We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class DC Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Etters, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“First Class DC Property”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Superior experience. Well appointed room, with very nice amenities and servibar that was not your typical offerings. Food was surprisingly good. Convenient location, wakable to much of DC. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I was tucked back at the end of the hall and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    701
    239
    93
    62
See reviews for
533
543
78
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My family and I visited DC recently and stayed at the Madison for a few nights. It was an outstanding experience from the moment we drove into the parking garage. The staff, from the garage attendees, to the front desk clerks, to the restaurant employees, to the housekeepers was extraordinarily friendly and all greeted us as if we were old friends. The weather during our stay was slightly better than miserable so we spent a good deal of time in the Hotel. The recent renovations were complete and the results were impeccable; every detail was considered. The rooms were beautiful and the décor absolutely perfect. The linens were crisp, pillows puffy, and towels aplenty. We met some friends for drinks one evening in the Madison’s Lobby Bar and enjoyed a unique selection of refreshing drinks. Breakfast at the café-style restaurant, Post Script, offers an eclectic menu to satisfy most appetites…and at a very reasonable price. The only downside of our visit to the Madison is that it has definitely has ‘raised the bar‘ for our teenage children’s expectations of what it means to stay in a hotel. And did I mention the location is ideal for all there is to see and do in DC?

Room Tip: PH-5 Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel is awesome.My husband and I stayed the weekend and hated leaving. The attention to detail from the minute you are greeted at your car to the turn down service at night is amazing. The rooms are incredibly clean and extremely comfortable. The food at the Federal was outstanding as was our breakfast in dining room. The hotel is located centrally to many of the monuments and museums. This is truly a first class hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights - good, price, nicely decorated and in a very convenient location for exploring Washington. Renovations appeared to be over - we were on the 8th floor, didn't see or hear anything, but guess there could be renovations on other floors. Plenty of towels, nice, comfortable bed etc. Only downside was that we were near the elevators and could hear the gentle "bing, bing" of the bell and people coming back after a night out. Otherwise, couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutonlassontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I went to DC on business and was referred the Madison Hotel. I am happy to say that it lived up to every expectation I had. The decor was first class, top of the notch. Not a penny was spared during this renovation. The staff provided excellent service at every turn. The room was gorgeous and the beds and pillows were the best I have ever laid on! I had breakfast the following morning, and it was brought to the table hot and delicious! I was amazed by the value - it was worth every penny we spent! We will never entertain the idea of staying at another hotel in the DC or surrounding areas!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is great, excellent room but when it comes to room service there is a different story.
When I arrived in the room we were surprised by our meeting host with several presents like a bottle of white wine, Italian cheese etc. Some how to keep this cool? Put it in the fridge... problem fridge was locked. Called reception desk, soeomen would come with a key. 24 hours later nobody. So called again because I was in need for fresh refreshments for the night. Reception desk said: "you have to take them out of the fridge".. Without a key not possible, on top the fridge was empty. So room service arrived at the moment I was leaving knocking at the room next to mine. Finally for a couple of bottles of water had to sign off for 54 USD! Then wanted to drink some water and saw the glasses were filthy, they were changed after going to the reception desk. The first day the room was no tidied before 5 pm.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is a good choice when selecting a Washington, D. C., hotel. The property, itself, is excellent and its location is convenient.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,608 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
893 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing