We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel experiences ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel experiences ever!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Firstly I'd like to thank Tashna Seaton. From about 3 months before our honeymoon she was incredibly helpful and really went out of her way to make our time in DC special.

I've included some photos of the room - we had roses in the room, strawberries dipped in chocolate and the best part ..... a card congratulating us on our wedding, personally signed by numerous members of staff. I've scribbled the name out on the digital photo to remove the surname.

It was such a wonderful touch and it made our arrival at the hotel very special.

Tashna called me in the room the next morning to check everything was ok and to ask if there was anything else she could do.

On the final night of our stay I spoke to her to explain we weren't travelling to Boston until later in the day. She arranged a complimentary late checkout so we could freshen up and collect our bags from our room.

The little touches are what made the 3 nights we spent at the Loews Madison Hotel extra special.

The rooms were well decorated and spacious. The shower was amazing and the rooms were cleaned to a very high standard each day.

If anyone reads this I hope Tashna gets rewarded for going above and beyond. She's great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Luke M,
First of all, congratulations on getting married! We are so excited that you chose to spend a portion of your honeymoon with us here at the Loews Madison Hotel and we thank you for taking the time to share it with us. We love to hear about the wonderful memories our guests take with them after they depart.

We are very glad you enjoyed the special touches done by the team to make your honeymoon perfect. Thank you for pointing out the many wonderful things about our guest rooms and the phenomenal service provided by Tashna. She certainly is a gem and we are lucky to have her on our team!

Congratulations again and thank you for staying with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Loews Madison Hotel the next time your travels bring you to DC!

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    701
    239
    93
    62
See reviews for
533
543
78
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the Lowes Madison During a 4 day business trip to DC. This is a solid property with very good amenities and a very nice location within the city. Our business had us at the convention center and the Madison is an enjoyable walking distance. The lobby area is small but comfortable and the small bar/lounge area provides a very good breakfast selection in the morning and an enjoyable place to relax before dinner or on returning from dinner. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby as well as multiple Starbucks for that early morning coffee and paper walk. The sights of DC are a little longer walk (or short cab ride) but the area is nice with lots of activity. The Loews Madison makes it on to my short list of good DC choices for business or pleasure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Michael N,
We appreciate you providing feedback about your stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed several aspects of our property, including our location in the heart of DC and our amenities. We do enjoy being less than a mile from the convention center, which is, as you note, a walkable distance for many people. The Loews Madison is also just a few blocks or short stroll to the White House. I’m happy you enjoyed our PostScript restaurant and bar for breakfast, as well as other times in the day. We do serve three meals a day there and offer our lobby bar. We’re also very excited to be working toward the opening of Chef Jose Garces’ new Argentinian steakhouse restaurant on property!

Thanks again for taking time to note some of the great details of our property, from nearby Starbucks and other coffee shops, to our comfortable lobby and lounge area. I’m delighted we’re on your short list, and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back anytime your business or personal travel plans bring you to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Each March my company brings together all our far-flung employees for a company strategy session and team building exercise. This year we had our meetings and lunch at the Loews Madison in downtown Washington D.C. Lunch at Post Script was amazing--we were among the first to get a taste of what Jose Garces will be serving when his restaurant in the hotel (which is currently being developed) opens up.

Our meeting rooms were not only clean, quiet, and well laid out (baseline for a good hotel), but all our AV needs were set up and ready for us as well as snacks and beverages that were regularly refreshed by the hotel staff.

With a very nice central location downtown that let's our employees get out and about in off hours, great accommodations for our meetings, and great food right in the building we will likely be returning next March as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear jsetree,
Thank you for taking time to reflect on your experience with Loews Madison during your recent business trip. I’m thrilled we provided a great experience that has left a positive lasting impression and caused you to highly consider returning here again for your next annual meeting. We take great pride in creating loyal guests through top notch service and exceeding our guest expectations, and I’m so happy we delivered for your group.

I’m glad you enjoyed our PostScript restaurant, and that you’re now looking forward to Chef Jose Garces' brand new restaurant, opening on our property in 2014. We’re pleased to be able to provide quality, quiet meeting space, conference and catering services, and on-site AV services to meet all your business needs. Thanks for noting our very convenient location, which is close to the culinary playground of 14th Street and walking distance to the White House and other attractions.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel, and we would be honored to host your company again for future meetings in Washington, DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

By far the best hotel I have stayed at in Washington, DC where I often get sent on business. Sometimes it's the simple things, like the heat lamps built into the overhang in front of the hotel so you don't freeze in the dead of winter (as it was quite cold there this year) while you are waiting for a taxi. But the big things matter too and they get it right. Friendly and courteous staff offer to help the minute you walk in the door (after they open it for you of course). They get you checked in quickly and the rooms are always clean and the beds very comfortable. Their conference rooms were always well stocked with refreshments and met the needs of our bushiness perfectly. I always look forward to the food whenever I travel, and the onsite dining in the lobby is nothing short of fantastic. In short, you don't just feel like a guest here, but you feel like THE guest here you are treated so well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Mike T,
We so appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. Wow, we are honored by your note that we are the best hotel in DC! We do take great provide in our attention to every detail, from big to seemingly small, to offer our guests a warm, welcoming and supremely comfortable environment from start to finish. I’m delighted you’ve experienced our staff’s dedication to everyday friendly, prompt service from the minute you pull up, to getting checked in, to your entire time on property whether enjoying your room or conducting business in our conference spaces. I’m glad our outdoor heat lamps in the overhang provided a little protection from the chill! It’s very nice to hear how much you enjoy our PostScript restaurant, and I’ll be sure to pass on your compliment to our food and beverage team.

We appreciate you choosing Loews Madison and are so glad we could make you feel like an honored guest. We’d love to do that anytime you travel to DC, and to continue to prove to you how we are the best hotel in Washington, DC. Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We held our annual meeting at the hotel and it was perfect. We were treated to a special preview of the menu at their adjoining restaurant which is opening soon and it was yummy. The meeting spaces were comfortable clean and we were kept well stocked on soda and water. They even accommodated us, taking a group picture. The staff is the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NECowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear NECowboy,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Loews Madison experience, and for such kind words. I’m very happy to hear about the various aspects of your time with us that created such a positive experience, from our meeting spaces and prompt conference service to our new menu. It is always an absolute delight to hear kudos for our staff, as our team members are extremely dedicated to providing memorable, top notch service. I’m glad we could accommodate your group. We appreciate you choosing Loews Madison and would be grateful for the opportunity to welcome you back for future meetings and stays and provide you more great experiences to remember.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for a week and a half while studying Federal Libraries with a distance education class from graduate school. We did get government rates. I felt reasonably safe at this hotel. The restaurants were expensive, but had great food. The concierge service was helpful. The bellhops were kind and helped with securing cabs, don't forget to tip of course. However, my roommate got stuck in the bathroom. We had to call and it took an hour to cut her out. There was no phone or window in the bathroom. They had to sweep up shards of metal and shreds of wood after getting her out of the bathroom. We were terrified to close the bathroom door all the way thereafter. If one was staying alone, it would have presented quite a snafu. The management did offer us a complimentary breakfast the next morning and they did take a generous percentage off of our stay. However, we did hear that his had been a recurring problem ~ and that an hour was a short amount of time to be stuck in the bathroom. I would think the installation of phones in the bathrooms would prevent people panicking if they got stuck in the bathroom. Great location. Whole foods and a CVS are nearby. Lots of restaurants are within walking distance. And bus and metro nodes are within close proximity. Not sure whether I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeFreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Ms. DeFreese,

Thank you very much for taking time to reflect on last year’s July visit. First, I want to greatly apologize that our efforts to turn around your situation were unsuccessful. It was a true disappointment to read your comments and certainly not reflective of typical guest feedback for our property. As dedicated hoteliers, our focus is to create positive memories for all our guests and to do our best to rectify unique situations such as yours. Please know, safety is our number one priority, so as a precautionary measure for future guests, in 2013 we changed every bathroom lock in the hotel. Since your experience, and our taking this action last year, there have been no further issues. At Loews Madison we take great pride in creating loyal guests. While it’s understandable that you feel hesitant to return, we do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I really enjoy this hotel. It is an older property, but the renovations make it feel new without losing the charm. I enjoy the comfort of the rooms, great beds, wingback chairs, etc. The staff really makes your feel welcomed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Malinda G,
Thank you for taking the time to review your Loews Madison stay. We appreciate the compliment of being called “a classic!” I’m delighted you enjoy our hotel and the renovations we have done to ensure our historic property is an updated, refreshing destination. It’s wonderful to hear from you how we have delivered on our commitment to providing a supremely comfortable stay and warm, friendly service. I’m so happy our team members conveyed their genuine care in making you feel at home! Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and I hope we will have more chances to welcome you in our doors anytime you travel to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
893 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing