We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced. Does not deserve a 4 star rating.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #89 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed for 4 nights recently. Terrible wood burning smell in room and cigarette smell throught the vents when we returned in the evenings to sleep. Fire drill went off at 6:45 am. Bathroom sinks had mold and filthy scum under rim, although they were cleaned after I informed the staff. No basic amenities like water or tea available. We asked the concierge to book tickets for Spy museum and was told we didn't need to. The meals were good. Door staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 145,672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear 145672,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us. I was very disappointed to read about the various challenges you found during your stay. I apologize for the smoke smell you encountered, which was caused by one of the pieces of exhaust equipment for our new restaurant not functioning properly. I am happy to report that since this was brought to our attention, we have been able to get this machinery repaired to elimante this smoke smell.

As for the fire alarm, we do apologize as this was something out of the hotel's control. It ended up being a sensor that was tripped in the attached office building resulting in an alarm within the entire building including our hotel. I do truly apologize for these terrible inconveniences during your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to share them with us and I am confident if you give us the opportunity to host you again as our guest the next time your travels bring you to DC you won't be disappointed.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We only stayed at the Madison for one night but had a great night there.

We were greeted by a very friendly doorman (and were consequently greeted each time we came in and out over the next days) and were helped swiftly up to our room.

Rooms are lovely- very comfortable beds with fantastic pillows!! We did have a refridgerator in the room, and don't drink coffee so the no coffee machine was not a problem- but did frequent the Starbucks downstairs for other goodies. Apparently peets across the road has great coffee?
Shower head is movable so does not spray directly into your face as previously reveiwed- nice spacious bathroom area.

Location is pretty good- few blocks walk from white house and a $10 taxi fare into georgetown for shopping..

We did eat lunch downstairs and we loved it, however to get room service extra charges are put on for delivery???? Up a few floors? That would have made it waaay too expensive so opted to walk down the block to au bon pain.

Overall we had a great time here. If it is really so much of an issue to not have ice and a coffee machine in the room- just dont come to the hotel so you wont have to complain about it afterwards, otherwise I would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Catherine M,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to review our property. We were delighted to read what a wonderful experience you had. We were so happy you found the service and rooms to be top notch and that you were able to enjoy our fantastic location. Thank you for pointing out our adjustable shower heads in all rooms which allow guests to properly set their water temperature prior to getting under the shower. Thank you again for all the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Washington DC.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Visited for a business workshop. Rooms were decent, well appointed, except: sorta small (typical in DC) and dark (I thought I was in a Marriott). Didn't try the fitness or business centers, but they looked nice and well maintained. Not a lot of buzz.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank RielyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear RielyC,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback about our hotel. I was happy that you were comfortable as a business traveler and we met all of your needs to enjoy a productive meeting while in town. I'm sorry you were unable to enjoy our fitness or business centers as we often get very positive feedback about both. Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Washington DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stay was fantastic. All staff were friendly and outgoing providing great service. Rooms were well appointed and clean. I loved the fiat car service. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to DC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Traveler9561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Traveler9561,
Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad your stay was wonderful and you enjoyed our friendly staff. It’s wonderful to hear you found the room well-appointed and you had fun using our FIAT chauffeured drop-off service for guests. Thank you very much for recommending our property and for choosing Loews Madison as your destination hotel.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Planned a 4 day DC trip with my family. Best part about this hotel is the location. Found all the staff to be stuffy but not overly friendly. No access to coffee, ice or a refrigerator to store snacks. Need to call room service for everything. You never talk to a person when you call, you leave a message and they call you back in a few minutes to verify your needs. Restaurant only open til 11 which perplexes me since the city's monuments can be viewed till late in the night. So we walked 4 blocks at 11:30 at night to Stoneys and had delicious pizza. I used booking. com, which was supposed to be a great deal. I was charged $700 more than the price i was quoted. It was a great trip but this hotel did not meet our needs like the Marriott Fairfield did the 2 nights before!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Teri H,
Thank you for staying with us recently while you were in town. I was very disappointed to read that you felt our team members were not overly friendly. We pride ourselves in creating supremely comfortable experiences with top notch service everyday but I apologize if that was not the case in your experience. As you mention, part of our service includes allowing us to serve your every need, whether that be for coffee, ice or a refrigerator, all are available upon request. We just opened a wonderful Starbuck's Barista in our lobby to give our guests more options and another added amenity while at the hotel.

I am equally sorry and disappointed about the challenges you described with Room Service. You can rest assured that our Food and Beverage Director is looking into this issue to avoid a reoccurence.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regars,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Visited for a business meeting. Hotel is comfortable and well maintained. Not the most convenient to transportation, but is serviceable. A few more close-by eating choices would be helpful. Did not use business center or firness center, but both looked good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Ronald H,
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us while attending to business in DC. It was great to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and well maintained.

I am surprised to hear that you were disappointed with our access to transportation. We are located only 2.5 blocks from the Orange/Blue line Metro at McPherson Square as well as having a convenient taxi stand immediately out front of the hotel. In addition we also provide our FIAT car service which drops guests off anywhere in a 3 mile radius between 11:30am and 6:45pm. As for eating options, we are located just a few blocks from many of the hottest new restaurants in DC on 14th St. We are also excited to be opening our new restaurant, Rural Society by celebrity chef Jose Garces, this weekend! We believe this will give our guests another great option for dining right here on property.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy Rural Society.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The location was great, just a few blocks from the White House and close to two Metro stops. It felt like the staff really went out of their way to be hospitable. There is a clear culture of service at this hotel. The rooms were spacious with modern bathrooms. Outstanding hotel and staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear B G,
Thank you so much for staying with us recently and sharing such fantastic comments about your stay. We are so happy that your experience was truly memorable. Our team works so hard every day to ensure our guests are supremely comfortable and it is great to hear that this was the case for you. We have shared your kind words with all of our team members and they were grateful to hear the positive comments. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
216 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
3,205 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £77 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing