We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would definitely come back!”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I thought this hotel was pretty good for the money. Pros and cons:

Pros:
-it is reasonably priced for the area
-always taxis outside
-the rooms were nice and modern
-the rooms were more spacious than I thought they would be!
-complimentary wifi and it had really good signal

Cons:
-it's not very close to a subway. Farragut North (red line) and McPherson Square (blue and orange lines) are the closest, but both are at least 4 or 5 blocks. Coming from the airport via subway I thought would be no big deal but it was not easy once we realized how far the hotel was from the subway and we had our luggage with us, definitely take a taxi!
-Room service is $$$$. We got 2 burgers and 2 sodas for $50!
-a few problems with the staff. We paid for our hotel when we booked it (and we booked it through The Madison, not a third party). When we arrived and gave them our credit card for incidentals the lady at the front desk tried to charge it for incidentals plus the entire stay! We had to explain to her we had prepaid and then she saw it on the screen. They should definitely look for that enforce charging us!
-upon leaving the guy at the front desk this time also tried to charge us for the stay (he actually asked us the price we had been quoted so he could charge us). We told him that we had prepaid and he immediately responded that he saw it. Why are they not looking to this before charging us???
-business center not only charges you for prints, but it also charges you for using the computer! I've never had a hotel charge for that before, and it was a $5 minimum.
-we paid extra for a city view which ended up just being an office building. Definitely don't feel like we got our money's worth there!

Overall our stay was nice, but i wish they would do away with the charges in the business center and train their staff better!

Room Tip: Don't pay more for a city view... It's only a view of an office building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
April, we greatly value your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced after prepaying for your room. Our staff is meticulously trained to deal with prepaid bookings and we have taken note of your experience so we can prevent it from happening in the future. We regret to hear that you felt your view and meal could have provided a better value - we will take this into consideration to further improve our establishment. We are, however, very glad that you enjoyed your complimentary wifi and the decor of our newly renovated guest rooms. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    712
    242
    93
    62
See reviews for
541
545
79
712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great hotel 3 blocks away from McPherson square metro & 5 blocks from the whitehouse. Friendly staff with great service. Would stay again in a heartbeat. We stayed Xmas break and were upgraded to a suite. The hotel seemed slow during this time. Great firm bed with feather pillows and blanket.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cohanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your upgrade! Our staff strives to provide warm, attentive service and we appreicate your positive feedback in this regard. Our beds and blankets were all recently upgraded so it's wonderful to hear that you found them comfortable. We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in D.C.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Visited here for one night in December. Upon arrival we were greeted by "Innocence" (real name?) and he was amazing. Accommodated us arriving early, gave us great recommendation for Lunch and tips to beat the crowds. Five star service.

The room was a tad small but decorated amazing, great bed and bathroom, very comfy space for my wife and I. The location is perfect as you can walk to the White House and pick up a cab to see other destinations. I highly recommend this property and plan to visit again on my future stays to DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topherashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

It is well located in what can be considered "downtown DC", about 5 blocks from the McPherson Square Metro Stop which is the metro stop one uses to get to the White House. If you are looking for a place close to the Mall, then this is too far of a walk for that purpose, though the hotel is so handsome and peaceful, we used cabs to get around which were always waiting guests of the hotel. Cabs are so plentiful in D.C. that finding a cab back to the hotel was easy as well. When you considered the low price of the cab against the cost of individual metro cards for each member of the family, a cab was the better choice and this hotel was worth it.

The staff are delightfully attentive without being annoyingly over-attentive. The staff also pay close attention to detail and strive to meet any request with professionalism. This hotel provided much better service than we usually receive at Westin Hotels which are usually our preference. In our case, our son has life threatening allergies to several types of food and the chef and restaurant managers went to great lengths to be sure that there was no cross contamination of the food. This place has great service, handsome recently renovated decor, and good food. We saw several families with younger children check in over the course of our five night stay but we never heard any disruptions. It had a feel of a hotel that would appeal to adults, but children were certainly welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank awareofthemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This hotel provides good service and lovely rooms at 15th and M Streets. It's about a 15-20 minute walk from the Smithsonian Museums, 15 minutes from Dupont Circle - it provides good access to most of the things that you want to see in DC. Great bedding and luxury bath products. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Madison hotel, which is a nice place, but certainly not a 4.5 star boutique hotel! The rooms are fine, the room decor somewhat conventional, the staff is friendly, but not always very competent. All in all this place is OK, but not deserving 4.5 stars! The location at 15th and M streets might be quite OK, if you want to visit the White House, but it is about a 20-30 min walk to most of the Smithsonian museums. The restaurant menu is OK, but nothing out of the ordinary and you have to walk a significant distance or take a cab to find some decent affordable restaurants!

As a negative overnight valet parking is expensive ($40), there are a number of much less parking garages right next door or across the street (check on-line for available coupons). The doorman at the Madison reacted quite miffed and unfriendly when we told him we won't use his hotel's valet service, but park our car ourselves.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the backyard to have quite night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIL-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
We regret to hear that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Our staff is deeply committed to providing guests with a relaxing, invigorating experience and we hope to better assist you during your next stay. As in most major cities, the parking garages in Washington DC can be costly and our nightly fee is competitive for the area. As we are situated downtown, we are within walking distance of many of DC’s museums and monuments, however some sites do require public transportation. There are also various affordable bars and restaurants in the area and our concierge is happy to assist with recommendations and reservations. We greatly value your feedback and thank you for choosing The Madison. We hope to see you again soon so we can work to regain your trust in our newly renovated establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We very much enjoyed the location, within walking distance of everything including the Metro. The staff very friendly and accomodating- any request we had was taken care of immediately and accurately. The room was well set out- great bed and bedding, bathroom had large modern shower and it was very clean.
We were there for 4 nights. The staff gave us tips regarding the tour at Arlington cemetery and the changing of the guard.
We hope to return

Room Tip: We were in room 1227- it was very quiet, the air quality was good, it was bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 614896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
We’re thrilled that you had the opportunity to visit Arlington National Cemetery. The historic site is a beautiful place to visit year round and we’re happy to hear that our staff was able to offer you tips regarding your tour. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back to The Madison during your next stay in Washington DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#94 of 141 in Washington DC
930 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing