We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have lived in DC and now travel there often for work. Having stayed in hotels all over the city, I now only stay at the Madison. The staff is friendly and helpful, there's a decent gym in the hotel, a new restaurant with a good menu, and the location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear John V,
Thank you very much for your time to review Loews Madison. It’s always so nice to hear from loyal guests and get your feedback. I am delighted to know our friendly, professional staff and ideal location are among the top reasons you stay here! We work hard to provide consistently excellent service. I’m glad our complimentary fitness center is also a benefit, and I’m excited to let you know we are actively looking into upgrading this area. Finally, you mention our new restaurant – Rural Society is renowned Chef Jose Garces’ new Argentine steakhouse within the Loews Madison. It has a wonderful menu for meat, vegetable and pasta lovers alike and is serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Oh, and a wonderful happy hour with live music on our outdoor patio!

We greatly appreciate your loyalty to Loews Madison and look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best!
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    701
    239
    93
    62
See reviews for
533
543
78
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I loved their location. It's conveniently location and is very close to White House and other tourist attractions.

The rooms were very comfortable and were recently renovated.

I would certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naweed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Naweed L,
How wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed our central location in downtown Washington, DC! We are just a few blocks from the White House, as well as a few Metro lines and other popular sites and restaurants. I am so glad you enjoyed our renovated guest rooms and found everything to be very comfortable. Thank you so much for your comments, and for staying with Loews Madison. We very much look forward to welcoming you back whenever you travel to DC.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkiomenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here as a "layover" on our family vacation. We checked in around 4:30. Jose greeted us warmly as we arrived and helped us with our bags. Our room was beautiful and we were treated to chocolate covered strawberries, white wine, cold milk and warm cookies when we arrived at the room! Tashna took great care of us and made sure our stay was special. Innocent, the concierge, gave us great recommendations for dinner as well! We had stayed at another luxury hotel the weekend before in DC and this experience was so much better! We would definitely stay here again!

Green Features: there was a recycling bin in the room! I never saw one before!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Jacinda B,
Thank you very much for your review and great feedback. I’m delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and appreciated the warm welcome from our team members. Our staff genuinely cares about our guests’ experiences and works hard to make them memorable, and I’m so happy you experienced this. Thank you for mentioning you would definitely stay with us again – it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Loews Madison!

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is great and I always try to stay here if it is convenient for my business travel needs. The staff is always very pleasant which is nice because it is at times a real pain to get in and out of DC by train or aiplane. When the staff greets you with a smile and a hello sir it kick-starts you relaxation.

The only negative is that the lobby is always packed and you have to maneuver your way in and out and through people to get to the front desk, restaurants and elevators. But one you get to your room things are great.

Room Tip: Most rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toughnlcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear toughnlcentral,
We greatly appreciate your review of our property, as well as your loyalty to Loews Madison. I’m delighted to learn that our friendly, professional staff and their personalized service are part of the reason you choose to return here for your business travel to DC. Thank you very much for recognizing our commitment to service. Regarding the lobby, this is helpful feedback as we consider improvement projects in the year ahead. We are glad to be busy but never want our guests to be inconvenienced. Thank you for letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and thank you again for being a guest of Loews Madison.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
395 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the Argentine steak restaurant inside. It is the primary food option. Very expensive, e. g. $42 for ribeye steak, $3 for ice in your drink. Not much selection for food. Service in the mornings is very slow. No salt/pepper or any condiments on the table. Pork tenderloin and sausages, two of the more affordable menu options are good. The side order of two types of mushrooms is the highlight. Everything is priced separately. For dinner, expect to spend $60-$75.
The room was spacious but no coffee maker in room which is always unacceptable for me. Bed was above average but not as good as one would expect for a room costing this much. Find another place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Ralph R,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback – we take very seriously all guest input including where we are doing well and constructive feedback. I am disappointed to hear you felt that you did not receive a good value. We work hard to give our guests top notch service and memorable experiences, from seeing and tasting the best of the city to having supremely comfortable rooms. I am sorry the restaurant was not a fit for you, and do apologize for the slow morning service. Rural Society is our new Argentine steakhouse by Iron Chef Jose Garces, and it is served in a tapas style, or small plates, in which diners can order several individual items to try a variety of the menu. We recently opened breakfast, and I can assure you the slow service challenge was addressed in the immediate days after opening. We are proud of the high marks on service and food quality which we have received from many of our guests and local patrons. Regarding coffee, we have a Barista Bar in our lobby serving several Starbucks Coffee and beverage options.

Thank you again for your comments- we do review all guest feedback regularly for opportunities to reinforce popular offerings and to improve both the property and guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I and our two children recently stayed here for one night in July. I cannot say enough about the staff here at the Loews Madison. Everyone is knowledgeable and very attentive. Everyone is also very friendly and ready to help answer any questions that one may have. They have an onsite service with Fiat. They will drop you off anywhere (within a certain radius) in the city. You do have to get back to the hotel on your own. I did feel that the parking was a bit pricey - $60.00 (including tax). But, if you don't need your car once you get there, there is a parking garage just a block away that charges $30.00 for the night.

I found the rooms to be decorated very nicely, and they were very clean. When we left our room to explore the city, we came back to our trash cans being emptied, which was a nice touch. It would have been nice if there was a pool to use, but not many hotels in the city have that feature.

We loved the service and the rooms here - we would love to come back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlesznar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear mlesznar,
Thank you very much for your time to review Loews Madison. It’s wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your visit, and I’m absolutely delighted our staff’s service left a lasting impression with you. Service is our top priority so thank you for highlighting team members’ knowledge and friendliness, as well as their attention to your needs. I’m excited you enjoyed our FIAT complimentary drop-off ride service! Isn’t it a fun option for getting to some of the top sites around the city? The 3-mile radius will take you to a majority of DC’s sites. Regarding parking, we do conduct regular rate checks with local hotels and are confident our rates are in line with other hotels in the city that offer come and go anytime privileges, which is what our garage offers.

Thank you for commenting on the décor of our rooms, as well as cleanliness! We appreciate that you chose to stay with, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back during future visits to our nation’s capital.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Valet service is goofy. $50.00 per night and they wander around like chickens from a third world nation.

Upon check in ... was directed to self move my vehicle. Front desk staff spent 15 minutes arguing about it.

Food quality and dining staff are excellent if you don't mind the extreme prices and tiny quantity. $46.00 for an apple juice; tiny cup of soup, and a very small plate of cheese with a dribble of hobbit sized bread slices.

Room service is slow and the third world nation quality of service does not have good communication skills.

Stayed on the 8th floor and heard sirens and traffic all night and loud talking. Rooms aren't very sound proof to outside noise.

Rooms very clean and well appointed. Certainly not worth $300 plus per night.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
Green Features: In a time of Ebola transmission you'd think that the trash cans would have plastic liners. Hotel is definitively mass contagion ready.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximusProximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear MaximusProximo,
We appreciate you taking the time to review Loews Madison and give us feedback. Providing consistently exceptional service is our number one priority here, so I am sorry to learn that your experience was mixed. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the various service challenges you mention. I have gone over your points with the Director of Rooms, regarding the front desk, as well as the Director of Food and Beverage, to ensure corrective actions. Thank you for highlighting our great dining staff and food quality, although I am sorry you were disappointed with the quantity.
As with most downtown, urban hotels, there is some city noise in our surrounding area, and I hope you were not uncomfortable. Although we do not frequently hear from guests with noise concerns, we always try to move guests when possible, if this is requested.

Thank you again for your feedback- it is very valuable to us to ensure we are continually looking for opportunities to not only meet but exceed our guests' expectations.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,609 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
895 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing