We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for the business traveler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #76 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the business traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I had to travel to DC for business at short notice and my admin assistant booked this hotel as it was the best priced and close to where my meeting was to be held. I was not sure what to expect as I'm more used to using national hotel chains, but was pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent, the room very clean, the staff very friendly and check-in/check-out was quick and efficient. They even upgraded me to a suite for the same price without any request on my part. So, my review of the room is based on a suite.
The suite was clean and comfortable with a king size bed with a very comfortable matress. It appeared that the hotel was renovated not too long ago as the suite had a new look to it. The bedroom was spacious with a desk and sitting chair. The bathroom was very spacious as well and had a very nice and comfortable shower as well as two sinks. All amenities needed were present including a scale. The living room and dining area was separated from the bedroom by a door. There was a nice couch and table for 4 which made working in the room very convenient and allowed our team to meet.
A definite plus was the free wifi. Finally a hotel that caters to the business traveler. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and breakfast in the breakfast room. Both were good and reasonably priced for DC. The only negative was the parking. It was rather high in price according to some of my fellow travelers and they were somewhat slow to retrieve the car upon our departure. The tax ride from National Airport to the hotel was only $13, including tip.
Overall, I was very satisfied with my stay at this hotel and will definitely put this hotel on my list of preferred hotels for DC.

Room Tip: The suites are definitely more spacious than the rooms. If possible get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    681
    232
    91
    59
See reviews for
518
533
77
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We recently stayed there for 3 nights on a family trip. The rooms were small but comfortable. We had a room with two queen beds and there was just enough room left over for us to walk around. The bathroom was also small but well appointed. The chairs in the room were leather, which was a nice touch. The service we received was generally good and friendly. Parking was expensive but on par with the other hotels in the city. They had a nice restaurant and we had a great breakfast every morning that was included in our package. We were happy with out experience and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KML3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I had a reservation. The madison hotel purposely gave away my room and did not compensate me. sent me to the university club. The club was pleasant but my point is simply what hotel does this to their guests? Shame on you Madison for treating your guests so badly and for not caring. I cannot recommend this hotel to you after my experience.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank worldlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed at the Madison for 3 nights for a conference. It's not where I usually stay when I'm in DC but I was pleasantly surprised. It's a big business hotel which usually means that it's sprawling and impersonal but the Madison was especially welcoming with a nice lobby, busy bar and comfortable rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful in suggesting local restaurants and providing directions. I had breakfast at the hotel and the food was good but the service was a bit bumpy. The conference facialities were not the most modern/refreshed but served the purpose just fine. My room rate was a negotatied rate for the conference and was especially reasonable given the location and level of service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the street as there is a lot construction in the area (that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this lovely small boutique hotel. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to most must see sights or a short walk to the metro station. Wonderful time in DC overall!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
We are glad to hear that our staff was welcoming and attentive. Many of our staff members have been a part of The Madison's team for decades -- they are experts at providing superior customer service and know the hotel, our guests and the D.C. area better than anyone we know! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My son and I stayed here for 6 nights. We had a fabulous experience at The Madison. The service was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful and very professional. There were some minor glitches during our stay but were addressed promptly. We had only intermittent access to the wifi in our room but were moved to another room immediately and given a dinner for 2 in the Postscript restaurant to compensate for the inconvenience. The rooms were beautifully appointed. The staff, in particular Lewis at the front desk, Beth, the manager , and Tony and Innocent the concierges made our stay very enjoyable.The location is great, only a 15 minute walk to Dupont Circle and The White House, and there are many restaurants within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning there in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandM703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for your review! While planning your trip for the fall, be sure to look out for our upcoming fall specials & packages, and stop by PostScript to sample Executive Chef Tim Recher's seasonal menu additions. We look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
325 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

moved rooms a few times as we were here for several days. We were given handicap room..that was uncomfortable. The front desk easily fixed this.. the free wifi and use of the gym is appreciated,,Great customer service. and the location make for an easy stay. Beds a bit stiff, but loved the decor and great air conditioning...any concerns here are easily resolved by a great staff..

Room Tip: Interior courtyard a bit dark..and unsightly..other great rooms avaiable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramonabare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing