We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #87 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This hotel is beautiful! The room was very clean and comfortable and did not show any signs of wear or overuse--in fact, all seemed entirely brand new. The lobby and meeting rooms were also lovely. The staff is outstanding: very friendly and accomodating, from the doormen to reception to the wait staff at our meeting dinner and lunch. The location is great: an easy walk to the White House and then on to the other sites. I woud definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed for 4 nights. The bed was Very comfortable the bathroom clean with a good shower and nice amenities ( no shower cap which was annoying). I thought the room when I arrived which was traditional in its decoration was elegant but after 4 days found it a little dark and depressing. I think this was due to the dark furniture and grey walls. That aside it was a relatively spacious room. The room service breakfast and dinners I had were good but Luke warm by the time I received it. I also once the fog of jet lag lifted had breakfast downstairs and that was good. I ate at The Federalist for lunch and dinner and both were good and the staff very friendly. I would recommend eating there. The location was good within walking distance to most things. The front desk staff and concierge were efficient but not that welcoming. However in their defence it was busy. I had a reasonably quiet room although on the Saturday night the people above me were really noisy but fortunately early in the evening rather than later. This was not the most fabulous hotel I have stayed at but it was good and comfortable and that is all you need really!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandymacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed for three nights, the last one was against my will due to the "snow" storm that did not happen. Excellent service all the way around, comfortable and luxurious room. Had four meals at the Federalist (restaurant in hotel) and all four of them were excellent, and I would make the Federalist a "go to" restaurant on its own.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naldo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Nice, comfortable, and elegantly decorated room. Great service and smiles from everyone we encountered.

Location was excellent.

One problem was that it seems the ceiling of the room is so thin I could hear my upstairs neighbor sneezing and I swear I could understand his entire morning conversations over the phone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My wife and 16 year old daughter went to DC for a few days on February vacation, and I had searched for a hotel near the key sights that had a seperate sleeping space for my daughter without having to rent 2 rooms. The Madison has suites available for a reasonable price which were very nice. The hotel is also walking distance the White House and a short walk to the Metro to get you everywhere else. Also lots of good restaurants nearbye - including the hotel restaurant. Excellent service from all the staff, and great help from the concierge. Very comfortable and clean room. We very much enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The staff was most accommodating and helpful, with the exception of the Concierge on Wednesday evening. She was too involved in her own telephone conversation to help the guests. The Concierge on Friday morning was very helpful and very friendly and seemed to be able to take care of the phone and the guests very well. I was there from Sunday February 24 to March 1.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nels I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

We regret to hear that your first encounter with our concierge did not live up to the high service standards we strive to provide. We are, however, delighted that you found our staff to be attentive and helpful during the remainder of your trip. We thank you for your feedback as it will allow us to continue improving our establishment. We look forward to seeing you again upon your return to the area!

Warm regards,
Sherry Abedi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and like other Hotwire experiences we were quite pleased.

The initial positive impressions (friendly doorman, polite desk help and bell man) carried through our stay.

Possibly because of the Hotwire rate we were given a room with no view, something that didn't matter to us since we were in DC to see the city, not to sit in a hotel room.

Our room was very nice: Excellent furnishings from furniture, to linens to towels and bathroom soaps. A Keuig coffee brewer was an unexpected treat (although I prefer Starbucks instant over Keuig K-cups) as was the I-home radio/docking station.

This is was one of the quietest hotels I've stayed in... I was never awakened by street or neighbor noise, something quite uncommon.

We didn't use the hotel restaurants, but they looked as if experiences there would equal the lodging experience.

A minor consideration: There aren't many restaurants in this neighborhood, something that might matter to you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank striderchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
295 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
3,267 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,791 reviews
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £102 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing