We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The Jefferson is a lovely historic hotel. The rooms are very nice with huge bathrooms. The hotel staff was top rate,very helpful in giving you tips about where to go and what to see. It was our first visit to DC so we had no idea where to go,but the concierge gave great recommendations for dinners in the area. The bellmen were very attentive, they even had a house car that took us to the White House the morning of our tour. Everything was first rate at this hotel. Loved the experience and can't wait to have the opportunity to go back and visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the higher floor which was very quiet and away from a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyV1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear VickyV1211,

I am so glad that you chose to stay at The Jefferson on your first trip to Washington, DC! I was pleased to read that our concierge staff was able to provide you with recommendations for dinner and that you had the opportunity to use our complimentary house car when sightseeing.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

You can't go wrong with this place. Wonderful rooms and all service staff were great. Extremely clean & restaurant has some amazing food at reasonable prices. The rooms are expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katerina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My wife and I recently completed a two night stay at this nice boutique hotel. The service was friendly and our upgraded room was very nice. The restaurant was closed for dinner so you had to take food service in the bar after breakfast. The bar was very dark and my martini arrived with the glass only about 70% full. They need to either mix a larger drink or get smaller martini glasses as it appears they at are shorting their customers at a hefty price. But a nice hotel with friendly staff and excellent rooms certainly worthwhile. Breakfast good and food taken in the bar was good when I could see what I was eating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlfraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear jlfraley,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found our service to be friendly and that you enjoyed your room upgrade. I will be sure to follow up with our bar staff regarding your martini to ensure that this doesn’t happen again.

I do hope that you will stay with us again should you find yourself in our nation's capital.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My young daughter and I stayed at The Jefferson for a two night "before school" getaway. The hotel is small, but mighty. It is beautifully decorated and very elegant yet cozy. It was immaculate at all times of the day (an amazing feat considering we saw no cleaning staff). The food is superb. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but beds and baths are very rich and luxurious. Lots of personal touches, from the handwritten welcome note to the turn down with robes, soft lighting and classical music. The staff made us feel like we were the most important guests on site. Truly a special place. We will definitely be back, but I am afraid my 11 year old will not be satisfied with another chain hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njromer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear njromer,

Sounds like your daughter has great taste in hotels! I’m so pleased you both had a pleasant stay with us and that our staff made you feel right at home.

We hope to welcome you and your daughter back again soon.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Among the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere: great rooms, outstanding service, nice bar and restaurant. I have stayed here several times for business but would also consider staying for a personal trip.

Room Tip: Every room I have stayed in is at least very nice. Some of the suites are extraordinary: spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PDMATH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear PDMATH01,

I hope you have the chance to stay here for a leisure trip sometime soon! We look forward to welcoming you back and appreciate your kind words about the hotel including our service and food and beverage offerings.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came back to the Jefferson for our second time. The rooms are beautiful with a large bathroom with a soaking tub and separate shower. The service is top notch. There are so many people here to respond for such a small property. Also, a great location to walk to do many different areas.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NG1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The most impressive aspect was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The hotel was spotlessly clean and so comfortable. A wonderful oasis to return to after touring all day. I would not look for another hotel in Washington.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Roy A,

I’m so pleased that you chose to stay at The Jefferson during your visit to Washington, DC. I will be sure to pass along your kind words about the friendliness of our staff!
Should you find yourself in the states again, we hope to welcome you back to The Jefferson!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,349 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,293 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
524 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,430 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £255 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence including the Michelin starred Plume and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing