious. From here on out, this is the hotel I will measure all other hotels to!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorMommyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

All the staff are very attentive with most of needs. Yet, you still need to answer their question about your needs. " Let me know if we could make your stay any better" said's the The Jefferson Hotel employee. I stayed for two nights in a delux king room. Then, I stayed in a king delux suite for five nights. And, let me say, it was magnificent five nights, with the relaxing two quiet nights in the king delux room. Oh yes, be ware of the yet, elegant tubs but, dangerously slippery tubs. I slipped in one of tubs the second night there. I alerted the front desk, while they sent a doctor to my room the following morning. They also put a tub mat which always, came loose in the tub. Any suggestions on the loose mat?

Room Tip: Room in the north were quiet. The rooms in the corner facing east (front of hotel) are large with su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
429 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,319 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 142 in Washington DC
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £229 - £539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing