We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage contemporary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #78 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I love thus hotel! Room is very clean and decor is lovely. Restaurant a bit overpriced as are most hotel restaurants. Staff very friendly and responsive. Close to 14st restaurants, DuPont circle and convention centre. Room cozy. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mobaychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Mobaychic,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Loews Madison. I’m so happy to hear you loved our hotel and would come back to stay again. I’m especially delighted our friendly staff and their helpful service made an impression on you.

I’m also excited you enjoyed our décor, and our great location convenient to 14th Street restaurants, attractions, the convention center and more! Thanks for pointing that out. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again when your travels bring you to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,248)
There are newer reviews for Loews Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 2,249 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

My stay at Loews Madison was wonderful. All staff were extremely helpful during my stay from the moment I walked in the door. Every question was either answered on the spot or answered later after search.Rooms were comfortable and clean. Business center was helpful and on the mark too. I also noticed that locals visit the restaurant and lounge which is a good sign.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Edward C,
Thank you very much for the time to review your stay, as we hope this helps others deciding on Loews Madison. I’m very happy you had a wonderful stay, and could even have a ‘vacation while working.’ I appreciate you recognizing our dedication to top notch, friendly and always helpful service. I’m so glad this was your experience, and that our staff followed through on your needs.

Thanks for mentioning our comfortable, clean rooms, as well as our business center. I’m delighted your needs were met. Our PostScript restaurant and lounge/bar is indeed a popular spot for our guests and locals to get a meal, relax at happy hour after work, and also enjoy evenings including live jazz music and entertainment Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we hope to be able to welcome you back on future trips to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Had an amazing time at this hotel! The room was super nice with modern/vintage furniture. It was also spotless. Our room was a penthouse with a terrace - it was the icing on the cake. The terrace was spacious and private. Excellent view of the city! My friend and I were celebrating our birthdays and they had SWEET chocolate covered strawberries, an excellent bottle of champagne, and a wonderful bday card -all courtesy of the hotel. An excellent touch! :) If we needed anything extra for the room, they were at our room in minutes. They also provide a Fiat car service (at no extra charge) which takes you anywhere you need to go within a 3 mile radius from the hotel, from 11am-7pm which was very convenient for us. The location is ideal because it's close to everything. Overall, the entire staff was extremely professional, courteous, and helpful. I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leche202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Leche202,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We so appreciate your kind words! A belated Happy Birthday to you both! I’m absolutely thrilled you had such an amazing experience and thoroughly enjoyed ours rooms and furnishings. Our terrace suites are indeed a special treat, including their spaciousness, and some nice city views.

I’m happy you enjoyed the birthday treat and our team members’ attentive, courteous service. We pride ourselves on friendly, efficient attention to our guests’ needs. Thanks for noting our great location, which is ideal to explore so many of DC’s sights. It’s great you mentioned the FIAT free ride program. Loews is excited to partner with FIAT USA to provide this free service for guests – offered daily for rides to many locations throughout DC. Great that you took advantage of this!

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you come to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel opened by JF Kennedy. The rooms were very nice and very large. We had booked a room for two people and got a nice room with two huge, very comfortable beds. Although we had booked without breakfast, we were treated to a continental breakfast. The location is good and at night, it is very quiet. Very nice staff. Service was ok, but nothing special. In the quality and price range, there are many hotels in DC to choose from. I was given a very warm welcome by the hotel staff. Overall a great hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarrellMali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear DarrellMali,
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. I’m delighted you rate us as a great hotel and enjoyed the spaciousness and quality of your room. It’s great to hear you liked our convenient location, central to many attractions and walking distance to the White House. Also, I always enjoy when people know a little of our history, including JFK cutting the ribbon for our hotel’s opening in 1963! Of course, we have since renovated and updated our property, and we’re very proud of our history.

Thank you for noting our friendly staff, and the warm, personal welcome you received. Providing memorable service that exceed expectations is something on which we continually work.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we would love to welcome you back anytime you travel to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Recently stayed here for 2 nights, very nice indeed. The room was excellent and everything you need is there. The front desk were ok but not the greatest people, i asked where the sauna and steam room was...err err was the reply. I never did find it, even after looking in the fitness suite.
The breakfasts were fantastic and nothing was to much trouble. An excellent hotel in a super city!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear theboy75,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I’m glad to hear you found our hotel to be very nice, and enjoyed the quality of our rooms and amenities. I’m sorry to learn some team members weren’t able to give you the information you needed about our steam room, and I am addressing this with all our staff as providing helpful service is a number one priority. Thank you for noting how nothing was too much trouble for staff in our restaurant, and I’m so happy you had fantastic meals!

Thanks for choosing Loews Madison, and I hope we can welcome you back anytime you visit our super city of Washington, DC! Make a note that in Summer 2014, we'll be opening our new restaurant by renowned Chef Jose Garces, an Argentine steakhouse!

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was my second to the Loews Madison Hotel, which is conveniently located near two Metro stops, which serve the Blue and Red lines. The hotel's front-desk staff is top notch. Ask about their Fiat service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Erik B,
Thank you taking the time to give us a review, and for coming back for a second visit! I’m glad you enjoy our very convenient location in DC, positioned walking distance to Metro stops (McPherson Square and Farragut North) serving the Blue, Orange and Red lines.

I appreciate you noting our staff and their top notch performance, as our team is dedicated to genuine, helpful service. This is a number one priority for us!

I’m excited you mentioned the FIAT free chauffeur program. Loews is excited to partner with FIAT USA to provide this free ride service for Loews Madison’s guests – offered daily for rides to many locations throughout DC. It’s a fun (free) way to explore city attractions! We hope many of our guests will begin to take advantage of this great offering.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we would love to welcome you back anytime you visit DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for 5 nights while touring the city. Great bed, great sleeping. We walked everywhere. Would recommend this to friends who enjoy walking. Good service too, but we didnt eat here. Loved the bedding and in-room coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sondra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear sondra s,
Thank you taking the time to give feedback about your stay. I’m very happy you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed great nights of sleep. Touring a city definitely calls for a good night of rest afterward! Hopefully you put the complimentary in-room Keurig coffee maker to good use! I’m glad you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of downtown DC, just four blocks from the White House and walking distance to a variety of attractions.

Thanks also for making note of our service. We make this a top priority and hope to leave a lasting impression on all our guests.

We appreciate you recommending us to friends and would love to welcome you back to Loews Madison anytime you visit Washington, DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,679 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
986 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £115 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing