We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Believe it or not, this was the lowest priced hotel I managed to find near the heart of DC that was at least 3 stars. Reading reviews, I knew it was going to be a good hotel, and once I managed to find a deal on the price, I jumped on it. I'm pretty sure I got the best deal ever.

This hotel is much higher in grade than I usually stay in, although the vast majority of my hotel time is for business and thus basic...but this place was fantastic. While at the hotel, not one person ever said the word "no" to me, and even when faced with a fairly negative situation (we had a travel issue, not due to the Madison, that prevented us from going to where we wanted to go), they managed to both soothe me and try to find a solution. I know I am a picky person, but they satisfied every request. As an example, at 11pm at night, on a Sunday, my wife decided we needed a fridge. I could have had one at check in, but she didn't want one. I asked the desk staff, who said they'd see what they could do. 15 minutes later, the fridge showed up. Who has a maintenance man on hand at that crazy hour of the night? The Madison does.

Our room was clean and fresh smelling every day, which was a great boon to the neat-freak wife, and we had housekeeping check on us several times a day when we were hanging out in the room (and didn't have the DND sign up) to offer us water, coffee, or simply ask if we needed anything. What else to praise? The concierge I dealt with (Tony) several times was not only incredibly knowledgeable of places to visit for a variery of different interests, but very patient in explaining how to get to places which helped greatly. We ate at the attached restaurant, Postscript, several times, usually waited on by Mohammed, and he treated us as if we were the only guests there. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to my family for a second. Despite the wife's general unhappyness with a history-packed vacation (for the kids), she absolutely loved this hotel.

The only issue I had with this hotel was that whomever answers their phones seemed to be angry both times I called. I never saw a person at the desk answer the phone, so this might be located elsewhere. I'd recommend booking it online and never calling.

Room Tip: Join the destination delivers club (free signup) for discounts on rooms and lots of perks while stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your five star review, Dave! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The Madison. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible service to make sure each stay is filled with memorable and unique experiences. We hope to see you and your family again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    681
    232
    91
    59
See reviews for
518
533
77
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have stayed in DC too many times to count and my last visit was my 1st time at the Madison. What a truly wonderful hotel.! The staff at this hotel is some of the best I have encountered. They are friendly, engaging and eager to help in every way. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and the entire property is immaculate and clean. This hotel rivals competition but is half the price. Location is good.. close to the White-House. The restaurants/bar on site are a very pleasant place to wind down the day. If traveling with kids...FYI the property doesn't have a pool.
The only negative I have was the use of the printer in the business center was way too high. It cost me $15.00 to print 3 pages but I was desperate so I had no choice. Overall a really nice hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

First time in Washington - ostensibly business trip but had weekend off. Washington was wonderful. The Madison even more so.

Classy, sexy and charming. Big enough to feel luxurious, boutique enough to feel special. Delightful staff particularly the door staff.

Upgrade on room (very reasonable) to Penthouse Suite was so worth it. Terrace with great views. Central location and near enough shops etc.

Usually avoid hotel restaurants like the plague but The Federalist at the Madison was certainly a few notches up from the usual fare. Not cheap but nice atmosphere, attentive but not 'stalking' staff - good wine list and a guy who knew the list too.

All in all - when I go back to Washington again I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Upgrade to penthouse suites if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OddManOut219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Everything at The Madison is easy and friendly from check-in to check-out! A warm welcome greeted us at reception, our room (Luxury King) was ready and beautiful. There was only one bathrobe but a quick call to housekeeping and another was on it's way. Given that Washington is very hot this time of year, the hotel being well situated was a great place to come back to, cool down and get ready for dinner out.

Tony the Concierge is adept at figuring out what type of dining experience you might be looking for and matching that up with terrific choices. He knows his stuff and guided us to where to catch the on/off trolley tours, how to divide the two leg of those tours so as to not overdo things in the extreme heat.

Housekeeping was great, the room was impeccable and the breakfast menu had a lot of choices (although like most hotels not the most economical of options). While we didn't have dinner at the hotel we did appreciate the service at the bars both in the afternoon for a capuccino and in the evening for a night cap before retiring.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to people travelling there for business or pleasure and they seem to welcome children and even little dogs (of course I would check that out first at booking).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

First room had no safe. Staff reply "it doesn't?". Finally I insisted on our room being switched after an hour of them giving us the run around. Second room had a safe and was clean. Apparently they have a shortage of items like paper cups, cotton swabs, hand towels, wash clothes, coffee shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc. Takes forever to receive items. Have to call room service for ice. Stocking rooms is not their best side. Service in small cafe was slower then slow and we had mentioned we were in a hurry; breakfast was over an hour. Food unmemorable. Federalist was decent if you don't want to go out. Room was small but very clean and I checked for bedbugs.. none found. Beds are like sleeping on a BOARD. Best thing was abundance of pillows. Won't be returning or recommending.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Hi Linda, we thank you for your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the safe in your room. Upon completing our recent renovation, we are happy to report all of our rooms now have safes. We will be reaching out to you directly in hopes of regaining your trust in The Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The Madison has recently gone through a renovation, and the room I had was impressively new and shiny, as was the lobby and the very nice cafe. The room was a little on the small side but had all the nice amenities and was quite comfortable. Most of the hotel staff were warm and provided good service.

There were, however, a few notable exceptions during my 6-day stay that detracted from the entire experience. I spent almost 20 minutes at check-in because the front desk staff couldn't find my reservation. The problem turned out to be that the hotel had me arriving and departing a day early, and so had me as a no-show, despite a confirmation email that had the correct dates. The front desk person seemed quite at a loss as to what to do and got a bit defensive when it became clear it was the hotel's mistake. The cafe staff were always attentive whenever I dined there, but taking orders to go seemed to be problematic, involving either long delays, or, on one occasion when I ordered bagel lox, finding out later that they gave me everything in the take out box except the bagel. Upon check out, I was given a bill that had my name, but someone else's home address completely. When I asked the front desk staff whether this was truly my bill, the attitude was a rather dismissively "don't worry about the address; everything is fine." When I insisted on their correcting the address for the bill, my address was misspelled rather badly, but I didn't have the inclination for a third correction. The hotel management did send me an email afterward apologizing for these problems and offering a complimentary future stay, which was a very nice gesture. It would take some convincing though for me to consider staying there again to risk encountering similar problems, so I hope to see the hotel management take active steps to step up training of its front desk and restaurant staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drummingtosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

well located property. terrific food service options as well as a business friendly bar. quiet rooms are a real benefit. outside seating offers a nice break from the fast paced interior. doorman and front desk were very attentive

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing