We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #81 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is a lovely, quiet and serenely decorated hotel in the heart of DC. Our room was of a nice size and was very comfortable. Staff were courteous and very helpful throughout the hotel. Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned about being near an elevator. The place is well sound proofed. You won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mowt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 2,276 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Madison three times within the past two months for business. I would certainly recommend this hotel when traveling for business or pleasure. The hotel is a good choice for several reasons. First, the location is downtown and close walking distance to the main tourist sites. There are two restaurants onsite that offer excellent food. The quality of room service specifically has exceeded my expectations (preparation and delivery time always excellent). The rooms are very comfortable with quality linens/bed, toiletries, and other small but pleasing touches like nice wine glasses, mini-bar, robes, Keurig coffee makers, and iPod clock/radios. Also onsite is a small but suitable fitness area (ellipticals, treadmills, free weights) and a business center (free to print boarding passes from the web) both open 24 hours. An issue I have had is with the free internet access in the hotel rooms. I have had trouble the past two stays connecting to their Wi-Fi and the front desk has not been able to address the technical issues. I would also not recommend paying extra for a room with a balcony (“Executive Terraces”). The city view is not spectacular and the balconies (they are all somewhat connected) have some chairs and a table; however, need some maintenance. The room itself was quite large with a sofa but really needed an extra table or something to make the extra space more useful.

Overall I would and have absolutely been recommending the Madison to friends, family, and colleagues. The location, rates, and amenities all keep bringing me back. One last tip; if you are looking for food/beverage alternatives, there is a nice Whole Foods market close walking distance at 15th & P.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlayaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

We apologize for the trouble you experienced connecting to our complimentary Wi-Fi and regret that we were unable to address the technical issue during your stay. We are, however, very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found your room to be comfortable. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Everything about The Madison is perfect. Well located, friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, large bathroom with great amenities, the best shower, soft huge towels, beautiful lobby, helpful concierge, etc. This was our first time in Washington and we loved every minute of it. The Madison just made it that much better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Great experience. Gorgeous meeting space and public areas...kudos to the design team. very well done. One thing to consdioder...corridor lighting outside the meting rooms was very dim, and way finding on the second floor needs work...very hard to find your way arouind.

Great F&B in the breakouts too...not your standard fare. Delicious. Staff was very gracious, helpful and engaging.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Great property. I have been to Washington D.C. in the past and this was my best trip. Close to everything you want to see in DC. Great rooms, Very friendly and helpful staff. Will definately stay there again. Rooms were recently remodeled and are very comfortable. Friendly bartenders that are knowledgable about the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was my second visit to the Madison. As was the case with my first visit, everything was excellent from the friendlyness and attentiveness of the staff, to the comfortable beds, to the great food. I have one minor complaint - the bathroom was a bit on the tight side. Otherwise, this is a great hotel in a very good location - close to two Metro stops, the White House, lots of restaurants. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I went to DC last week stayed at the hotel, the staff at the hotel was amazing and friendly. We were there for a conference, the meeting space really worked wall and the food was out of this world. Convienent to get to all the sites. The new rooms look great, very DC classic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeniSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,698 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £93 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing