We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable, convenient and a great consierge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Red Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable, convenient and a great consierge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We spent three nights at this wonderful hotel. Price was extemely fair (book through hotels.com). Bed was super, as were all the amenities. Tony the consierge, couldn't do enough to help us get around and make reservations for us. We took a night monument tour and I highly recommend it. Took a White House tour which I booked through my congressman. Visited the National Zoo and the Capitol. Highly recommend this establishment!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    681
    232
    91
    59
See reviews for
518
533
77
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and were very happy with the hotel. It had a great atmosphere with a boutique hotel feel and spacious rooms. The best was the location. We walked everywhere!! The white house, mall, Dupont circle, capital and u-street. Free wi-fi was good and always a plus. Also many restaurants and coffee places close by.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
We're glad to hear you enjoyed the location and atmosphere of the hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have just returned from a week's stay at the hotel and found it to be a very comfortable stay. The room has 2 queen size beds and quite spacious. I was initially given a room on the 5th floor but could not access the free wi-fi. The hotel moved me up to the 14 th floor where i had no problems with access. There is wi-fi at the lobby too. There are 2 issues I had with the room. The very small cupboard for clothes, the height of the metal bar was not enough to hang my pants and there is limited space. The ironing board was kept within the cupboard as well. There is also an issue with the bathroom. There was no bath tub for this room,which was not an issue for me. The gradient of the shower area was too gentle and there was no ledge to stop the water from flowing to the vanity basin. So each time, the bath mats would be soaked. There is a coffee machine which serves a local brew, i cannot remember the name but the coffee shop is right across from the hotel and the coffee in the room is pretty good.

The location is good, less than 10 mins walk to the subway on 15th street and I street. The White House is also about 10 mins walk away. Pentagon City , a huge mall is about 15 mins ride away on the blue line and costs USD2.40 each way. If you take a cab, it's about USD12 each way. Taxi ride to the convention centre costs USD7. Supper shuttle ride from Dulles Airport was USD30 while the taxi ride back to the airport was USD 80.

Behind the hotel is 14th street and N (diagonally across from Washington Hotel), there is a row of restaurants, one of which was the Thai Tinic. Yes, it's a thai restaurant. Food is not authentic Thai as the spice level is much lower but still not too bad. The Federal Restaurant /Postcript within the hotel are not too bad and are good if you really dont want to walk further.

I would recommend this hotel for business and vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lspsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoran Desert, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed at the Madison for 4 nights. Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff was always helpful & friendly. The hotel is ideally located just a few blocks from the White House. Most major landwarks are either a walking or short driving distance away. The hotel has a small, but serviceable gem complete with shower, bathroom, etc. The gym is open 24 hours. The facilities are clean and well decorated. Free Wi-Fi is available as well. There is a restaurant and bar in the lobby. We did not try the restaurant but the bar was great. I do feel like the hotel is a bit overpriced but DC is an expensive place to live/stay. Overall, a very nice hotel. I would stay there again. The location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medcat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here largely because there wasn't a lot else on offer at the time. Personally I think it's over priced (I paid c$200 a
Night ) but you can't fault it and that's it gets 5 stars. Location is as good as you will get, walking distance to all major touristy stuff (unless you are a bit American and a bit lazy). Bar and restaurant were a bit 'stuffy' for me, I didn't find it particularly relaxing in either but nice enough food and service head down the road for a nice bar/pub to chat to the Washington post wannabe journos.. Room service was great and rooms were everything you need. Advice: this the location and of you're happy to pay the rate go for it. Otherwise try other hotels nearby

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Briggs2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Graduation weekend--we paid for and reserved our rooms in February ., arrive at hotel and are told they don't have our room because they are overbooked and they will put us at the residence inn!!! Are you kidding me? What does reservation mean? I will never book this place or parent company again. They are idiots!

Room Tip: Your reservation means nothing so book a second hotel
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
We apologize for this inconvenience and greatly value your feedback. We would like the opportunity to discuss your experience further and make it up to you. I will be reaching out to you personally with my direct contact information shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel was beautifullly presented, nice atmsphere. Room was a a bit cramped for 2 adults and 2 children, the bathroom was small. The beds were nice and it was made up each day. The house keeping had to be reminded to leave tea & coffee and we had to request shampoos. We ate in the resturant, which was nice, however and they had a kids menu which was fine. We did feel it did not have a lot of choices. Staff were very friendly. Unfortunately the bell boys get upset if you do not tip them over $10, which for a family is just stupid, obviously we are going to have more bags. When we tipped the bell boy, he refused to put our bags into the cab, the guy on the front door had to chat to him about it all very unsavoury!!

Room Tip: 2 Double beds not really large enough for 2 adults and 2 kids, otherwise very pleasant, we were faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#93 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing