We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sorrento, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a pleasant surprise greeted us when we arrived at Loew's Madison Hotel in DC.

Located at the edge of the business district, this hotel offered a warm, friendly, efficient experience that surpassed our wildest expectations. Within close working distance of most of Washington's important features, we were glad to call Loew's Madison, our base.

From the moment we were greeted at the door to the time we were loaded into the taxi at our departure, the friendliness and efficiency of staff was exceptional.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this Loew's hotel to anyone visiting Washington DC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Tony H,
What a fine compliment- we greatly appreciate your feedback! I’m thrilled we exceeded your wildest expectations, as this means our team is meeting a daily goal with our guests. It’s great to know our staff helped give you a friendly, welcoming stay with efficient service, and I look forward to sharing your comments with them. Thanks also for pointing out our great central location for visiting many of Washington D.C.’s top sights. We appreciate your recommendation, and most importantly, we thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel. We would love for the opportunity to welcome you back anytime you travel to the States and visit D.C.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    675
    227
    91
    58
See reviews for
515
531
75
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Just wanted say that the service has been fantastic. We checked in very late and nothing was too much trouble. The concierge Tobi was super helpful and accommodating. The rooms very comfortable and spacious. Thank you TOBI!

Breakfast was great and the service again was absolutely above average. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to a suite if you would like to spoil yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Marshall R,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am thrilled you found our service and our team members to be fantastic. We strive every day to provide top-notch, personalized service and a supremely comfortable stay, and I appreciate you recognizing this to be your experience. Tobi is a wonderful team member, and I will gladly share you feedback. I’m also happy you enjoyed breakfast at PostScript and again had great service! Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we hope for the chance to welcome you back anytime you travel to Washington, DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Always stay at this hotel during my business trip. Perfect business hotel and very convenient to al the downtown businesses and offices. The rooms are perfect and luxury. The Gym is great. Very close to many restaurants and eateries.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank My_Bos_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear My_Bos_explorer,
We appreciate your feedback. I’m delighted we are your go-to hotel during business trips to Washington, DC, and that you enjoy our very convenient location. Indeed, we often hear it’s great for business and sightseeing, and as you mention, has many nearby restaurants. I’m also glad you’re able to take advantage of our gym as we know that can be an important offering for frequent business travelers who want to keep up their fitness routine. Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we look forward to continuing to welcome you back for future stays. Let us know if there’s anything you need.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We had two nights here in December and although well located we didn't think there was anything particularly special about the hotel.

The room was a decent king size but the bathroom was tiny and full of oversized units. It was clean and comfortable though the water pressure in the shower was not great. My big complaint is about the hearing system. It was incredibly loud and despite turning it off to avoid the noise - despite it snowing outside (and having someone from the hotel look at it) it would randomly turn itself back on. This was particularly irritating when it happened several times during the night, meaning we slept badly. We complained to the staff but were told the noise was standard. To be fair t staff were pleasant and they knocked the cost of a movie off our bill to compensate but I'd much rather stay somewhere where you are not woken up.

I confess the styling if the hotel is not really to my taste - lots of shiny surfaces and faux gilt everywhere, in my mind it makes it look cheap and dated. But others may disagree. It was all a bit style over substance.

I think there are better hotels in Washington and I wouldn't stay again out of choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarinda_Vine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Clarinda_Vine,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I do appreciate that you found our hotel to be well located and also comfortable and clean. That said, I’m disappointed you found us to be just OK as we strive to surpass our guests’ expectations and always create a memorable stay. I am sorry to hear of the inconvenience you experienced with the heating unit, and I will look into this immediately with our engineering team. Please look for a direct message so we can research your reservation and do trouble shooting in this room. I appreciate you providing a prompt response within the month of your stay so we can assure these concerns are addressed very quickly. I’m glad our staff were pleasant to work with. I look forward to following up with you and do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to Loews Madison.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. Very elegant, but not stuffy. Extremely clean. Staff was wonderful and very helpful. Food was delicious. Great location, easy walking distance to many interesting things.

Room Tip: One of the nicest hotels I have every stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Donna K,
This is wonderful feedback, and we so appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m delighted you found us to be excellent, elegant and also inviting. I’m always extremely happy to hear when our staff make a lasting impression, as they strive every day to provide exceptional service. Thank you also for pointing out our very central location to local attractions! We would absolutely love the opportunity to welcome you back to Loews Madison anytime you are in DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hotel is well located, being an easy stroll to the White House. Our room was very well appointed however it was located adjacent to the external air conditioning unit which services the entire hotel and was incredibly noisy. The room would definitely benefit from double glazing to alleviate the noise emanating from the external unit. I would recommend this hotel with the proviso that you insist on a room well away from the air conditioner. It's an eyesore and loud!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Judith H,
Thank you for providing this feedback. I’m very happy you enjoyed our great location within walking distance to the White House. It’s also great to hear you found our rooms to be well appointed. However, I am sorry to learn you were disappointed by your room being near the air conditioning unit. We do sincerely we appreciate the feedback as we look for ways to make this more visually appealing. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back when your travels bring you to DC, and thank you for choosing Loews Madison.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

What a great hotel! The beautiful room, twin share, was large, with two comfortable double beds and great pillows. The bathroom was clean and well appointed with lovely shower and bath products. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. The hotel is within easy walking distance to many monuments and sights. We were disappointed we were only in Washington for one night! We would definitely stay at this hotel if visiting Washington again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnf2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear jnf2407,
I’m so glad we had the chance to host you in DC for your travels and like you, I wish you’d had more time with us! Thank you for providing this feedback about your Loews Madison stay. I’m delighted you experienced our luxury hotel and enjoyed the accommodations, our friendly staff and our convenient location for walking to see many sights. We would love the chance to welcome you again anytime you travel to Washington, DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
The Kimpton Donovan
The Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing