We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Appeal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Boutique Appeal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Madison is a small boutique hotel with a friendly, helpful local and international staff that should appeal to everyone. The decor was warm, the bathrooms upscale, and the service a throw back to days gone by. A variety of newspapers was available each morning in the lobby. Guests included families, couples, business travelers and pets. (After a long day of business meetings it was a nice destressor to say hello to the dogs and their owners!) The room was very clean, especially the bathroom and linens. There was insignificant wear/tear that could be found in any hotel in this price range. Although I used neither, the workout room and business center met the expectations of my colleagues. I did not use the lobby restaurant or bar but, like any other hotel, these seem to be money-makers for hotels. Sleep quality was good with no room to room noise through the walls - a great plus - unless of course we did not have any next door neighbors. This was enhanced by being on the 14th floor street side. Colleagues tell me there was some cell phone reception problems in interior rooms. An overall good experience and another hotel to add to our referral list.

Room Tip: Interior rooms may have poor cell phone reception. Higher floors have less street noise although it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Lily54,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your stay was wonderful. We pride ourselves in offering friendly and efficient customer service and we are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again when your travels bring you to Washington DC.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    681
    232
    91
    59
See reviews for
518
533
77
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Let me start by saying I am a big fan of Loews hotels. I've stayed at several around the country and have never been disappointed. The Madison is no exception. Beautifully appointed rooms, with top notch bed and linens. Gorgeous lobby with fabulous bars. Exceptional customer service. Finally I must mention the concierge, Innocence. What a wonderful, delightful man. He made me feel as if I were his best friend, and nothing but the best was going to be exceptable. I suspect he does this with all his guest, but he certainly made me feel special. He and the rest of the staff, from doorman to front desk, servers and housekeeping, made our visit to D.C. a lovely and memorable experience.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Barbara T,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much you love Loews Hotels and that we were no exception. You are right, our team members are the core of the Loews Madison Hotel and they pride themselves on providing exceptionally friendly, energetic service. We have already recognized Innocent and we thank you for sharing the kind remarks. We look forward to hosting you again anytime your travels bring you back to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

When we walked into the hotel, the front desk was very pleasant in welcoming me into the hotel. Because the Jefferson presidential suite was available, they upgraded me for free! It was a 2 bedroom 1.5 bathroom beautiful suite and I only paid $219 for the night. My stay was only for one night but I ended up staying 10 nights because I was so pleased with the hotel. There is the best breakfast restaurant in the lobby and it isn't expensive! This being my 12th different hotel in DC over the last 27 years, this is my favorite!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAtravelingmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear USAtravelingmag,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you were able to experience one of our fabulous suites. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and we are delighted to know that we were able to do that during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime you are in DC.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

The management of this place is awful. Staff are pleasant and attentive, but some idiotic decision making is still evident. For example, the lobby bar is closed all day, and when it opens, they don't even serve appetizers. The resturant off the lobby is overpriced and mediocre. The furniture in the lobby is falling apart, with the leather, which I assume is not real, peeling off. The management needs to get their act together and drop the arrogance. Until then, stay away!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for highlighting that our staff is pleasant and attentive! We take pride in our service culture and can assure you that our number one priority is to create the best experience possible for our guests and team members. We apologize that our couches were not up to par. Please know, this has already been addressed and we are in the process of reupholstering and switching out furniture as it’s completed with urgency. Additionally, in the next few days, the Lobby Bar will be open every day from 10:30am until closing and an “All Day Menu” which was just revised to better meet our guests needs will be available. Thank you for again for sharing your concerns, we cherish your patronage and hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to serve you.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We just came back from staying at the Loews Madison in DC. This was a perfect spot for leisure and business. It's location is convenient to all the attractions and close to the convention center and the metro is just 3 blocks away.
The staff were so gracious and wonderful. From the doorman to the front desk to the bellman to the staff at the Federalist.
We had a king deluxe room and it was very quiet and comfortable and large. The only thing that I noticed that didn't work well was the wifi in the room. It was very slow and the one in the lobby was none existent. We will definitely be back. This was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mklor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Mklor,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the wonderful location of our hotel. We pride ourselves in providing personalized and genuine service and we are glad to hear that was the case with your stay. Thank you for sharing your concerns with our internet service. We are happy to say that we have undergone a change in service providers since your stay and we are confident this will enhance our guest's wifi experience. We are excited to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Washington DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed for a week while attending a convention. The location was convenient to the convention center (a straight shot on M Street) and about a 15 minute walk to downtown/Macy's. The hotel lobby isn't overpowering when you walk in and has a cozy feel. Our room and bathroom were very clean, the beds very comfortable, and all of the staff were very friendly, professional, and accommodating. The bar off of the lobby is comfortable and the cocktails are okay. We ate at the hotel restaurant, The Federalist, one afternoon. Prices were reasonable but the crab bisque was salty and didn't have much of a crab flavor, and the spinach salad was extremely salty. Other convention attendees who ate there and tried other dishes were happy with their meals. My two complaints were the hotel parking fee and that the walls were surprisingly thin. It costs $50 per night to park, and even though we did well getting around with taxis and walking, we did need to rent a car for the last few days. There is a public parking garage next door that costs a bit less but their hours may not be convenient for everyone. As for the walls, we could hear what people in the next room were saying when they were laughing and talking, and the street noise woke us each morning. We were on the 6th floor; if I were to stay again I'd ask for a room higher up in hopes that we'd be less likely to hear cars, buses, trucks backing up, etc. There is a Caribou Coffee directly across the street, and for those who like soul food there is the Gist Family Soul Food Cafe in the Metropolitan AME Church just a half block away on M Street, 7:30am-7:00pm

Room Tip: Higher floors might have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLeslie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at the Loews Madison Hotel. We value your feedback and the opportunity it gives us to address your concerns as well as recognize the departments that exceeded your expectations.

We regret to hear of the noise disturbance that you experienced during your recent stay at our Hotel. In regards to the valet prices at our hotel, rest assured they are very consistent with other hotels in DC with unlimited in and out service. As you pointed out there are cheaper options in the area that may work better for those guests that will be parking their car and leaving it there for the duration of their stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Loews Madison Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Spent two nights at the Madison on a business trip in July. My room was large, quiet, and comfortable, and I slept well both nights. Large and wonderful step-in shower but no tub. The free wi-fi worked but wasn't fast enough to stream. Two curious features: a fitness center visible to everyone coming for business meetings and very "busy" wallpaper everywhere (dated? retro?). The wonderful staff was very friendly and helpful and made me feel at home. Overall, very comfortable and convenient but probably too pricey for me to return on my own dime.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMcTier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
DavidMcTier,
Thank you so muchf for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. A positive stay is what we strive to accomplish with each of our guest. We are glad to know that we were able to deliver on this during your experience. We truly appreciate your feedback and are proud to know that we have exceeded your expectations. We will certainly share your positive comments with our team. We hope to welcome you back soon and hear about another great stay!

Regards,
Justin Adam
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#93 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing