We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in DC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #86 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here as a "layover" on our family vacation. We checked in around 4:30. Jose greeted us warmly as we arrived and helped us with our bags. Our room was beautiful and we were treated to chocolate covered strawberries, white wine, cold milk and warm cookies when we arrived at the room! Tashna took great care of us and made sure our stay was special. Innocent, the concierge, gave us great recommendations for dinner as well! We had stayed at another luxury hotel the weekend before in DC and this experience was so much better! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jacinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Jacinda B,
Thank you very much for your review and great feedback. I’m delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and appreciated the warm welcome from our team members. Our staff genuinely cares about our guests’ experiences and works hard to make them memorable, and I’m so happy you experienced this. Thank you for mentioning you would definitely stay with us again – it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Loews Madison!

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 2,348 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is great and I always try to stay here if it is convenient for my business travel needs. The staff is always very pleasant which is nice because it is at times a real pain to get in and out of DC by train or aiplane. When the staff greets you with a smile and a hello sir it kick-starts you relaxation.

The only negative is that the lobby is always packed and you have to maneuver your way in and out and through people to get to the front desk, restaurants and elevators. But one you get to your room things are great.

Room Tip: Most rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toughnlcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear toughnlcentral,
We greatly appreciate your review of our property, as well as your loyalty to Loews Madison. I’m delighted to learn that our friendly, professional staff and their personalized service are part of the reason you choose to return here for your business travel to DC. Thank you very much for recognizing our commitment to service. Regarding the lobby, this is helpful feedback as we consider improvement projects in the year ahead. We are glad to be busy but never want our guests to be inconvenienced. Thank you for letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and thank you again for being a guest of Loews Madison.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the Argentine steak restaurant inside. It is the primary food option. Very expensive, e. g. $42 for ribeye steak, $3 for ice in your drink. Not much selection for food. Service in the mornings is very slow. No salt/pepper or any condiments on the table. Pork tenderloin and sausages, two of the more affordable menu options are good. The side order of two types of mushrooms is the highlight. Everything is priced separately. For dinner, expect to spend $60-$75.
The room was spacious but no coffee maker in room which is always unacceptable for me. Bed was above average but not as good as one would expect for a room costing this much. Find another place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Ralph R,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback – we take very seriously all guest input including where we are doing well and constructive feedback. I am disappointed to hear you felt that you did not receive a good value. We work hard to give our guests top notch service and memorable experiences, from seeing and tasting the best of the city to having supremely comfortable rooms. I am sorry the restaurant was not a fit for you, and do apologize for the slow morning service. Rural Society is our new Argentine steakhouse by Iron Chef Jose Garces, and it is served in a tapas style, or small plates, in which diners can order several individual items to try a variety of the menu. We recently opened breakfast, and I can assure you the slow service challenge was addressed in the immediate days after opening. We are proud of the high marks on service and food quality which we have received from many of our guests and local patrons. Regarding coffee, we have a Barista Bar in our lobby serving several Starbucks Coffee and beverage options.

Thank you again for your comments- we do review all guest feedback regularly for opportunities to reinforce popular offerings and to improve both the property and guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I and our two children recently stayed here for one night in July. I cannot say enough about the staff here at the Loews Madison. Everyone is knowledgeable and very attentive. Everyone is also very friendly and ready to help answer any questions that one may have. They have an onsite service with Fiat. They will drop you off anywhere (within a certain radius) in the city. You do have to get back to the hotel on your own. I did feel that the parking was a bit pricey - $60.00 (including tax). But, if you don't need your car once you get there, there is a parking garage just a block away that charges $30.00 for the night.

I found the rooms to be decorated very nicely, and they were very clean. When we left our room to explore the city, we came back to our trash cans being emptied, which was a nice touch. It would have been nice if there was a pool to use, but not many hotels in the city have that feature.

We loved the service and the rooms here - we would love to come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlesznar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear mlesznar,
Thank you very much for your time to review Loews Madison. It’s wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your visit, and I’m absolutely delighted our staff’s service left a lasting impression with you. Service is our top priority so thank you for highlighting team members’ knowledge and friendliness, as well as their attention to your needs. I’m excited you enjoyed our FIAT complimentary drop-off ride service! Isn’t it a fun option for getting to some of the top sites around the city? The 3-mile radius will take you to a majority of DC’s sites. Regarding parking, we do conduct regular rate checks with local hotels and are confident our rates are in line with other hotels in the city that offer come and go anytime privileges, which is what our garage offers.

Thank you for commenting on the décor of our rooms, as well as cleanliness! We appreciate that you chose to stay with, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back during future visits to our nation’s capital.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Valet service is goofy. $50.00 per night and they wander around like chickens from a third world nation.

Upon check in ... was directed to self move my vehicle. Front desk staff spent 15 minutes arguing about it.

Food quality and dining staff are excellent if you don't mind the extreme prices and tiny quantity. $46.00 for an apple juice; tiny cup of soup, and a very small plate of cheese with a dribble of hobbit sized bread slices.

Room service is slow and the third world nation quality of service does not have good communication skills.

Stayed on the 8th floor and heard sirens and traffic all night and loud talking. Rooms aren't very sound proof to outside noise.

Rooms very clean and well appointed. Certainly not worth $300 plus per night.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximusProximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear MaximusProximo,
We appreciate you taking the time to review Loews Madison and give us feedback. Providing consistently exceptional service is our number one priority here, so I am sorry to learn that your experience was mixed. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the various service challenges you mention. I have gone over your points with the Director of Rooms, regarding the front desk, as well as the Director of Food and Beverage, to ensure corrective actions. Thank you for highlighting our great dining staff and food quality, although I am sorry you were disappointed with the quantity.
As with most downtown, urban hotels, there is some city noise in our surrounding area, and I hope you were not uncomfortable. Although we do not frequently hear from guests with noise concerns, we always try to move guests when possible, if this is requested.

Thank you again for your feedback- it is very valuable to us to ensure we are continually looking for opportunities to not only meet but exceed our guests' expectations.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Loews Madison staff members with whom I interacted were excellent; always attentive and service-oriented. The hotel is in a great location and has very nice facilities. The rooms seemed /generally/ well-kept, with one exception...

One major issue that detracted from my stay involved the lack of cleanliness of the bedding in the room I reserved. When I arrived in the room and laid down on the edge of the bed after a long day of travel and meetings, I noticed a faint smell of urine. Upon further inspection, the small decorative pillow on the bed, which was resting against the guest pillows, reeked of urine. While hotel services immediately relocated me to a larger room upon becoming aware of the issue, it was incomprehensible how this could escape the housekeeping crew that prepared the room after the prior guest's departure.

Despite this drawback, the staff was prompt and courteous in attempting to resolve the issue and the second room was clean and comfortable. Aside from the lack of cleanliness of the first room's bedding, this Loews Madison hotel was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MMM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear MMM M,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback. We were delighted to hear about the fantastic service you described and how perfect our location was for you. I truly apologize for the oversight you mentioned regarding the pillow in your room. You can be sure the pillow mentioned was discarded and all other bedding was sent out to be laundered upon hearing of your issue. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention while you were on property and am glad to hear that our staff was able to find a quick solution for you. Thank you again for staying with us last week and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Washington DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice hotel. Very friendly & helpful staff. Nice room ( premium king size). Don't here people in hallway because of air conditioning in room. Comfortable bed. Well located for food (10 min walk from Dupont circle). A good 25 minutes walk from the Mall though.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Karim S,
Thank you very much for your time to review Loews Madison. It’s wonderful to hear you were quite pleased with your stay and enjoyed our property. Thank you for the praise of our friendly and helpful team members! They always appreciate hearing positive feedback.

I’m glad you enjoyed your room, and that everything was comfortable. It’s also good to know you enjoyed our central location, which is walking distance to the White House and popular neighborhoods with great sites and restaurants, like Dupont Circle (a wonderful spot to see many embassies, too). Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we hope for the chance to welcome you back anytime you visit DC!

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
252 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,385 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,767 reviews
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £88 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing