We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed for 4 nights. The bed was Very comfortable the bathroom clean with a good shower and nice amenities ( no shower cap which was annoying). I thought the room when I arrived which was traditional in its decoration was elegant but after 4 days found it a little dark and depressing. I think this was due to the dark furniture and grey walls. That aside it was a relatively spacious room. The room service breakfast and dinners I had were good but Luke warm by the time I received it. I also once the fog of jet lag lifted had breakfast downstairs and that was good. I ate at The Federalist for lunch and dinner and both were good and the staff very friendly. I would recommend eating there. The location was good within walking distance to most things. The front desk staff and concierge were efficient but not that welcoming. However in their defence it was busy. I had a reasonably quiet room although on the Saturday night the people above me were really noisy but fortunately early in the evening rather than later. This was not the most fabulous hotel I have stayed at but it was good and comfortable and that is all you need really!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    701
    239
    93
    62
See reviews for
534
543
78
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed for three nights, the last one was against my will due to the "snow" storm that did not happen. Excellent service all the way around, comfortable and luxurious room. Had four meals at the Federalist (restaurant in hotel) and all four of them were excellent, and I would make the Federalist a "go to" restaurant on its own.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naldo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
118 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Nice, comfortable, and elegantly decorated room. Great service and smiles from everyone we encountered.

Location was excellent.

One problem was that it seems the ceiling of the room is so thin I could hear my upstairs neighbor sneezing and I swear I could understand his entire morning conversations over the phone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My wife and 16 year old daughter went to DC for a few days on February vacation, and I had searched for a hotel near the key sights that had a seperate sleeping space for my daughter without having to rent 2 rooms. The Madison has suites available for a reasonable price which were very nice. The hotel is also walking distance the White House and a short walk to the Metro to get you everywhere else. Also lots of good restaurants nearbye - including the hotel restaurant. Excellent service from all the staff, and great help from the concierge. Very comfortable and clean room. We very much enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The staff was most accommodating and helpful, with the exception of the Concierge on Wednesday evening. She was too involved in her own telephone conversation to help the guests. The Concierge on Friday morning was very helpful and very friendly and seemed to be able to take care of the phone and the guests very well. I was there from Sunday February 24 to March 1.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nels I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
We regret to hear that your first encounter with our concierge did not live up to the high service standards we strive to provide. We are, however, delighted that you found our staff to be attentive and helpful during the remainder of your trip. We thank you for your feedback as it will allow us to continue improving our establishment. We look forward to seeing you again upon your return to the area!

Warm regards,
Sherry Abedi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and like other Hotwire experiences we were quite pleased.

The initial positive impressions (friendly doorman, polite desk help and bell man) carried through our stay.

Possibly because of the Hotwire rate we were given a room with no view, something that didn't matter to us since we were in DC to see the city, not to sit in a hotel room.

Our room was very nice: Excellent furnishings from furniture, to linens to towels and bathroom soaps. A Keuig coffee brewer was an unexpected treat (although I prefer Starbucks instant over Keuig K-cups) as was the I-home radio/docking station.

This is was one of the quietest hotels I've stayed in... I was never awakened by street or neighbor noise, something quite uncommon.

We didn't use the hotel restaurants, but they looked as if experiences there would equal the lodging experience.

A minor consideration: There aren't many restaurants in this neighborhood, something that might matter to you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank striderchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This was my first stay since the renovations were completed. The hotel always had a stately and elegant atmosphere and this has been maintained and enhanced in the 'make over'. The rooms are very quiet and extremely comfortable and well appointed. Plushy bathrobes and high end amenities are made available. Bed linens are high quality and extremely comfortable. The hotel is well located and convenient to most DC attractions. The service is superior and this carries through from the front desk staff to the restaurants/bar. I have to admit thought, there was one thing that struck me as odd for a high end, elegant hotel. While looking through the snacks/beverages for purchase in the room (I assume every room) there was a black box that caught my eye and in was some kind of 'love kit'. The list of contents was on the box and it included two condoms, massage oils, personal cleansing wipes and lubricants. Weird for a hotel of this caliber but I must admit it did provide a good laugh!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HNLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,609 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
897 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
400 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing