We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night- but great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One night- but great stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We only stayed at the Madison for one night but had a great night there.

We were greeted by a very friendly doorman (and were consequently greeted each time we came in and out over the next days) and were helped swiftly up to our room.

Rooms are lovely- very comfortable beds with fantastic pillows!! We did have a refridgerator in the room, and don't drink coffee so the no coffee machine was not a problem- but did frequent the Starbucks downstairs for other goodies. Apparently peets across the road has great coffee?
Shower head is movable so does not spray directly into your face as previously reveiwed- nice spacious bathroom area.

Location is pretty good- few blocks walk from white house and a $10 taxi fare into georgetown for shopping..

We did eat lunch downstairs and we loved it, however to get room service extra charges are put on for delivery???? Up a few floors? That would have made it waaay too expensive so opted to walk down the block to au bon pain.

Overall we had a great time here. If it is really so much of an issue to not have ice and a coffee machine in the room- just dont come to the hotel so you wont have to complain about it afterwards, otherwise I would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Catherine M,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to review our property. We were delighted to read what a wonderful experience you had. We were so happy you found the service and rooms to be top notch and that you were able to enjoy our fantastic location. Thank you for pointing out our adjustable shower heads in all rooms which allow guests to properly set their water temperature prior to getting under the shower. Thank you again for all the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Washington DC.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    700
    239
    93
    62
See reviews for
533
543
78
698
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Visited for a business workshop. Rooms were decent, well appointed, except: sorta small (typical in DC) and dark (I thought I was in a Marriott). Didn't try the fitness or business centers, but they looked nice and well maintained. Not a lot of buzz.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RielyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear RielyC,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback about our hotel. I was happy that you were comfortable as a business traveler and we met all of your needs to enjoy a productive meeting while in town. I'm sorry you were unable to enjoy our fitness or business centers as we often get very positive feedback about both. Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Washington DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stay was fantastic. All staff were friendly and outgoing providing great service. Rooms were well appointed and clean. I loved the fiat car service. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to DC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Traveler9561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Traveler9561,
Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad your stay was wonderful and you enjoyed our friendly staff. It’s wonderful to hear you found the room well-appointed and you had fun using our FIAT chauffeured drop-off service for guests. Thank you very much for recommending our property and for choosing Loews Madison as your destination hotel.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Planned a 4 day DC trip with my family. Best part about this hotel is the location. Found all the staff to be stuffy but not overly friendly. No access to coffee, ice or a refrigerator to store snacks. Need to call room service for everything. You never talk to a person when you call, you leave a message and they call you back in a few minutes to verify your needs. Restaurant only open til 11 which perplexes me since the city's monuments can be viewed till late in the night. So we walked 4 blocks at 11:30 at night to Stoneys and had delicious pizza. I used booking. com, which was supposed to be a great deal. I was charged $700 more than the price i was quoted. It was a great trip but this hotel did not meet our needs like the Marriott Fairfield did the 2 nights before!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Teri H,
Thank you for staying with us recently while you were in town. I was very disappointed to read that you felt our team members were not overly friendly. We pride ourselves in creating supremely comfortable experiences with top notch service everyday but I apologize if that was not the case in your experience. As you mention, part of our service includes allowing us to serve your every need, whether that be for coffee, ice or a refrigerator, all are available upon request. We just opened a wonderful Starbuck's Barista in our lobby to give our guests more options and another added amenity while at the hotel.

I am equally sorry and disappointed about the challenges you described with Room Service. You can rest assured that our Food and Beverage Director is looking into this issue to avoid a reoccurence.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regars,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Visited for a business meeting. Hotel is comfortable and well maintained. Not the most convenient to transportation, but is serviceable. A few more close-by eating choices would be helpful. Did not use business center or firness center, but both looked good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Ronald H,
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us while attending to business in DC. It was great to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and well maintained.

I am surprised to hear that you were disappointed with our access to transportation. We are located only 2.5 blocks from the Orange/Blue line Metro at McPherson Square as well as having a convenient taxi stand immediately out front of the hotel. In addition we also provide our FIAT car service which drops guests off anywhere in a 3 mile radius between 11:30am and 6:45pm. As for eating options, we are located just a few blocks from many of the hottest new restaurants in DC on 14th St. We are also excited to be opening our new restaurant, Rural Society by celebrity chef Jose Garces, this weekend! We believe this will give our guests another great option for dining right here on property.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy Rural Society.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The location was great, just a few blocks from the White House and close to two Metro stops. It felt like the staff really went out of their way to be hospitable. There is a clear culture of service at this hotel. The rooms were spacious with modern bathrooms. Outstanding hotel and staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear B G,
Thank you so much for staying with us recently and sharing such fantastic comments about your stay. We are so happy that your experience was truly memorable. Our team works so hard every day to ensure our guests are supremely comfortable and it is great to hear that this was the case for you. We have shared your kind words with all of our team members and they were grateful to hear the positive comments. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very clean, friendly staff,comfortable!
this is the best hotel we had during my family vacation trip from Boston ,New york, Atlantic city.I highly recommend Loews hotel. I will stay loews hotel in another city's .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jinwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jinwen L,
Thank you for your comments. We are so delighted you had an excellent stay! I’m happy everything was clean and comfortable, and you our staff provided you friendly service. It’s an honor to be named as your best hotel on your East coast vacation, and to know your stay with Loews Madison will encourage you to check out Loews in other cities. We have many beautiful hotels and resorts throughout the U.S. and Canada!

Thank you very much for choosing Loews in Washington, DC, and I sincerely hope you will return anytime your travels bring you to DC.

Cheers!
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
890 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
397 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing