We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, nice location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #86 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I loved my stay at The Madison (with one exception, see below)
The room itself (king bed) was very comfy and I had NO complaints about the room. (LOVED the shower!)
The hotel staff (with one exception, see below) were awesome. The receptionists, doormen, and concierge staff were all absolutely amazing!
I'm a tourist and the location was great! Just three blocks from the McPherson Metro station made this an easy arrival from Reagan, and an easy departure point for my adventures!

My only (and this is a minor issue) complaint is with the bartender. He was slow and didn't know his drinks.

Would I stay here again? Yes!!

Room Tip: My room was 12th floor, near the elevator, and I didn't hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greasefire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,676 - 1,682 of 2,300 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

The room is very nice. Bed is comfortable. Big bath with huge shower and a lot of ammenities. Great location, near everything. Warm and nice service. Clean and very good priced. I definitely recommend it.

3  Thank Chevy10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is a classic old hotel that has been renovated very well. Great location just NE of the White House and not too far West from the convention center - just a brief walk away. Beautiful rooms and public areas. Great breakfast and the service was wonderful. A little on the pricey side, but the location and property is very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bouvierlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We arrived in August for our journey to the nation's capital. We booked two rooms in the Madison through Priceline and we were very happy to get each room at less than $100 a day. We had done our homework and knew that based on our selection, we would end up with the Madison when bidding. It looked good from pictures and reviews, but our experience exceeded all of that.

For starters, it's in a great location. Close to everything in DC by car, metro, cab or walking (for some things). It's also a nice neighborhood.

From the second we checked in through the moment we checked out, we received excellent service that you would expect from a Fairmont or Ritz. Everyone from the front desk to people that dropped off ice buckets in the room.

Speaking of the room, we needed adjoining rooms and we got them. In fact, they upgraded one of the two into a one-bedroom suite, effectively giving us a 2-bedroom unit with a living room and kitchen table. The rooms were beautifully appointed, the materials were expensive, the bedding and furniture very comfortable and all were up-to-date and in great condition.

We couldn't think of anything about our stay that could have been better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marc f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I had a short but very good stay at the Madison. It's well situated downtown and the decor was right up my alley. Nice amenities: good bath products and hairdryer, ironing board and iron, keurig Coffee maker, and the umbrella came in handy for some unexpected rain. Notably, the wifi and tv also worked great--I had some issues with wifi at another nearby hotel. Staff was attentive and helpful. Overall, a great choice for DC. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odette38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Wonderful stay at the Madison. Very herlpful, friendly staff. Clean,comfortable rooms with nice showers. Wonderful dinner in The Federalist and great breakfast and burgers in Postscript. Very enjoyable visit. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed for 6 nights and was warmly welcomed by each staff person we encountered. All of them made us feel as if we were in our "home away from home". The concierge Tony Brown went out of his way to accommodate our requests. I loved the bathroom mirror and the manager, Alfred Matter researched where I could order one and emailed me the information within 24 hours. The wait staff in POSTSCRIPT were very friendly and took time to learn our names .A suggestion to management would be to train servers to offer water upon ordering. A customer should not have to ask for it. Our favorite servers were Helen and Yana. The rooms were well appointed, newly renovated and the bed was very comfortable. My only issue was the heating/cooling controls in the room which were difficult to manage. This was addressed to management. As in all hotels, the fluorescent light bulbs in lamps are annoying. I suggest if your vision needs more light, always carry your own light bulb! We definitely would stay there again the next time we travel to DC

Room Tip: Do not accept the adjoining room from the corner suite as a single room. We walked in and asked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the temperature of your room and our wait staff. Tony Brown is indeed a wonderful attribute to our team and we are pleased that you found him helpful and accommodating! We thank you for choosing The Madison and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#102 of 142 in Washington DC
192 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,228 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £93 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing