We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Staff - Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
“Great Hotel - Great Staff - Great Experience”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After looking at many options available in DC, we decided to book with the Lowes Madison for a family vacation during 4th of July week. The decision was based on price, location and our past experiences at Lowes hotels. Our overall experience was excellent. The condition of the hotel met its 4 start rating. The decor and rooms were just as advertised online via description and photos. The rates were good in comparison to comparable rooms available for the holiday weekend. The Staff on site were excellent! The bellman, doorman, lobby receptionist, room service, wait staff and bar staff all were both professional and made us feel very comfortable during our stay. The food/drinks at the hotel was great and affordable. The daily parking fee did seem a little high at $50/day. However they did have a free shuttle service available that we were able to take advantage of. Overall - great staff, great hotel = great experience for our family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSO1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear JSO1977,
Thank you very much for your review. Wow, great experience all around!! I’m delighted to hear that we were a wonderful fit for your family’s vacation this summer. I’m glad you enjoyed our décor and rooms and am particularly pleased that our staff were part of giving you an excellent experience. Our team members are dedicated to personalized and memorable service, and they were excited to hear your positive feedback.

I’m happy you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings. Regarding parking, please know that we conduct regular rate checks with local hotels and are confident our rates are in line with other hotels in the city. I am glad you enjoyed our two FIAT cars offering guests complimentary drop-off rides (advance reservations recommended).

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    687
    234
    91
    60
See reviews for
522
537
78
674
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family and I booked our room with Loews Madison for a one night stay. We have two children ages 5 and 6. We usually always book a room with 2 queen beds. When I asked for a room with 2 queen beds at check in they said they were out and bait and switched us to a room with a king and pull out couch and increased the price of the room by $50. They told me to call when we were ready for the couch to be converted. I called and an hour later housekeeping arrives. Not ideal response time in that situation. The pull out couch was pitiful. The room had chunks of molding missing from the floor board. The couch was stained. The next day my AMX was hit with a $250+ charge from "missing" mini-bar items. Our room had an empty fridge in it that was not even cold! I called right away and they said "oh we thought you had used everything in the mini bar we didn't know it was empty we thought you stole everything!" WHAT? After a horrible experience I wasn't going to even waste time with a review until that charge happened. I want to warn future guests that this was a terrible experience. I am very upset they have my AMX info and are hitting it with unauthorized and ridiculous charges. I am calling AMX now.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Scott C,
Thank you for your time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. Although we have spoken with you since your visit, and I understand our Director of Rooms, Justin Adam, has ensured proper resolution, I am glad for the chance to address your concerns for the TripAdvisor community.

I was very disappointed reading about your frustrating experience. While you requested a room with 2 queen beds upon arrival at our front desk, our records show you had reserved a King bed room prior to arrival. Unfortunately we were fully committed in queen bedded rooms during your stay dates, but I am very pleased our team was able to accommodate your request at check-in and place you in an upgraded King room with a sofabed to better accommodate your family. This upgrade was given complimentary to you because of the service challenges you mentioned, so we apologize for the miscommunication giving you the feeling of “bait and switch” that you mentioned. I am sorry for your long wait for the sofabed to be converted, as this is not common and we completely understand the inconvenience this caused.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the incorrect Amex charge, and I am glad the charge was reversed immediately upon notification. I understand your frustration. Please know we have reviewed this with the new team member to ensure proper training. I hope you will consider giving us an opportunity to regain your confidence in Loews Madison the next time your travels bring you to Washington, DC.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
202-862-1600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Ephraim, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Everyone who worked there was so helpful and kind! The front desk was very polite and thoughtful and the concierge, housekeeping and connecting restaurants to the hotel were very polite as well. The rooms were so comfy and spacious and great location to downtown and short walk to nearby Metro!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Danielle M,
We appreciate your time to review your Loews Madison visit. It’s a real delight to hear such praises for our team members, as they work hard every day to create a welcoming and comfortable environment for our guests. I’m so glad you experienced their top notch service from concierge to housekeeping to the front desk and our restaurants. It’s great that you found the room to be spacious and comfortable. And, we appreciate you mentioning our convenient location in downtown DC which is near two Metro lines. There is so much to see and do in DC, it’s wonderful to have easy transportation options nearby!

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we hope to welcome you back for future stays.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel with nice people (for check-in and breakfast especially) and great location (walking distance from the White House). But needs a couple of improvements: impossible to park in front of the hotel to handle the luggages (really bad points ... and the employees there are useless); our room was at the upper floor and was noisy; Parking at 50$ is prohibitive but there are plenty of opportunities nearby (watch out the tickets!).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JPGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear JPGrand,
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff and great location which is within walking distance to the White House. We very much value all of our guests input, so thank you for your constructive feedback. First, please accept my apologies that our staff did provide the utmost prompt and helpful service as you pulled up. We take great pride in having a professional staff of doormen, front desk, and beyond, and I’m disappointed you did not experience their best service. I addressed your comments with our Director of Rooms to ensure corrective action. I’m sorry to learn your floor was noisy, and please know we work hard to create a comfortable environment for our guests. We encourage all guests to let us know promptly while on property if they have any concerns about noise. Finally, we regularly conduct parking rate checks with local hotels and are confident our rates are in line with other hotels in the city.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with us – we appreciate them as we are always looking at how to better our property. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back when you visit DC in the future.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Everything about this hotel was excellent. We had a brilliant stay and were very comfortable. Hotel staff were always polite and very helpful if we needed anything. Great location and an even better room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear J S,
Thank you very much for your feedback. I’m glad you had a fabulous stay! Thank you for complimenting our polite, accommodating staff. There’s nothing better than hearing that everything was wonderful, and I’m delighted our convenient location and comfortable guest rooms were part of your very positive experience.

Thank you so much for choosing Loews Madison, and we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Located in a busy street but the rooms are cozy. Room and bath are spotless. Trying to figure out where to park was very confusing so I ended up parking across the street in the office building.
Staff in the lobby bar was great, also great drink selections.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaiMeiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear PaiMeiLi,
We are delighted that you were able to stay with us recently and that you found the hotel to be spotless! I was disappointed to learn of the trouble you had with parking. While we are in the center of DC, our Door team works very hard to ensure access at the front of the hotel for all of our guests, regardless of the DC traffic situation. We regret to hear this was not the case for your arrival and for that we truly apologize. We are continuously looking for ways to improve in all areas so we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Justin Adam
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family stayed here on a week long vacation to D.C. The location is excellent for being central for sightseeing and dining. The attention to detail here is lacking and we had to call the front desk several times for needs, our issues were attended to but the issues were the type were we had to remind the hotel of their responsibilities. The rooms are on the smaller side but acceptable, do not expect a view from this property. although we found the staff cordial, this property is not proactive in service. The in room wifi is free for one device, multiple devices is free with a Loews membership but finicky.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank #1LakerDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear #1LakerDad,
Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback. We were happy to hear that our location was perfect for all the activities and sites you wanted to see while in DC. I am truly sorry that you found our service to be less than expected in some areas. Our team strives to anticipate all of our guests needs but clearly we failed to do that for you.
We apologize if you found our internet to be finicky. We do have complimentary internet for up to 3 devices per room. If our guests prefer, we have an upgraded version that allows up to 8 devices per room and is recommended for streaming movies or video calls.
We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience. As we take our guests' feedback very seriously, I would welcome a call to hear the specifics on what needs were not anticipated and where the service was lacking. We utilize this feedback in our on going team member training program. If you would be kind enough to share with me, I can be reached directly at 202-587-2607. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Justin Adam
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
1,574 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
848 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#79 of 140 in Washington DC
153 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing