We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed, on every count”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
chicago, il
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just what I needed, on every count”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed five nights for a conference and the over weekend for fun. On business side, well located for downtown meetings, good wifi in room. On general side, staff was helpful when I showed up a day early for my reservation (found me a room), beds comfortable, room quiet, food good (with reasonably priced options), bar was nice without being overcrowded scene, and staff overall were helpful. All for a decent price, taking into account how expensive it has gotten to stay in downtown DC.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramblegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    712
    242
    93
    62
See reviews for
541
545
79
712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My company booked me 2 nights at the Madison due to hurricane Sandy. The room was comfortable, bright, and warm with all the amenities you can think of. Especially the complimentary Keurig coffee in the room; it was a nice touch. The property has been recently remodeled and is completely spotless. Perfectly clean, perfect location, perfect stay. I will definitely recommend The Madison to all of my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonimaccroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay during such a tumultuous time in D.C. The pleasure was all ours, and we greatly value hearing about your first experience at The Madison. We hope you fared well during the storm, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Madison soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We loved our stay at The Madison - it was well placed for the metro, to walk to The White House and Smithsonian sites and to access the fun nightlife of Washington.

You know when you walk in a room and you feel immediately at home? The Madison was like that. The room smelt gorgeous and was large and bright. The first night we were in a room which was near some outdoor construction but they happily moved us the next night and one night we didn't get left any towels, but again quickly rectified.

Much recommended for young and old, families and couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Madison. Hotel is clean, modern, quiet and comfortable. Excellent service. Only complaint would be having no view - but what can you expect in the middle of the city. Room was comfortable and well furnished, nice shower, clean bath. Staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed breakfast every morning in their restaurant where there was a nice menu, friendly waitstaff and comfortable seating. Convenient to downtown (about 7 blocks from all the major attractions). The Madison's driver even gave us a ride to the Lincoln Memorial and gave us guidelines on how to best plan visiting all of the memorials. We arrived really early and they eagerly let us check in at 9am because our rooms were ready, which we really appreciated. I'd highly recommend the Madison.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor or a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masssunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
The Lincoln Memorial is really a sight to see and we're thrilled that you had the chance to explore such an integral part of D.C.'s charm and history. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff and guest rooms and eagerly look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and 2 grown sons stayed here for 4 nights during the 4th of July. We booked a single king room and a double bed room. We loved the area and the hotel was very nice. Comfy beds and nice decor. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast a couple of mornings and service was great and the food was good. Staff was very nice and friendly. It was not a cookie cutter hotel like the Hilton or Marriott, it was very unique and made our stay very pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texasgirl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
We're glad that you had the opportunity to dine at PostScript, and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal. As the hotel recently underwent a complete restoration, including our guest rooms and lobby area, we are always happy to receive positive feedback on our new decor! We thank you for choosing The Madison and hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Good hotel when you travel to Washington DC on business. I got a good deal and decided to stay there.Everything was good. Nothing to complain about.
The restaurant staff were very helpful and curtious. I had my breakfast there. I liked there menus and presentation very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharmi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

You will never be disappointed by staying at The Madison. I have been there innumerable times and never been disappointed . Service and rooms are of the finest.available..The location will never disappoint you. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BEEEMBEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
The Madison's team and I are delighted to hear that you have consistently enjoyed your stays at the hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback and please let us know if we can ever do anything to make your time with us even more memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#94 of 141 in Washington DC
930 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing