We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #4 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just spent 3 fabulous nights at the Jefferson. The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating, but what makes the hotel so special are the absolutely charming and gracious rooms. We stayed in a suite with a beautiful foyer, sitting room, bedroom and spacious bathroom. The attention to detail is so pervasive. You feel like you are staying in the loveliest of residences. We just can't say enough positive things about this hotel. We've stayed at other five star D.C. hotels like the Four Seasons, Ritz, Mandarin and St. Regis (see my review for this awful property in desperate need of renovations), and the Jefferson tops them all!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Marc N,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at The Jefferson, DC. I was pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and accommodating and that your room accommodations exceeded your expectations.
We’d love to welcome you back anytime!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    107
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
219
488
59
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

One of the nicest hotels I have every stayed at. The height of luxury. Great comfy beds, quiet room, wonderful staff, beautiful common areas. Well located. The pool was not on site, but not a problem. Would absolutely return. Great amenities. Great bath products, generously sized.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deedela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Jefferson is by far our favorite hotel in Washington, D.C.--and we have stayed in all kinds throughout the city and its suburbs. The staff of The Jefferson are the most charming, helpful, and discreet. The location is incredibly convenient and picturesque. This past weekend our room was quiet with comfortable sheets and a delightful view of the Washington Monument and the National Geographic building. The decor is the most enjoyable. The prints, artifacts, and sculptures were chosen thoughtfully and with a light, amusing touch. We have had several terrific meals at the restaurant, and we have stayed up late at the piano bar. The fascinating library is worth an evening's exploration. Oh, and we are addicted to the breakfast muffins. In sum, we cannot recommend The Jefferson highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Thomas L,

Sounds like you had a great stay at The Jefferson! I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s décor and that you were able to explore the book room as well as hear Peter, our piano player at Quill!
We hope you’ll come back and enjoy some more muffins soon!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our second long weekend stay at The Jefferson. We love this property! From the doormen, to the front desk staff, to the concierge, to housekeeping, to restaurant and bar staff --EVERYONE makes you feel like royalty. The accommodations are as good as any in DC. The small, boutique atmosphere provides quiet and privacy. Its location is excellent no matter where you are heading in DC. The in-town free car service -- when available -- is an added perk. Wonderfull value for the price if you want luxury accomodations and hospitality to boot! We will return every time we are in DC.

Room Tip: The 1 BR suit provides a great visiting area when our adult kids drop by in between outings with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dps001122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

In a former life (as a staff member) I brought sitting President's and Hollywood elite's to this property some 20-30 year's ago. When they required intimate dining and the most professional care, The Jefferson, was one of two, 'go-to' destination's in DC.

This past winter I was guest of a friend and I throughly enjoyed myself. The in-room dining was a true stand-out and this was following three weeks in Zurich and Paris!

For the ULTIMATE hotel experience while here, The Jefferson, is the destination.

Room Tip: Stay off of 16 th Street (Noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was large and clean and well decorated. All of the room controls (climate, lighting and shades/drapes) worked perfectly and the bathroom was INCREDIBLE - and again very clean - you can tell they have a very thorough housekeeping department - not one thing wrong with my room. The hotel has a great staff and they were always asking if I needed anything or needed a question answered - a special nod to Vivian at the front desk who took care of myself and my colleague's every whim. I will never stay anywhere else when I travel to DC - I wish they had a Jefferson Hotel in every city.

The hotel is within walking distance to the White House and all the sights.

Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making this one of the most pleasurable hotel stays.

Room Tip: Looked to me that all the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Brenda A,

You are most welcome! I’m thrilled to read that you and your colleague had such a wonderful stay and that our staff was accommodating to your needs. We hope that you’ll visit us again the next time you are in DC!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights this week and had a wonderful stay. The property and location are excellent, the staff are amazing, so helpful, pleasant and attentive. If I could I would give service 6 stars.

Room Tip: Next time I stay I will request a room not facing 16th Street. While the street noise was not bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerwoods1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing