We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to stay in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #80 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 May 2014

So many hotels in DC but I really liked the Loews Madison. It is in a busy part of town but near everything. Easy to walk to most places including great restaurants in the area. They have the signature Loews service, great. Really take care of you. Near the metro as well.

Room Tip: Upper floor with street view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear TreeMD,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are delighted to know what a great time you had at our hotel. We appreciate you mentioning our fantastic and central location as well as the superb service our team provides every day. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we are excited to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to the DC area.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,250)
There are newer reviews for Loews Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed here with my friend from April 28th until Monday 5th May 2014. The planning was done for us by the brilliant Angela of Barrhead Travel, Newton Mearns, so we knew the hotel would be good. In fact it was superlative, and the paramount virtue of this very good hotel is its staff and the levels of service they provide.
The location, a short walk to the White House, is central, good for transport and sightseeing. The queen-bedded room was great and well looked after by the maids; the corridors and lifts were spotless. The lobby and reception are splendid, and give onto the Post Script restaurant and bar.
Nothing was a problem for Sylvia at reception. She gave directions, advised, handled transportation back to Dulles airport, and offered us a delayed check-out of the room on our departure day so that we could maximise our morning and still come back and freshen up for the return journey (to Scotland). Sylvia is a shining example of friendly, smiling, welcoming efficiency.
The Post Script is all elegant buzz. The managers, Rob and Adam, run a very smooth operation. Rob is tall, calm and professorial; Adam a firecracker of a human being. Both men could not have been more caring and courteous. They control a wonderful team of waiters and waitresses. I remember their names and will never forget how memorable they made our stay:
Oscar, from Colombia via New Jersey (you just want to take him home with you); Sonia, beautiful as well as brilliant; Igor and Rob and Mohammed, discreet, observant, watchful of your every need.
The food is exceptional, the menu concentrating on American classics. For breakfast try the Post Script eggs benedict (with black truffle) or the Belgian chocolate waffles (OMG!); for dinner the crab cakes or the flat iron steak. The chef and his staff are working at the height of their powers. And there's a terrific bar, managed, as you'd expect, with friendly élan.
Loews Madison picks its staff with care, and everything works. Guys, thank you all.

Room Tip: Rooms giving on to 15th St are better than those overlooking the back, as out back there is moderate...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MK1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear MK1177,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were delighted to hear about your fantastic stay and the many positive interactions with our team members. They were delighted to know that they played a role in ensuring your time in DC was memorable. Thank you for such exemplary remarks and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

very friendly reception and great room, could use fridge for own purposes which was ideal as we preferred to buy our own breakfast and eat in. Great location, easy to find, and 5/10 mins from metro when needed. Concierge Milan was extremely friendly and efficient, thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeLinda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear MikeLinda23,
Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and all of the services provided. We apologize that you were unaware that we do have refrigerators available upon request for our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime you are in the DC area.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I've stayed at (first) "The Madison" and (now) "Loews Madison" about half-a-dozen times. Some rooms are better than others - I've had a few tiny and/or odd-shaped rooms and a few nice, big, well laid-out rooms.

All rooms are comfortably equipped: comfortable bedding, a comfy chair to sit in, real glasses to drink out of, an umbrella in case you forgot yours, a robe, heat/air conditioning and hot water/cold water is never a problem, etc., etc. The building is older, but has been very well maintained - you'll certainly have no 'old and beat-up' complaints.

The windows are (not sure what to call it) "noise proofed" against street noise. Only when an ambulance goes by will you hear anything, and even then only barely. And if you get a room facing inward, you won't hear a thing.

The exercise room was well thought-out: air-conditioned, a fridge with water and towels, free weights, mirrors, TV's, etc.

The hotel is located in a "good" section of town. On many occasions I've taken a solo walk late in the evening and never felt unsafe in the area.

My only complaint are the odd-shaped rooms, and those really aren't bad (I've certainly seen worse). Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 376JohnnyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear 376JohnnyS,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent stay. We were very happy to hear all of the positive comments and the appreciation you have for our wonderful hotel. We were delighted to know that you have enjoyed the various aspects and the transition of the Madison to the Loews Madison. We are excited to know that you will recommend our hotel to all your family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My spouse and I stayed here the weekend of May 2-4 and had a wonderful stay. We arrived early around 11am on Friday and they were able to check us into our 6th floor deluxe king room. I was impressed they allowed early checkin and we were quite happy having had an early flight and we just wanted to nap. Our room was spacious and the king bed was really comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and had premium toilletries. The OnDemand movie selection was pretty good, though expensive ($18 for newer movies!) Depsite this, it was our weekend getaway and worth the splurge. We ordered room service one night and it was quick. Overall, we were impressed with the service at the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Dan M,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We were very happy to hear that you were able to check in early and start your getaway off on the right foot. It was great to read how much you enjoyed our rooms and how comfortable you found the beds. We appreciate your thoughts and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I recently went to Washington DC for a conference. The conference hotel was booked and so I booked at Loews Madison. This hotel was just better than the conference hotel according to friends that was staying at the conference hotel. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The only knock I have would is better equipment in the fitness center is a must have.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear John B,
Thank you for your review. I’m excited you got the chance to try Loews Madison and that you enjoyed your stay during the conference. We always focus on friendly, personalized service so I’m glad you experienced this and got tips from our knowledgeable staff. Regarding our 24-hour fitness center, we are currently looking at how we can make improvements, and I appreciate you providing us with this feedback.

I hope we will get the chance to welcome you again to Loews Madison should your travels bring you back to Washington, DC.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

In town for one night only, one night only and had some points to burn so I chose this hotel. To keep it short and sweet the service and hotel rooms were nice. The bed was nice, comfy and I got some good sleep. I did not get a chance to have breakfast and try room service or test out the gym. I did have a drink and food at the bar and juan took great care of me. Only problem that sticks out is that when we pulled up to check in the door guys didn't ask did we need help nor say anything to us! We were the only people out front. They were too busy talking! Get it together guys! If I had paid money this would have been a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Playerham42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Playerham42,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I’m pleased you found our hotel and overall service nice and enjoyed a comfortable night’s sleep. Although your trip was too short to try all our offerings, I’m glad you enjoyed the food and drink at our PostScript restaurant and bar. I want to apologize for the lapse in service at your arrival and any inconvenience this caused you. It’s our priority to provide welcoming service from the very first moment, to the last, and I have discussed your concerns with my team to ensure top notch service is always delivered. Thank you for providing us with feedback – it’s critical to ensure we’re exceeding our guests’ expectations.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back, anytime you travel to DC. Coming in Summer 2014, we’re excited to open a new restaurant by Iron Chef Jose Garces, so perhaps you will get the chance to check it out.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,680 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#92 of 142 in Washington DC
990 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £115 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing