We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not say 1 bad thing about our stay at The Madison!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #88 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We came here for a weekend getaway. We reserved the Penthouse Room. The room was very clean and very Chic. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, the service was outstanding. We ordered room service for lunch. It came quickly, was hot, and delicious. For the price we paid for the room, it was a steal. Excellent service and a comfortable stay. I will be staying here from now on when I visit DC!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookeMartin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,590 - 1,596 of 2,349 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a weekend trip to DC and chose to stay at the Madison. The hotel was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The service was top notch. We will hopefully get to stay there again soon. We especially enjoyed having the valet parking available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megsv98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

What a great stay for my boyfriend's birthday! I chose The Madison after reading the great reviews here, and then booked through Expedia. I called a few days before our stay, and spoke to Luis. He said that he'd do his best to make sure that my boyfriend was treated extra special and that we could get an early check-in. He didn't disappoint. When we checked in early, my boyfriend got a sweet birthday card, signed by various employees! We also got upgraded to a luxury king. Lastly, they sent complimentary chocolate covered strawberries to our room. What wonderful surprises! The hotel has classy decor, super comfy beds, and a great location. We walked a few blocks to Georgia Brown's for lunch, and dinner at the famous Old Ebbitt Grill was only a $6 cab ride away. Mostly, the superb customer service stands out. Thanks for a great stay, Loews Madison.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. The worst they can say is no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed here for business in October of 2012, and besides a couple of attempts at getting the right room key (which turned out to be an issue with the mechanics of the door), I was in for a good stay. The rooms were good sized and the service was good. The staff was very apologetic for the trouble with the key and were very helpful in getting me where I needed to go in the city. Would have given an excellent rating, but the key incident did cut into my schedule a bit and I would've preferred just getting a new room as opposed to just waiting for someone to come fix it. Otherwise, great property and good service.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in didn't have much of a view, but then I didn't get much of a chance to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your key, Gary. We sincerely regret to hear that the issue cut into your busy schedule. We appreciate your patience and are glad to hear that you found our staff helpful in resolving the issue. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve upon your experience during your next stay!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed as a solo traveler for a recent weekend. Hotel had just been taken over by Loews Hotel Group. I like Loews so it was the reason I changed a previous booking and stayed here. They were also offering good "welcome to Lowes" offers!

Hotel location is amazing. Walking distance to all the major sites. Few blocks from the White House etc. Parking was expensive though considering weekends in DC are so quiet. 40USD+tax per day.

Rooms are amazing! Very comfortable. Massive, king bed! Very, very comfortable. I had a high floor facing onto the street. Noise wasn't a problem. I had been given a similar room on a lower floor but the AirCon was making a terrible noise so I asked to be moved. Was moved to the same room on a higher floor.

This is a high-end hotel 4*+ and worth the money. Only thing I missed was no pool area!
Bar and restaurant excellent and the communal areas are very plush. Staff very friendly and efficient. No problems at all. Loews runs a good product here and will do very well. I stay often at their hotel in Philly and this is as good if not better.

Hotel has only recently undergone a multi-million dollar refurbishment and it shows.
Only annoying thing in the room is the closet. Two large and heavy, creaking doors that take some effort to move. Suggest they need to be trimmed down or something. Great TV and TV channel selection. Internet was included as I am a YouFirst Gold member. Speed was good but at times reception was low. Probably location of room at the end of a corridor on high floor.
A great stay - a great hotel in a great location.

Next visit to DC it will absolutely be Loews Madison Hotel! First Class!

Room Tip: Not many views as DC is full of tall office blocks but do pay the extra for rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i-love-ayia-napa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Found the whole experience at The Madison wonderful. The staff and service was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble.

The recommendations from the concierge were fantastic and really added to a great trip in Washington.

I felt this was great value for money considering the standard of rooms and the service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MysteryGuestRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that our concierge provided you with helpful tips on navigating Washington D.C. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The Madison is a nice hotel, especially having undergone a dramatic renovation of its public spaces in the past year or so. All the staff are very professional, courteous, what you would expect at a 5 star hotel in a big city.

The hotel was recently bought back by Lowes, and they seem to have made some really silly decisions in their transition. As an example, they closed the lobby bar and resturant to try to force more business to the in-house, more formal resturant. It's pretty inexcusable to not have coffee/cocktail service anytime of the day in the lobby bar.

I'd recommend not frequenting the Madison until they work some of the kinks out in this transition. There are plenty of other really nice hotels in the neighborhood - like the Jefferson Hotel for example - that are focused on pleasing their customers, rather than driving business to a sub-par, over priced resturant. I will try it again in a few weeks to see if they have improved and re-post for the benefit of potential customers. For now, stay away.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Essay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and patience during our current transition. Our goal has always been to provide our guests with superior service in an elegant, comfortable setting. Through our change in ownership, we plan to build upon our legacy of service excellence and are making some difficult decisions in order to enhance the quality of our guest experience. While change is never easy, we are very enthusiastic about Loews returning to The Madison, bringing with them new and improved menu options and a world class loyalty program, among other exciting surprises to come.

In the meantime, we invite you to visit our Lobby Bar which will remain open from 5:00 pm - 1:00 am each evening. The Federalist will also remain open seven days a week for lunch and dinner serving locally sourced, American cuisine recently celebrated by the James Beard Foundation. Our downtown location also boasts an array of nearby coffee shops and cafes as an alternative dining option. We thank you for your review and welcome the opportunity to speak with you further should you have additional questions or concerns in the coming weeks.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
252 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,385 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,767 reviews
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £87 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing