We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochdale
Level Contributor
250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Found the whole experience at The Madison wonderful. The staff and service was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble.

The recommendations from the concierge were fantastic and really added to a great trip in Washington.

I felt this was great value for money considering the standard of rooms and the service.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MysteryGuestRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that our concierge provided you with helpful tips on navigating Washington D.C. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    696
    238
    92
    62
See reviews for
531
539
78
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

The Madison is a nice hotel, especially having undergone a dramatic renovation of its public spaces in the past year or so. All the staff are very professional, courteous, what you would expect at a 5 star hotel in a big city.

The hotel was recently bought back by Lowes, and they seem to have made some really silly decisions in their transition. As an example, they closed the lobby bar and resturant to try to force more business to the in-house, more formal resturant. It's pretty inexcusable to not have coffee/cocktail service anytime of the day in the lobby bar.

I'd recommend not frequenting the Madison until they work some of the kinks out in this transition. There are plenty of other really nice hotels in the neighborhood - like the Jefferson Hotel for example - that are focused on pleasing their customers, rather than driving business to a sub-par, over priced resturant. I will try it again in a few weeks to see if they have improved and re-post for the benefit of potential customers. For now, stay away.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Essay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and patience during our current transition. Our goal has always been to provide our guests with superior service in an elegant, comfortable setting. Through our change in ownership, we plan to build upon our legacy of service excellence and are making some difficult decisions in order to enhance the quality of our guest experience. While change is never easy, we are very enthusiastic about Loews returning to The Madison, bringing with them new and improved menu options and a world class loyalty program, among other exciting surprises to come.

In the meantime, we invite you to visit our Lobby Bar which will remain open from 5:00 pm - 1:00 am each evening. The Federalist will also remain open seven days a week for lunch and dinner serving locally sourced, American cuisine recently celebrated by the James Beard Foundation. Our downtown location also boasts an array of nearby coffee shops and cafes as an alternative dining option. We thank you for your review and welcome the opportunity to speak with you further should you have additional questions or concerns in the coming weeks.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

From the bell staff to the housekeeping service, this hotel exudes professionalism and customer service! I could not have had a better stay after a long flight to DC! I will definitely stay here. Closes to great restaurants and all the sites!

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet, couldn't hear my neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingK630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
We strive to provide each of our guests with superior customer service and we are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Many of our staff members have worked in the hospitality industry for decades and are true service experts! We look forward to seeing you again upon your return to the area!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect, very stylish rooms. Service was attentive and friendly without any attitude. They were very helpful when it was time to wait for our early morning shuttle to the airport, checking in with me every once in a while to see if we needed anything. The only complaint is that the walls feel a bit thin, there was a group of girls hanging out in the adjacent room and we could hear everything; fortunately they quieted down by bedtime. Great value for money, I'll visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPDMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Such a beautifully appointed hotel with a noticeable emphasis on service. I would recommend this property to anyone, especially given it could possibly also have the best beds ever! I did a prepay option on Expedia and I still can't believe the deal I got as this is very much a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toronto1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Our beds were recently upgraded with Super Plush Englander Velvet Touch mattresses and we're delighted that you found them comfortable! We thank you for your positive feedback and appreciate the time you took to review us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel upon your return to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
292 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My company has a new preferred list of properties and The Madison was my recent choice for a business trip to DC. The location is very convenient to the city and the accommodations excellent. The rooms were VERY QUIET, which is important to me. They were also a nice size, the bathrooms were a little small but so it goes for hotels in a large city other than ultra luxury places. The amenities were very nice. The Loew's staff runs this place like hotels I have experienced in Europe, a very nice, welcoming experience indeed. I look forward to staying at The Madison again when I travel to our nations capital.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevesottl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

The Madison is a classic downtown DC hotel across from the Washington Post and down the block from the White House. Recently renovated, the rooms are nicely furnished and freshly designed. The hotel offers free papers in the lobby. I happened to stay there the last night of the old ownership and the first day and night of the Loews Hotels tskeover. Loews didn't plan the handover well. The computer system went down in the transition from the old one which meant all hotel Internet and the reservations plus front office data were not available. No WiFi for 20 hours. Upon checkout the system wanted to charge me for the rooms which were prepaid by my travel agency. The hotel had no redundancy so now they have to find the paper reservation in their sea of mess in the office. Other than apologies nothing was resolved as I left to catch a flight. Hotel amenities are fine. Staff are accommodating. But the operations people who may ultimately resolved their major teething pains need to be better trained and give me confidence that they know what they are doing on the corporate and hotel level.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanBernTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing