We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovin' DC at Loews Madison Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovin' DC at Loews Madison Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This sharp boutique hotel offers a winning combination of style and warmth. Some of the historic hotels in DC are formal and museum-like whereas the Madison provides the luxury with a staff that is friendly and engaging. The location works well as it is a couple of scenic blocks outside the frenzied hub surrounding the White House and major attractions. Enjoyed the lobby and it's lounge entertainment. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Nick W,
Thank you for giving some nice, detailed feedback about your Loews Madison experience. You hit on some aspects of the property we work hard on – providing a warm, engaging and dynamic environment, that offers modern style in our historic setting. I’m very happy you experienced our staff’s friendly, personalized service.

Thanks for pointing out our convenient location! We are just four blocks from the White House and near other sites from Embassy Row to the National Mall. I’m glad you enjoyed the live jazz entertainment in our PostScript lounge off the lobby –we’re hosting live music nights Thursday through Saturday.

Hopefully you can visit again this Summer 2014, as we’re gearing up to open a brand new restaurant on property by Iron Chef Jose Garces.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    681
    232
    91
    59
See reviews for
518
533
77
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel itself is pretty with doormen and all the things that are supposed to make it classy. Its clean and nice but that is where it ends! there are absolutely NO EXTRAS that don't cost. Not even ice! If you want ice you have to call down and someone will bring it to you-i.e.you have to TIP! Not even a coffee pot in the room! And parking is $50 per night! Not something I found on the website. Overall, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Jenni D,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. I am glad you found the hotel pretty and clean, but am disappointed overall to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. We always work to exceed our guests' expectations from service to the amenities we offer, and I’m sorry this wasn’t the case for you. I want to address your points.

Although we are newly renovated, our hotel is an older building that doesn’t accommodate guest floor ice machines. We do have it available 24 hours a day for guests’ convenience through front desk or room service, and also offer an in-room mini-bar. Regarding, coffee, many guests are not yet aware, we do have a Starbucks barista in our lobby that is open during the day as an added guest service.

My apologies you feel that our overnight parking rate is high, however, our rates are in line with city hotels in the area.

I hope we might have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime to create a truly memorable experience. I thank you again for the feedback as guests’ input is critical to our success and continually improving our property.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynbrook, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My concierge, Ms. Bouhaouala was so obliging. She knew exactly what my kids would enjoy doing in DC. 5 star restaurant was great. Very clean and quite. There was great music in the lounge every night. The best was the Starbucks in the lobby.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moptops4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Moptops4,
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about Loews Madison. I’m very happy you experienced top notch, personalized service and that it helped create a memorable trip. Our head concierge, Kaouthar Bouhaouala, is a shining star, very knowledgeable and dedicated to our guests. We’re fortunate to have her on our team and often hear this kind of wonderful feedback – I will share your praise with her!

I’m excited you enjoyed our PostScript lounge and restaurant on property. The live music we added has been a big hit! On Thursdays we are featuring Latin jazz music, and Friday and Saturday evenings feature jazz trios. Coming this Summer 2014, we’ll open a second restaurant at Loews Madison – renowned Chef Jose Garces’ new Argentinian steakhouse!

I’m happy you liked our new barista bar inside the hotel, serving Starbucks coffee! We also offer some juices, other beverages and pastries, and hope guests enjoy the convenience of this near the lobby.

We hope to welcome you back to Loews Madison whenever your travels bring you to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel location is perfect close to all the site and reasonable to many restaurants etc. Only complain is the price to park ($50) but i have stayed in this part of town before and its always very high- but not quite this high. Also the room view was just to a courtyard and other rooms so that was not great but they did ask me to upgrade (for $50) but we did not. Is nice that they asked. The bedding , TV, etc. as well as the bath we all very nice though the room was a little small.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Handsomeman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Handsomeman57,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I appreciate you bringing up our location – perfect as you describe it! We are conveniently located in downtown DC – to give those reading this some markers – we are 4 blocks from the White House, 3 blocks to Metro lines, walking distance to the restaurant scene on 14th Street, the Convention Center and other sites such as the National Mall.

Regarding parking, we understand our rates can seem high to some not used to city parking, but please know that we conduct regular rate checks with local hotels and are confident our rates are in line with other hotels in the city. I’m glad to know you were offered the chance to upgrade to another room since we had availability; we always like to hear from our guests about preferences so we can create the best experience possible. I’m happy you found the room and bathroom to be very nice!

We hope to welcome you back to Loews Madison whenever your travels bring you to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed over Easter Weekend. Points:
1. $59 to valet park. I know parking in DC is expensive, but this is VERY high.
2. Very good service at the door and checking in. Arrived around 1:00 pm and was able to check in.
3. Rooms are not huge, but adequate as you're generally not in your room much in DC. Good, firm mattress and fine bedding.
4. Bathroom, like the BR, not too big, but good shelf space with top flight toiletries.
5. About 3 blocks to nearest Metro.
6. Flat screen TV, but only a few HD channels.
7. Free WiFi.
8. Clean lobby and clean rooms.
9. Rate was $219 for two queen beds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear jnenc,
Thank you for reviewing your stay, and providing some nice details. I’m very glad to see that our service is at the top part of your list – service that exceeds expectations is our goal. It’s also great to hear you found the bed comfortable and enjoyed various aspects of our property and offerings, from the lobby and bathroom products to our convenient downtown location and free WiFi offered in all guest rooms.

Regarding parking, as you mention city parking can seem high but please know that we conduct regular rate checks with local hotels and are confident our rates are in line with other hotels in the city.

We appreciate you choosing Loews Madison for your stay with family over Easter weekend, and we hope to welcome you back anytime you visit Washington, DC.

Thank you,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Luxury without being totally overpriced. Good enough location, about 10-15 minute walk to White House, longer for National Mall. Clean rooms, comfy beds, staff willing to help at all times. Only wish they had an outdoor sitting area.
Also there's a Starbucks (not full-service though) right near the lobby, in the building!

Room Tip: King deluxe and King luxury rooms face different directions...one faces the street, other the back o...
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't wash everything everyday, unless you request it. I think this is a great practice!
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Jacqueline P,
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay, and for the “great all around” review! I’m glad it was a luxurious, comfortable experience that fit your needs. Thanks for your note about our friendly, helpful staff- we pride ourselves on attentive service at all times. I’m happy you pointed out our convenient location, which is just 4 blocks from the White House, a quick stroll for many. We also enjoy being 3 blocks to Metro lines, and convenient to the National Mall, Embassy Row, and busy culinary and nightlife scene on 14th Street! Plus, with our free FIAT ride service, it's easy for guests to get dropped off at locations throughout the city!

I’m excited you enjoyed our Starbucks offerings – just this month, we opened our barista bar area within the hotel’s Postscript lounge and restaurant, just a few feet from the Front Desk.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was in Washington, D.C. for work and thanks to Kauthor my stay at the Loews Madison was excellent. Kauthor was very personable and informative. The staff at the front desk and door were also great in securing early morning cabs. I look forward to staying at the Loews Madison again the next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Christine L,
Thank you for taking time to review your Loews Madison experience. I’m glad it was a nice stay that has you planning to return to us! Thank you for highlighting our staff – Kaouthar, our head concierge, is a shining star on our team. With her combination of knowledge about Washington, DC, and dedication to our guests, we hear frequently about wonderful experiences and memories she has helped create!

I’m glad you experienced our commitment to top notch service all around, from the doormen assisting with cabs, to our front desk. Thank you for choosing Loews Madison – we’re excited to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing